People Power
People U love to love or hate!
Steve Jobs

An American businessman, and the co-founder Apple.

< read all 19 reviews

A Visionary Who Leaves Behind Quite the iLegacy

  • Oct 6, 2011
  • by
  • posted in iApps
Rating:
+5
Death is always sad, but I've never been one to get too emotional over the death of a public figure.  Someone who I didn't personally know.  Someone who I had never met.  However, in the case of Steve Jobs, I'm deeply saddened to the point of numbness. 

Steve Jobs literally changed the world.  He revolutionized technology and in turn, those products went on to affect many people's lives in positive and profound ways.  His genius-ness enriched our lives through innovations that changed the way that we consume and create music, movie, news, and other information and entertainment, and even changed the way that we communicate with each other, the way we learn, the way we think, and the way we live. 

Just to name a few. 

Not to mention that many influential and successful young entrepreneurs in the tech sphere of the past couple of decades cite Steve Jobs as a huge inspiration.

http://www.podcastingnews.com/content/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/steve-jobs-macintosh-desktop-publishing.jpg

Looking back on Steve Jobs' life story and experiences, it's apparent that he's lived a colorful and unconventional life with a lot of bumps in the road.  No one could have predicted that someone who lived a life like Steve's to get to the point where he ended up.  He was an accident, born to unwed parents who gave him up for adoption.  His first chosen set of adoptive parents changed their minds about adopting him.  He dropped out of college.  He traveled to India in search of spiritual enlightenment.  He experimented with psychedelics.  He got fired from his own company.  He got diagnosed with cancer.

Et cetera, et cetera.  You know the story.

Yet, I'm sure that no one can imagine anyone else but Steve as the one who made Apple what it is today.  Like it says on his tribute on the Apple site, "Steve leaves behind a company that only he could have built".

No one says it better or tells his story better than Steve himself, nor is there a better way to showcase his charisma.  These two videos will give you the chills, and in light of his passing, especially his third story in the second video:


 

At only age 56, Steve left us far too soon.  He had so much more living to do and so much more to contribute to the world.  In spite of the multiple medical leave of absences that he took in recent years, he still made it a point to be a part of every major product and strategic decision at Apple.  Looking back on his last years, despite his failing health, it's obvious that he was still brimming with ideas, that he was highly, highly passionate about Apple, technology, and changing the world, and that he had so much more that he wanted to share.  He must have worked right up to the point until he really felt like he physically could not give anymore, only resigning less than a month and a half before his passing.

"Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose".  Let this be a lesson to us to live life to the fullest and to take risks into the unknown, no matter how scary.  Seriously, go out and live.  Boldly.  Do something.  Find ways to change the world.  Spend a little money if you need to.  You can't take it with you.

http://thechive.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/steve-jobs-rip.jpg?w=500&h=338

R.I.P. King of Silicon Valley. 

Thank you for all that you've shared with us and for being such a visionary and inspiration to so many.
A Visionary Who Leaves Behind Quite the iLegacy A Visionary Who Leaves Behind Quite the iLegacy

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
December 13, 2011
Great review! The library had my reserved copy available the other day but I had to turn it back because I am in the middle of a huge book (Stephen King's 11/22/63) and these new books all have very short loan times so I felt I wouldn't be able to finish it on time. I put a new hold on it so eventually I will get it.
 
October 06, 2011
wow...couldn't have said it better myself! Great tribute to a true American Icon!
October 06, 2011
Thanks, Sam!
 
October 06, 2011
excellent tribute, Dev!
October 06, 2011
Thanks, Woo!
 
October 06, 2011
Nicely done, Devora.
October 06, 2011
Thank you, Sheri!
 
October 06, 2011
Awesome job, Devora. What an inspiring speech he gives. I found myself making notes of what he said.  Is it possible for me to share this on Facebook or Twitter
October 06, 2011
I took notes myself. And I would be flattered if you shared my post -- you can see share buttons right under the review title at the top. Thanks for your kind words, Larry!
 
1
More Steve Jobs reviews
review by . October 06, 2011
posted in Inspirations
RIP Steve Jobs! The Legacy? Follow Your Heart!
      Death knows no boundaries. It does not recognize nationalities, age, demographics, beauty, bank accounts nor fame. We can't really tell who will live to a ripe old age or who will pass on the next day. All we are left with is how much a person has effected in his lifetime, not how long he has lived.      Steve Jobs is the inspiration behind this review. You may/may not like him but you can't quite fault his ingenuity or his strategic marketing …
Quick Tip by . November 21, 2012
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
I know I'm late talking about this, but the ugly truth about Steve Jobs is that he wasn't the "genius" that everyone thinks he was.       The people that compare Jobs to folks like Nikola Tesla don't know what they're talking about.  Tesla not only had great ideas, but he actually got his hands dirty to actually create machinery and other devices to bring alternating currents to practical use.  Similarly, Bjarne Stroustrup not only had …
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2011
posted in iPad Buzz
A legend. Too young to die at 56! He will live on in many of his fans' hearts though... Go get the iPad 2, it's now officially the last product Jobs launched! A sad day as I type this QT on the iPad 2.
Quick Tip by . January 20, 2011
A great visionary who changed the face of several high-tech industries forever. Proved beyond reasonable doubt that one man's vision can be much more valuable than all the consumer research out there. Hope to see him make a full recovery and hold the helm of Apple for the foreseeable future.
Quick Tip by . January 19, 2011
The only problem I ever had with Jobs, or my perception of him, would have to be when he abandoned his baby--Apple--to that idiot Scully from Pepsi--who promptly ran a great company into the ground.We should have takenthat as an omen back then that over-paid CEO's are just that--Over Paid. Such over paid "Ubermensch"have since run many icons into the ground--Sunbeam Appliances,, Home Depot, etc...But I digress. With the return of Jobs, Apple was quickly resurrected. I wish him well, and hope he …
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2011
I'm not an Apple fanboy and don't agree with the closed nature of Apple products, but I appreciated Steve Jobs' huge contribution to technology and wish him a speedy recovery.
Quick Tip by . January 18, 2011
A Genius who helped Apple leapfrog past Microsoft. Apple will miss your vision. Hoping you have a speedy recovery!
About the reviewer
devora ()
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this public figure

Wiki

Steven Paul "Steve" Jobs (February 24, 1955 – October 5, 2011) was an American computer entrepreneur and inventor. He was co-founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of Apple Inc. Jobs also previously served as chief executive of Pixar Animation Studios; he became a member of the board of directors of The Walt Disney Company in 2006, following the acquisition of Pixar by Disney. He was credited in Toy Story (1995) as an executive producer.

In the late 1970s, Jobs, with Apple co-founder Steve Wozniak, Mike Markkula and others, designed, developed, and marketed some of the first commercially successful lines of personal computers, the Apple II series and later, the Macintosh. In the early 1980s, Jobs was among the first to see the commercial potential of the mouse-driven graphical user interface. After losing a power struggle with the board of directors in 1985, Jobs resigned from Apple and founded NeXT, a computer platform development company specializing in the higher education and business markets. NeXT's subsequent 1997 buyout by Apple Computer Inc. brought Jobs back to the company he co-founded, and he has served as its CEO since then.

In 1986, he acquired the computer graphics division of Lucasfilm Ltd which was spun off as Pixar Animation Studios. He remained CEO and majority shareholder until its acquisition by the Walt Disney Company in 2006. Jobs is currently a member of Walt Disney Company's Board of Directors.

Jobs' history ...
view wiki

Tags

Technology, Computers, Apple, Businessmen, Silicon Valley, American Inventor, Inventor

Details

Gender: Male

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
People Power is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists