Public Policy
Issues, Answers, Ideas and Opinion
Barack Obama

The President of the United States

< read all 15 reviews

Obama Is Stepping Into a Big Mess

  • Dec 11, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
I don't envy Obama as he steps into the Presidency with an out of control economy and vultures coming in from every angle for a little bit of that 700 Billion dollar bailout money. Barack has a tough road to hoe, but I do believe that the United States made the right choice electing him President. I think equally important was Obamas choice of Joe Biden for VP, because where Obama lacks in foreign policy experience, Biden certainly picks up. I think Obamas choice of Hillary for Secretary of State was brilliant - and I love the fact that Obama is reaching across lines to embrace former opponents in an effort to bring unity.
Obama may have a tough road ahead of him, but I believe he's firmly planted on the right track.
Obama and Biden

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
May 25, 2009
Oh it can get much, much worse than it is now and Obama himself warned Americans that it would get worse before it got better. 100 days means absolutely nothing in the scheme of things. Good luck to us all with the Republicans already calling for Revolution against the Socialist tyranny!
 
April 25, 2009
It's a wait and see proposition right now with Obama. He is an intelligent man, bright, savvy, but does have a rough road ahead of him. I'm not much on judging at this point since he's only had 100 days in office. Time will tell or not if he's really the man for the job. I'm anxious to see what state our country and our pocketbooks will be in four years from now. That should be a fairly good indication.
 
April 25, 2009
It may be a mess he's stepping into but there is not much downside risk to it! How bad can it gets from where it was/is right now? He's an intelligent man, has the charisma & persuasive power to convince people to his cause, he'll be fine! More than fine. Time will prove it. As for right choice or not, it's a choice the world has to live with for next 4 years. So, it better be right! :-)
 
December 18, 2008
I look forward to seeing how Obama attempts to fix our nation's problems. January 20th can't come soon enough for our first African-American president to officially take office. Yes, they have a lot of work ahead of them, but I am hopeful that they can somehow solve as many of the economic issues as possible.
 
December 11, 2008
I was also a Hillary supporter stephaniezhu. I'm very glad to see her included in the upcoming administration. All we can do now is wait and see...they have a HUGE job ahead of them.
 
December 11, 2008
I agree... there is a lot that can be said about this election and his upcoming presidency....but I am excited that Hilary is working with Obama...I had wanted Hillary to win the primaries but truthfully I would have been happy with either. I'm really excited for his term.. not just for American but for the WORLD!
 
1
More Barack Obama reviews
review by . May 12, 2010
posted in Politics Your Way
Leading our nation into an abyss from which we may never escape.
During the Presidential election campaign of 2008 the mainstream media hailed Sen. Barack Obama as the man who could heal our nation's wounds and bring us all together.  He was a "uniter" they proclaimed.  Well as it turns out nothing could be farther from the truth.  Barack Obama has spent the first 16 months of his Presidency systematically dividing the people of this country.  He is dividing us by race, by class, by region, by religion and by culture.  …
Quick Tip by . January 13, 2012
posted in Inspirations
I like that Obama is a charismatic guy with real credentials, a working brain, and a natural ability to lead. But he was a better candidate than a President. I like him better than the last guy and better than the field of Republican nominees. But Obama has reversed or voted against every major change I wanted him to make. We can't blame George W. Bush for Obama's bad choices when Obama himself reversed course on Gitmo, continued the Bush bailouts, extended the Patriot Act, and reformed health care …
Quick Tip by . December 27, 2010
The least qualified man in any room he walks into. Not a law professor, a part-time lecturer. Never ran anything, only worked as a community organizer. Not vetted, not eligible to be president regardless of where he may have been born. Father British subject, mother underage to pass on US citizenship.
Quick Tip by . December 18, 2010
He hasn't managed to keep to any of his campaign promises, or even the promises he made when he took office.  He has managed to do a few things very badly (health care reform, arguing for increased state secrets privileges, arguing for increased ability to target Americans with military force), and a few things well (requiring hospitals to have more open policies regarding visitation by friends and family members).  Not an unmitigated disaster, but not very good.
Quick Tip by . August 15, 2010
posted in Public Policy
Just not ready to lead. That should not be a surprise he has no executive experience what so ever. He sold America a bill of goods and now many are waking up to reality.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
I'm voting with the average here, though I'm still not even decided on Jackson yet. Man's got a hard job! Does this describe the community political leaning, then?
Quick Tip by . October 13, 2009
About time we had a Constitutional law professor as President.
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2009
He is charismatic, he's persuasive & he's the leader. All a leader needs to do is lead and inspire. For that, I think he's done his job!
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2009
@barackobama #Congrats on the #NOBELPEACEPRIZE even though its a bit premature. Keep up the good work!
review by . September 30, 2008
Over the past few months I have been trying to write/compile some sort of article or document that can explain why I think an Obama administration could be a great thing for, well,  all of us of course, but for conservatives specifically.Anytime that I actually get a chance to have a rational conversation with a conservative I walk away thinking, 'Hey, I agree with a lot of what he/she just had to say, why can't we vote for the same candidate with different views and motives'.'Why Conservatives …
About the reviewer
Dorsi Diaz ()
People often ask me where my name Dorsi came from - well it's a loooong story so you'll have to read the beginning of my book to find that one out! They also want to know how I got the nickname "The Artist … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
DorsiD
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this politician

Wiki

Barack Obama is the 44th president of the United States, formerly the junior U.S. Senator from Illinois.  

Early Years

Barack Obama was born in Hawaii on August 4th, 1961. His father, Barack Obama Sr., was born and raised in a small village in Kenya, where he grew up herding goats with his own father, who was a domestic servant to the British.

Barack's mother, Ann Dunham, grew up in small-town Kansas. Her father worked on oil rigs during the Depression,and then signed up for World War II after Pearl Harbor, where he marched across Europe in Patton's army. Her mother went to work on a bomber assembly line, and after the war, they studied on the G.I. Bill,bought a house through the Federal Housing Program, and moved west to Hawaii.

It was there, at the University of Hawaii,where Barack's parents met. His mother was a student there, and his father had won a scholarship that allowed him to leave Kenya and pursue his dreams in America.

Barack's father eventually returned to Kenya,and Barack grew up with his mother in Hawaii, and for a few years in Indonesia. Later, he moved to New York, where he graduated from Columbia University in 1983.

The College Years

Remembering the values of empathy and service that his mother taught him, Barack put law school and corporate life on hold after college and moved to Chicago in 1985, where he became a community organizer with a church-based group seeking to improve living conditions in poor neighborhoods plagued...

view wiki

Details

Gender: Male
Party Affiliation: Democrat
Office: President of the United States
Country: United States of America

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Public Policy is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists