People Power
People U love to love or hate!
Walt Disney

The founder of The Walt Disney Company

< read all 2 reviews

The Man with Dreams

  • Oct 16, 2009
Rating:
+5


Imagination? Fantasy? Magic? Dream? Oh... where should I start? Creation? Oh, yes! CREATION: It all started with the creation of MICKEY MOUSE!!!

And, the creator? WALTER ELIAS DISNEY (Dec. 5, 1901 - Dec. 15, 1966)! A man of vision & imagination. Imagination that translated ideas from a pencil into THE WALT DISNEY WORLD & THE MAGIC KINGDOM.



It has been said: "The pen is mightier than the sword". In this case, the man with the pencil is the legend! A storyteller, an innovator & a producer, Walt Disney created "Steamboat Willie" (i.e. the sound cartoon made in 1928 {yeah, it was that long ago!} starring who else (?) but Mickey Mouse). Subsequently, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (anyone who has never heard of this? You must be an alien :-)), Walt's 1st successful full-length film, challenged him to new heights; TV show, movies, Disneyland & plan for Disney World.

So, how did Orlando came into the picture? In 1958, Walt commissioned Economics Research Association to look for a site for Disney World. 1st choice? Ocala. 2nd choice? Orlando. So, how was it Orlando was finally the location chosen? Trivia: Do you know that the location of the Disney Theme Parks (namely Disney World & Magic Kingdom) was actually swamp & forest in 1958? I didn't, but now I do!



OK, the story goes like this: While flying over this site & on the way home, Walt heard news that President Kennedy was shot & on that fateful night he made his decision to have Disney World built in Orlando. Other contributing factor was Orlando's weather which permits year-round visits by people from all over the world!

Thanks! Walt, for creating such a wonderful & magical world for all children & adults alike. A world where all dreams come true!

To quote Eric Sevareid (CBS Evening News): "He (Disney) was an original; not just an American orignial, but an original, period...".

The Man with Dreams The Man with Dreams The Man with Dreams The Man with Dreams

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
13
Post a Comment
October 22, 2009
Love Walt SO MUCH. I heard that part of the reason he moved from LA to FL was because he didn't like all the tourist "scum" that had amassed near Disneyland - motels, hotels, tacky restaurants, nude bars, etc and needed to relocate. He kept plans for Disneyworld super secret and developed the under several fake "dummy corporations"- some names were puns live "M.T. Lott Real Estate Investments". I LOVE DISNEY TRIVIA AHHHH. Thanks for your review!
 
October 17, 2009
Nice review....Walt Disney, one of my favorite "characters" and a man who knew how to make his dreams come true....lucky for all of us. I remember The Mickey Mouse Club, Spin and Marty, and of course all my trips to Disneyland. What creativity, but I can't help but wonder what he would think about the Disney Corporation of today. By the way, Mr. Disney was born on Tripp Ave. in Chicago, Illinois.
October 17, 2009
Thanks, Donna! Walt Disney is indeed my inspiration! I'm on the move this week to Hong Kong, Singapore and Bangkok, will chat with you later once I've settled in. Gotta go now. Cu around & have a great weekend!
 
October 16, 2009
Excellent review, Sharrie!  Definitely a nice addition to the Disney Community.  I didn't know all of this about the man behind all the magic!

By the way, have you ever heard of Club 33 before?  It's at Disneyland and apparently, super exclusive!
October 16, 2009
Thanks, Debbie! I'll check them out later. Going over to HK for shopping & then a flight to Singapore tonight! Have a happy weekend!
October 17, 2009
Awesome! Very envious of your trip as always. Hope you you have a great weekend, too! :)
October 17, 2009
I'm heading to Bangkok for that much needed massage at the Oasis Spa next week ;-) Come & join me in Thailand!
October 17, 2009
Ugh, sounds so tempting. I wish! ;P
 
1
More Walt Disney reviews
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this director

Wiki

Walter Elias "Walt" Disney (December 5, 1901 – December 15, 1966) was an American film producer, director, screenwriter, voice actor,animator, entrepreneur, entertainer, international icon and philanthropist. Disney is famous for his influence in the field of entertainment during the twentieth century. As the co-founder (with his brother Roy O. Disney) of Walt Disney Productions, Disney became one of the best-knownmotion picture producers in the world. The corporation he co-founded, now known as The Walt Disney Company, today has annual revenues of approximately U.S. $35 billion.

Disney is particularly noted for being a film producer and a popular showman, as well as an innovator in animation and theme park design. He and his staff created a number of the world's most famous fictional characters including Mickey Mouse. He received fifty-nine Academy Awardnominations and won twenty-six Oscars, including a record four in one year, giving him more awards and nominations than any other individual. He also won seven Emmy Awards. He is the namesake for Disneyland and Walt Disney World Resort theme parks in the United States, Japan, France, and China.

Disney died of lung cancer on December 15, 1966, a few years prior to the opening of his Walt Disney World Resort dream project in Florida.
view wiki

Details

Filmography: Fantasia
Filmography (Director): Fantasia, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
Birth Date: December 5, 1901

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
People Power is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists