User Reviews | PS3Blog.net | Blog & Community
User Reviews | PS3Blog.net | Blog & Community
A user review community for gamers and movie fans.
poster

A 2009 horror film directed by Sam Raimi.

< read all 10 reviews

DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion

  • May 31, 2009
Rating:
+3
The reviews are in and Sam Raimi's DRAG ME TO HELL seems to be a resounding success--with everyone but me that is. I wanted so desperately to like this film because I fell in love with Raimi's work about 15 minutes into EVIL DEAD 2 which was my first experience with his goofy, super-kinetic style and like almost every horror fan I've been eagerly/anxiously awaiting his return to the genre. Unfortunately DRAG ME TO HELL simply isn't the film I was waiting for. I can understand why so many others have embraced it because it is slick and its better than 98% of the stuff that studios have vomited upon multiplex screens for the past decade or so, but that doesn't mean its a good Sam Raimi film. For that reason I've decided to write the dissenting opinion to Woopak's majority opinion of this film.

Woopak calls this film "astonishingly familiar", that certainly is true but I've never regarded that as a virtue. What made Raimi the sensation that he became was the fact that everything about his films was unexpected, unpredictable, innovative, and original. He was a breath of fresh air. Here he is stale and seems to relying on "homages" entirely too much. I don't object to this at all, in fact I enjoy it under normal circumstances, but when the entire denouement of your film relies on CURSE OF THE DEMON you're ruining the film for a large portion of your audience that has figured out your ending a good 60 minutes before you get there--and that's just not fun. This film does not feel like a throwback to Raimi's past as Woopak claims. It doesn't even feel the least bit silly when compared to the exalted heights of goofiness achieved in EVIL DEAD 2.  Of course we can chalk this up to opinion I suppose, but which is sillier, being attacked in your car by an old crone who's trying to gum you to death and stapling her in the head, or being flipped off by your own hand after you've cut it off with a chainsaw because its spent the last five minutes trying to kill you? No contest.

Woopak welcomes Raimi's return to his "bombastic" style. I mourn the fact that this once truly creative and ingenious director has not grown beyond using a camera technique he copped from THE HAUNTING and then up-dating it by adding EXTREMELY LOUD noises and then using the same technique over and over again. He just shoves something in our face with a VERY LOUD NOISE and repeats ad nauseum. Loud is not SCARY. LOUD is simply LOUD. Granted a couple of the early scares do work very well, but whatever happened to the idea of setting up the scares? There is very little set up time here. If Raimi's going to give us non-stop horror like in ED2 then give us non-stop horror. If he's going to play it more conventional as he does here, then he needs more set up time that's just a fact of life.

Woopak claims that DRAG ME TO HELL is loaded with "frenzied slapstick" and "cheeky comedy". Great, that's what I was looking for, but we must have seen different movies. I suppose the part where the hag was trying to gum the girl to death was supposed to be funny so I'll count that one. And I guess the "Here kitty, kitty" line when she goes to kill her kitten was supposed to be funny so I'll count that one too. And then there was the scene in the garage but that was just a double-barreled rehash of a scene from EVIL DEAD 2, Raimi referencing himself, I almost laughed at that one. Maybe if you pointed out the laughs to me it would help. As "hilarious as EVIL DEAD 2" ? No way Jose! There's nothing as cool as Bruce looking into the mirror and trying to collect himself  by saying "We're alright" only to have his reflection reach out and grab him and reply "We just cut our girlfriend up with a chainsaw. Does that sound alright to you?" THAT'S funny! ED2 is loaded with that kind of stuff. Now you're going to tell me that DRAG ME TO HELL is supposed to be grounded in the REAL world--when you're cursed and you've got a lamia coming after you what's so real about that?

Woopak himself points out that there is 'nothing new" in this film, that it "does nothing to reinvent the genre". Well sir, that happens to be what the EVIL DEAD films were all about! They were all about being being so unsure of what was around the next corner that your head was literally spinning! They were about thinking "I don't know what this crazy guy is going to do next, AND I LOVE IT!!!"  And what do we get in DRAG ME TO HEll? a rehash of a scene from POLTERGEIST. In his review Woopak uses such words as "mediocre" "ordinary" and "predictable" to refer to this film and  I couldn't agree with him more.  And I know where the fault lies, the script.  When it comes to writing, Raimi is a great director.  My advice to him is to stick to directing and to look for pre-existing material that he can work with because as a writer he is clearly not up to the challenge. What was wrong with SPIDERMAN 3?  The script. Who wrote it? Sam and his brother Ivan. What's wrong with this movie? Its primarily the script. Who wrote it?   Yep.

In conclusion I 'd like to say that I've always judged films by how much they've managed to accomplish with the resources they have available to them. When judged in this manner DRAG ME TO HELL is a dismal failure.

HYPE FACTOR:  Sadly Over-hyped
DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion DRAG ME TO HELL The Minority Opinion

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
25
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
13
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
May 04, 2010
I wanted this film to be a 5 star classic so bad
May 05, 2010
I know, I know. It broke my heart.
 
June 12, 2009
So very true!
June 12, 2009
I also would have liked to see him take everything a step further. Trashie asked me how. As if I could ever come up with anything. And the sad part was that I did. How about having the kitten come back to life as a demon after it was barfed back up and latch onto somebody's face like in ALIEN and they could be staggering around in the background of the scene trying to rip it off of their face? Now THAT would have made me laugh.
June 12, 2009
YES - they needed to do that. I think Raimi's mind has been infected with mainstreamness after Spiderman. If I had the skills, I would re-edit and post that on YouTube.
June 12, 2009
He was never really that much of a horror fan in real life. It was just a freaky accident that his first movie turned him into a giant of the genre.
 
June 12, 2009
The stapler could have been a great scene. I could easily imagine the old (er, young) Sam Raimi having the girl fight her with a whole box of office supplies a la Bruce Campbell. I guess that's what I was hoping for...
June 12, 2009
Now THAT would've been hilarious...
June 12, 2009
Take a look at my suggestion to the guy above you. I think that's even better. Raimi would have thought of that as a kid. All you would have needed was a cheap computer shot of the kitten coming back and then a mask.
 
June 11, 2009
Great review, Queen. I'm with you- I like movies that keep you guessing especially horror movies. What fun is knowing exactly what's going to happen? What's so scary about that? When I saw the previews to this, I had no desire to see it. I get that feeling sometimes and have learned through hard lessons to always listen to it. Your review showed me that I was right- thanks so much for saving me time and money! HAHA...your own flipping you off after you cut it off cuz it tried to kill you. Yep...MUCH BETTER than stapling someone in the head.
June 12, 2009
I really do love Raimi, but as a writer, he's a great director.
 
June 08, 2009
As usual great review. I am surprised that you didn't give it a higher rating as zombies and films of that genre you seem to like. Also Trashcanman seemed to think it was great. My interest is piqued now and I will try to see it.
June 08, 2009
Woopak loved it too. As I said in my opening, I'm in the minority here. I just wanted and expected more from Raimi, who made my favorite film EVIL DEAD 2.
June 09, 2009
QueenB, I'll have to see ED 2 again. Both you and Woopak really liked it so maybe I need to do a re-evaluation.
June 12, 2009
If you have an aversion to horror comedy then you'll never like ED2, but if you don't mind it then perhaps you should consider a re-evaluation.
 
June 05, 2009
Well thought-out review. Not sure if I would ever watch it but sure sounds interesting.
June 05, 2009
I really don't want to talk anyone out of seeing it if they like horror films. I just don't want them to go in like I did, because even with my lowered expectations I had still read reviews that said this movie was Raimi at his best and that  simply is not true.
June 05, 2009
Yeah, I can see that. I prefer the classic Universal films rather than today's horror films, but that's just me. Good review.
June 05, 2009
Agreed. For me the horror genre, at least cinematically, went downhill in the '50s (the exception being Hammer films), was revived in the '60s and '70s and then bit it in the '80s, though there were a few that became modern classics.
June 05, 2009
I have to defend the 1980s. People just don't give that era he credit it deserves. Over on NetFlix I made a list of the good to great flix for the erat and I went over 100 titles. Starting with RE-ANIMATOR, FROM BEYOND, EVIL DEAD 1 & 2, RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD 1 & 2, THE THING, THE FLY, AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON, THE HOWLING, and ROBOCOP ( okay, might be more science fiction) just to start out.
June 05, 2009
Yes; American Werewolf was indeed interesting -- haven't seen Robocop in decades so that may be going on netflix as well.
June 05, 2009
Another film they're talking about remaking that really doesn't need it!
June 05, 2009
And then in the 80s we also had; THE SERPENT AND THE RAINBOW, DEMONS, THE HIDDEN, POLTERGEIST, PUMPKINHEAD, NEAR DARK, WOLFEN, VIDEODROME, THEY LIVE, HENRY--PORTRIAT OF A SERIAL KILLER, BASKET CASE, THE HITCHER, DEAD AND BURIED, THE SHINING, PRINCE OF DARKNESS, THE CAT PEOPLE, DAY OF THE DEAD, DEAD RINGERS, BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA, THE GATE, CREEPSHOW, KILLER KLOWNS FROM OUTER SPACE, ALIENS, ALTERED STATES, EVIL DEAD TRAP, THE BLOB, BEYOND DREAM'S DOOR, VAMP, THE COMPANY OF WOLVES, ALLIGATOR, DOLLS, Q THE WINGED SERPENT, A CHINESE GOST STORY, GHOST STORY, THE SHURCH, TENEBRE, SCANNERS, FRIDAY THE 13TH, HELLRAISER, C.H.U.D., CANNIBAL FEROX, SLEEPAWAY CAMP, LADY IN WHITE, and PREDATOR. Too bad the 80s was such a lousy time for movies!
June 06, 2009
actually Karen, while you MAY have lowered your expectations, you wanted to see something from Raimi--that he has grown. So while you maybe did lower them, you wanted something else--which resulted with you getting terribly disappointed and worked up (?) after you saw it. No director can top his best work, ED is the holy grail for you, rightfully so, but in having that in your mind you may have compromised your enjoyment of this film. You made a compelling arguement but I have a feeling your mind may be changed if you see it again..then again maybe not.  ;)

That is some list! Dead and Buried..so good.
You rule--Raimi still rules--long live horror!!
June 07, 2009
True Woop, so true. Even though I lowered my expectations the hope was still there and I will see it again and again. And while I will change my opinion of it and soften my judgment, it will NEVER be what I wanted it to be and that is the sad truth. Yet Sam Raimi will always remain a king of horror in my mind because of EVIL DEAD 2. No one can ever take that away from him--not even himself.
 
June 02, 2009
Wow, did we have fun picking on Woopak or what? :) Suggestion: Next time have a counter-point for multiple reviewers or even take on the professional critics, 'cause let's face it... you've mention the title of the film exactly five times in your review and you named Woopak seven times. So, I'm wondering if you're reviewing the film itslef or Woopak's evaluation of it?
June 02, 2009
I just needed some sort of framework to hang it on, so I picked his review and picked what he liked about it which turned out to be exactly what I thought was missing. Just seemed right. Helped with the writer's block to have it all laid out there for me like that.
June 02, 2009
Well, if nothing else I'm sure Woo is feeling the love. :)
June 02, 2009
He's feeling it on amazon too where it probably makes even less sense. =)
June 02, 2009
You are bad! You posted this on Amazon? LOL! Remind me never to get on your bad side... ;)
June 02, 2009
remind me to do the same thing to you guys when I don't agree with your reviews. what goes around comes around.  :)
June 02, 2009
Hey, don't look at me, man. I would never do that. If I didn't agree with your review I might post a link and politely suggest a reader make a comparison between the two reviews and draw their own conclusions. If a war's on between you two, count me out!
June 02, 2009
I was surprised as hell that amazon ran it since they have refused in the past to run anything in which I mentioned "other reviewer" much less by name. I guess they didn't know what a Woopak was. It wasn't really your opinion I was disagreeing with. I was just using it as a framework. If you really object or are embarrased, I'll be glad to delete it.
June 02, 2009
Yeah, what the hell is a Woopak?! LOL. No objections from me, I'm just surprised that you'd single one of us out in a disagreement. Like I said, I'd hate to get on your bad side... you'd be too creative in your revenge.
June 02, 2009
Hey, its not like I called him a knuckle walking, keyboard sucking idiot or anything. There's nothing negative about him in there.
June 02, 2009
LOL. True, you just basically undermined his whole review. :)
June 02, 2009
AAARRRRGGGGHHH!!!! A review is only personal opinion. How can one person undermine another person's opinion? Besides my opinion is the minority opinion as I state in the opening--just like in the Supreme Court. I gave him the honor of represent the majority opinion and I wrote the minority opinion. But its still the minority opinion. =)
June 02, 2009
Well, unless I end up seeing it and then saying the same thing as you. As far as I'm concerned the whole "minority" and "majority" approach is contradictory, since the balance could so easily be shifted while the opinions would remain the same. What I mean is, if you had heard nothing but bad things about this film, would you then have given it a positive rating or would you have gone with the popular opinion?
June 02, 2009
No, I would then have written the majority opinion because my opinion would still be unchanged. Or taken a completely different approach and done it as an obituary.
June 02, 2009
Ooohhh, I like that idea. If they do a remake of the "Evil Dead" then do that... because you know it won't come close to the original. I can just see it: "Here lie the remains of the Evil Dead franchise, which was killed by corporate greed in the year 2xxx when Sam Raimi sold the rights and a terrible remake sullied the name of the once beloved series."
June 02, 2009
I don't think HE;s thinking of selling the rights. I've heard that he wants to do it himself. But its still a terrible mistake. Well enough should be left alone. I still like my idea. If you've got to make something in which the torch is passed (because Bruce is getting too old to take the abuse) then write a story where kids come to the cabin, get in trouble, but half way through Bruce bursts in to help them out. That way you at least try to salvage something.
June 02, 2009
I don't know, that sounds predictable. Personally, I'd love to see a film where Sam Raimi intends to make a remake of the original Evil Dead, but then it turns out that it all really happened and the "real" Ash begins killing the actors because if they succeed in making the film, then the Necronomicon will fall into the hands of unscrupulous Hollywood producers. Besides, I just want to see Campbell confront himself again like he did in Army of Darkness and then in the Hercules season three episode.
June 02, 2009
There's a greater chance of the predictable version getting made, but Jesus I love your idea! The problem is that I really think Bruce is through with roles that are that physically demanding. That's why I thought he might be amenable to half a film instead.
June 02, 2009
Or he could always resort to using a stunt double, which if they chose a really young thing guy could be very funny. That's what makes this series so precious, it's not afraid to parody itself.
June 02, 2009
They'd have to make sure the stunt DIDN'T have a beer belly because Bruce has a rather sizeable one now. Have you caught him on BURN NOTICE? He is after all 50 and ARMY OF DARKNESS wasat least 15 years ago.
June 03, 2009
Yeah, I guess it was high time somebody picked on Woopak. We've bveen harrassing poor Orlok to death because he won't grant us his Dracula review. That's all fine & well though as we still love them both, right? I still am not rushing out to see this one per se but will eventually break down & rent it on DVD. At any rate, I really do love the reviews here from both Queen & Woopak who both are authorities on this kind of cinema. In my opinion, this is the best kind of cinema to review. ;-0
June 03, 2009
I think so too because it can be very polarizing at times.
June 04, 2009
oh, a "woopak" is the sound-effect in low-budget asian flicks from the 60's. It is also an exaggerated sound you make when...think about it.
June 04, 2009
I see.
June 05, 2009
When...???? You're going to have to spell it out for me... I'm getting low on tea and my brain's beginning to fall asleep.
June 05, 2009
Orlok: or it's not your "cup of tea", eh? Ouch! Time for lunch!
June 05, 2009
You'' have to get that info from Woop, Count.
June 05, 2009
What can I say, my brain is stuck in the late Victorian 19th century... modern euphemisms and innuendo just aren't registering at the moment. This tends to happen when I'm really focused on a review. When I did my extensive research for "Schindler's List" I realized I had adopted a Polish accent. Scary!
June 05, 2009
Which reminds me, that's another Spielberg film I need to place on my Netflix queue.
June 05, 2009
If you haven't seen it you really should.
June 13, 2009
"oh, a "woopak" is the sound-effect in low-budget asian flicks from the 60's. It is also an exaggerated sound you make when...think about it." Still not getting it. Am I really that naive? Don't answer me on that one.
June 13, 2009
the answer is a little harder to figure out...unless you're a knight LOL!
June 15, 2009
I'm thinking we ought to put that song to music and put it on YouTube... ;)
 
May 31, 2009
I thought STRANGERS was the one you were so hot to see.
May 31, 2009
just having second thoughts after reading trashcanman's review- if gary s. has a copy one evening i may watch it-
May 31, 2009
I was wondering about that. I went and reread his review as well since I couldn't imagine how it tied into anything I had said about DRAG ME TO HELL.
May 31, 2009
The strangers..was pure stupidity! But there are those who liked the film. I am not one of them.
May 31, 2009
Most of the people who liked it were probably unaware of its being a remake though, right? As for me I'm just not crazy about the whole home-invasion subgenre. It has to be a really tremendous film to get me to watch it.
May 31, 2009
"Them" was the original French film that supposedly that "Strangers" was based on. This film is way superior to that one, and may be the reaoson why I appreciated it.
May 31, 2009
Probably, and if I"m ever in the mood for that type of film that'll be the one I reach for, not the remake.
 
May 31, 2009
this is basically why trashcanman didn't care for The Strangers - be that as it may, your reviews are fun to read - i guess this particular genre is just not my cup of tea. i probably won't see either this one or The Strangers.
 
May 31, 2009
well Good morning, queenie! whoo-hoo I'm the first one here! I loved your review, you truly are the mistress of this type of films. Thanks for the shout out, I've never seen so many "woopaks" in one review LOL! Your points are all valid, my queen. I almost did see it the same way you did, but I guess I was just in a very good mood and in the right mood for this type of film. I know you're more of a solid Raimi fan and I can see that your expectations may be higher, I on the other hand had very low expectations. You probably would've given this a 4 if someone else directed it, as seeing as Raimi was a breathe of fresh air before, this film is more of his "the same". I still enhjoyed it, at least I didn't wonder as to when the film will end. I had fun with it, reminded me of that "Army of Darkness" fun long ago. Nice opinionated review,other Raimi fans should check it out! You provoked the mind, well-organized in your writing (woopak rules as a sound effect!) and it was fun to read your criticisms. 3 thumbs up!
May 31, 2009
What surprised me is that I also posted this in a somewhat revised form on amazon and they let it go through! I guess they didn't know what a Woopak was. Normally they won't let you comment on other reviewers in the body of a review. I actually thought that I WAS going in with lowered expectations, that's the sad part. I wanted to see that he had grown and I hoped that he would have shown more understanding of the genre. I say what I really mean in my last paragraph I guess. He's got a lot of money and everything that he needs now. How does the Spiderman thing go? From those to whom much is given, much is expected.
May 31, 2009
I think he may have reached his plateau, but I still would hate to think that he has nothing left. Dave always said this when in regards to Romero, but I think Raimi may still have something. I liked this one better than Spidey 3. Well,you wanted him to have grown, and he gave you the same old thing, hence you were disappointed. My brain was a blank going into the film, "I said to myself" so long as it wasn't as bad as Spidey 3, I'll be ok. I guess watching all those dark films before I saw this, I was finally in the mood for humor. I remember you saying mood has a lot to do in a film's enjoyment, I guess I was in the right mood at the right time.
May 31, 2009
I know you liked "Diary of the Dead" and I thought it was just alright. Looks like we're both in opposing viewpoints once again. But we're still friends. :)
May 31, 2009
Mood does have a lot to do with how you accept a film. I really was in a mood for humor--I just didn't find what I thought would be there, and when I did it was just an embellishment of the eyebally scene from ED2. I thought the car scene with the hag could have been a lot funnier. It just didn't seem funny to me at all. It had such potential but it just didn't seem to work. As for DIARY OF THE DEAD I think one reason I liked it so much was because I hated LAND OF THE DEAD so much.
May 31, 2009
He-heh. Don't even mention Land of the Dead. I liked the gore and everything, and it had more zombie scenes than "Diary.." but I didn't like that one at all! You're more of an expert on Raimi than I am, so I have to listen to what you have to say. That's how I learn anyhow--from genre fans.
May 31, 2009
I read everything I could find on him after seeing EVIL DEAD 2. I was in love with that movie and the idea that a 19 year old kid made it really was a kick in the head. Another thing I found interesting was that when he was a kid he liked to put on magic shows. This is something a lot of directors seem to have in common. Woody Allen for instance. You'd be surprised at how many.
May 31, 2009
No, it does have a black cat that hisses at the girl but its not one of those shock hisses. And contrary to what Woop says there is an animal death although its off screen. The kitten does die only to reappear dead again. I was going to spoil its reappearance there but I stopped myself. If anyone thinks this is as good as EVIL DEAD 2 I WILL EAT THEIR COMPUTER.
May 31, 2009
It is loud especially on certain key scenes--gave the theater speakers a workout! But I looked pass it. he-heh. Me and Karen do make one interesting opposing viewpoints don't we? It does help to have two opinions. Karen does have some advantage over me when it comes to Raimi and classic horror so I tend to listen to what she has to say. It's how we learn.
May 31, 2009
I guess I'm Ebert.
May 31, 2009
he-heh. Karen, I meant that as a joke. LOL no farm animals were harmed...LOL
May 31, 2009
I know. I just get so ticked off. The second I saw that kitten I knew it was dead meat.
May 31, 2009
yeh, it is interesting as to how we saw this film in opposing viewpoints. You compared it to other of Raimi's films quite vividly, while I saw it as a stand alone film and as a film revelling in its absurdity. You looked at it as what a film should be, and based a review on your expectations of Raimi, while I didn't have any expectations--and looked at what the film may be trying to be or not trying to be.  I can always appreciate an opposing viewpoint.
May 31, 2009
I can never quite seem to get across what I meant. I just meant that I wanted to see some indication that this kid who accidentally made a horror classic almost 30 years ago had gained some new insights into the genre. Okay I get that he wanted to give the fans some of the old stuff, but I wanted to see something that assured me that he GOT it now. That he wasn't just serving it up like at a Chinese menu; one from column A and one from Column B.
May 31, 2009
point taken. which is why your review is the one with a massive impact because you obviously are a big fan of his past work. You know your stuff with this type of films. You really are drained from watching this aren't you? LOL! One thing we both agree on; it does nothing new and it is ssoo damn predictable LOL
May 31, 2009
I want him to be a great horror director, not just a great director, and not everyone can direct horror. I'm not sure if I'm drained or worked up. lol. Funny that I can't tell the difference isn't it?
May 31, 2009
You know, now that I think about it, you and my deceased mother would've had some very interesting discussions about horror films. She was the die-hard horror fan in the family. Trashie, remember the recent cat scare in Supernatural when Dean was infected by fear toxin?
June 01, 2009
That's a shame Woop. I'm sure we would have gotten along famously.
June 01, 2009
yeh, it was a joy to go see horror movies with your mother. I have nice fond memories.
June 01, 2009
My mother persisted in believing that she wasn't a fan and that she had no idea where I got my interest in these things. She forgot all about taking me to see THE THING when I was still only 4 and about how she brought home copies of "Amazing Stories" and the more space oriented pulp magazines when I was a kid. I reminded her of those about a year before she died and she tried to claim they were my brothers, but she was buying them when we lived on Country Club Road which would have made my brother 5 years old--much too young to be reading them. She just sort of laughed and "oh." I caught her.
 
1
More Drag Me to Hell reviews
review by . April 15, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Its this a Horror or Comedy
When I first saw the trailer for Drag me to Hell I was super excited as I've been (for a long while) looking for a horror movie to truly scare the pants off me. Ironically the last movie that really scared me (to the point i couldnt sleep for a month....LITERALLY) was the first Evil Dead.      Enter Christine a Lone Officer at a Bank who is competing for a position as Assistant Manager. One day an elderly woman comes in for an extention on her mortgage. Although it was …
review by . April 29, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
***1/2 out of ****     I'm sure I'm not within the minority when I say that Sam Raimi needed to make a movie like "Drag Me to Hell". Since Raimi is the man who directed all three films in the successful and cult-treasured "Evil Dead" trilogy, his roots are with horror films. In the 2000's, he chose to distance himself when he made the "Spider Man" films, which I have no problem with, given how good the first two films in that series were. "Drag Me to Hell" released at just the …
review by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
What Pompted You to write a Review?   I am writing this review to let people know that I was not happy about this movie. I was very excited to see it when it came out and when I saw it, I said to myself, "Wow, what a complete waste of time"        How was the Plot, Acting, Direction?   The plot was good, they had a good idea that was poorly executed. Some of the acting was good but the lead female character was a huge disappointment. I feel …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
What Prompted You to write a Review?   I want to keep people away from this movie.     How was the Plot, Acting, Direction?   This movie was pathetic.  I love Justin Long, but this is probably my least favorite movie with him in it.  The acting was terrible as was the plot.     Were You ENTERTAINED?   I was able to sit through the entire movie without turning it off, so I was somewhat entertained.  By the end, though, …
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I really liked the cinematography of this film. It had a very surreal feel, sometimes almost cartoonish like something you would see in a show like "Tales from the Cryptkeeper." It made the movie unique, and so I liked it.
review by . May 30, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Poster
First of All, for a "dissenting" opinion and a review of this review, please check out my friend QUEENBflix's review. This film never met her expectations and she wanted to see that Raimi has grown. Her review is a great comparison to Raimi's past work, may give you an idea of what you may NOT like about this film, that Raimi has faltered in her expectations, as well as a rebuttal to this review. However, if you just want to read details as to how this film plays out, may have seen the film …
review by . October 20, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
This was an experience that was both welcoming and disheartening. Any of Raimi's old tricks are back, but some of his new tricks are present too, much to my chagrin. A good friend informed me that the first fifteen minutes of the film are "epic", a word that is not to be used lightly. In this, I strongly disagree. While some of the later scenes were very intense and quite fun, the first fifteen minutes were largely a waste of film.   Some of Raimi's old tricks include: the return of the …
About the reviewer
karen ()
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Touted as a return to Sam Raimi's horror-movie roots, Drag Me to Hell is indeed closer in spirit to the director's Evil Dead pictures than to his Spider-Man films. You got your gypsy gargoyles with rotted dentures, your upchucking corpses, your flexible two-way orifices--yes, Raimi's definitely back in the saddle. There's even a story: a sad loan officer (Alison Lohman) turns down the aforementioned denture-wearing gypsy for a loan extension, which leads to an evil curse and a date in hell in three days' time. A séance, an animal sacrifice, and a session in a storm-tossed graveyard will make the 72 hours pass very nervously, thank you, along with assorted scares. Justin Long plays Lohman's upper-class boyfriend, and Raimi fills the rest of the cast with some unusual and unfamiliar types. Along with the giddy horror-comedy that bursts out of the movie every 10 minutes or so, there's also an underlying mood of pity: Lohman's character is something of a hard-luck sad sack, who does enough wrong things to make her seem like a truly abject individual, well outside the heroic model of most multiplex offerings. (Lohman's own little-girl-lost quality adds to this feeling.) But don't let that get in the way of the fun-ride aspects of this goofy enterprise: Drag Me to Hell is a bunch of Z-movie gags wrapped in top-drawer production values.--Robert Horton


Stills from Drag Me to Hell (Click for larger image)

...
view wiki

Details

Director: Sam Raimi
Genre: Horror
Release Date: May 29, 2009
MPAA Rating: Unrated
Screen Writer: Ivan Raimi, Sam Raimi
DVD Release Date: October 13, 2009
Runtime: 99 minutes
Studio: Universal Studios
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
User Reviews | PS3Blog.net | Blog & Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists