Rebellious Rabble Radio
Anthems and inspiration for the downtrodden.
Homemade Compilation CDs: Playlist 2

So basically what we've got here is another data point for people to share their ideas for compilation CDs. :)

< read all 2 reviews

Music Ripe for a Revolution, Vol. 2: Wars Are for Fools

  • May 7, 2009
Rating:
+5

Who doesn't love what modern technologies can do for us? As if the invention of the CD over twenty years ago wasn't exciting enough, now we can burn our own CDs and create our own compilation albums. For me, this has become a cheap, fun, and relatively easy way to gather my favorite songs and my favorite artists on one CD. Being an obsessive compulsive, I've now created compilation CDs for just about every imaginable mood I'm in. I've got some for when I'm reading, some to inspire me when I write, some that I listen to when I'm out exercising, some that I listen to while meditating, and some that I listen to when I'm just angry. It's nice having a collection of music that accurately expresses my exact mood at the time.

But of all the compilation CDs that I've made, the ones that I listen to the most are the ones that reflect and evoke my politically rebellious attitude: Music Ripe for a Revolution. Though this started off as just a single CD I'm currently working on Volumes 15-20 (further evidence of my being obsessive-compulsive). The music collected here is eclectic and ranges from anti-establishment hippie music to political punk to reggae to metal to folk. So far, between the various discs, just about every genre has been covered... even country music.

 

Since the beginning of human expression through the arts, the subject of war and violence has been explored, and usually it has been looked on with a critical eye. This peaceful form of protest against destruction and death has perhaps never been more articulate and passionate than when put into song. So, with that in mind, I've created this compilation with the hopes that people will finally see the ultimate futility of war… and then maybe we can learn to live in peace.

 

Whether it's the classic anti-establishment hippie music of the late ‘60s and ‘70s, the edgier pop music of the ‘80s, the hard rock and heavy metal of the ‘90s and beyond, these songs are a wonderful testament to the anti-war attitudes of some of the world's greatest musicians and music artists. Hopefully, when listening to them, people will be inspired and provoked to look at the world in a slightly different way… and once the tinted glass of bias and dehumanization is removed and we begin to see each other as equals, then peace may become an attainable possibility.

Here's the playlist for disc two, Wars Are for Fools and the original albums where the songs can be found:

1. The Doors: Unknown Soldier

Taken from the original album: Waiting for the Sun
Buy the album here.

2. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young: Ohio

Released as single, but available on the compilation album: So Far
Buy the album here.

3. Neil Young: Living with War

Taken from the original album: Living with War
Buy the album here.

4. John Lennon & the Plastic Ono Band: Happy X-Mas (War Is Over)

Taken from the original album: Some Time in New York City
Buy the album here.

5. Jefferson Airplane: Somebody to Love

Taken from the original album: Surrealistic Pillow
Buy the album here.

6. Edwin Starr: War

Taken from the original album: War & Peace 
Buy the album here.

7. U2: Sunday Bloody Sunday

Taken from the original album: War
Buy the album here.

8. Nena: 99 Luftballons

Taken from the original album: 99 Luftballons
Buy the album here.

9. The Cranberries: Zombie

Taken from the original album: No Need to Argue
Buy the album here.

10. Blues Traveler: Onslaught

Taken from the original album: Travelers and Thieves
Buy the album here.

11. Black Sabbath: War Pigs

Taken from the original album: Paranoid
Buy the album here.

12. Megadeth: Peace Sells

Taken from the original album: Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?
Buy the album here.

13. Rage Against the Machine: Sleep Now in the Fire

Taken from the original album: The Battle of Los Angeles
Buy the album here.

14. System of a Down: Boom!

Taken from the original album: Steal This Album!
Buy the album here.

15. Sum 41: We're All to Blame

Taken from the original album: Chuck
Buy the album here.

16. Green Day: Holiday
Taken from the original album: American Idiot
Buy the album here.

All I'm saying is give peace a chance!

MRfaR Vol. 2 cover MRfaR Vol. 2 Playlist MRfaR Vol. 2 The Question MRfaR Vol. 2 Thou Shalt Not Kill

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
June 02, 2010
I need to make these mixes as well, good stuff.
June 03, 2010
Thanks.
 
May 21, 2009
I love it- I love these playlists you guys are getting together- such inspiration to my lazy ass! Hmmm....I would add- Impeach the President by The Honey Drippers, Fight the Power by Public Enemy, and Big Brother by Stevie Wonder...come to think of it- I have a dope anti-war mix from Z-Trip that I'll have to send you. Great review- thanks!!!
May 21, 2009
Thanks. I've got so many homemade compilation CDs and I'm loving the fact that people are enjoying them. I only hope that some will actually burn copies of their own and then they'll not only be able to listen to the great music, but also feel how each song melds into the next as far as mood and lyrical content goes. :)
May 21, 2009
Ahhh....my son, you are a DJ! Welcome...
May 21, 2009
Thank you, though I doubt I'm young enough to be your "son". LOL. Now if I could only find an easy way to include audio clips of the original album tracks in these reviews...
May 21, 2009
OK how about my Padawan? LOL...I'll see what I can figure out for you! That would be really helpful.
 
May 21, 2009
I thought I already gave my compliments for this review...thankfully, the buttons indicated I haven't. Nice batch of music reviews, Count, maybe it is time for me to do my own...
May 21, 2009
You probably just mistook it for the first playlist I did. I'm working on the review for #3 and then I'll be doing a list of favorite horror films... and then I might have a surprise for the classic horror freaks here on Lunch. :)
 
May 13, 2009
Good choices! Very eclectic album ofcourse but I like the overall theme here which makes this compilation a winner. You might even want to include "Heard Somebody Say" by Devendra Banhart on this album which ties in well with the conviction of anti-war music you've shared with us. Thumbs up!!
May 15, 2009
:) Thanks, since these compilation lists seem to be fairly successful I'll probably post a lot of them. Next I'll be focusing on two discs; one that's against organized religion and one for spiritual enlightenment.
May 15, 2009
Yeah, that's a pretty damned good idea if I do say so myself. Grins I definitely look forward to those. I am taking a break from writing compilation lists for now but may pick that back up down the road. Thumbs up!
May 15, 2009
Ditto. At the moment I'm working on a number of a book reviews. But I'll be back with some more film reviews and music lists in the not too distant future.
May 15, 2009
I'd like to read some of your book reviews. Well, film reviews are cool but I'm out of the loop as far as books go so it'd be nice to see what the hell everyone else is reading these days. Smiles I bet you would have pretty interesting selections to choose from your personal library.
 
May 07, 2009
I still think that "Volunteers" is a better choice than "Somebody to Love" when you're talking about Jefferson Airplane, but it is your compilation. Its nice to see song songs I've actually heard of this time around. And "Ohio" is the best choice of all since it actually IS about revolution.
May 08, 2009
Well, in this case the songs aren't necessarily about revolution but are about making changes that could be considered "revolutionary". Did that make any sense? :) By the way, Queenie, have you heard the Neil Young album Living with War? It's an excellent collection of new songs (2006) about the similarities between the Nixon / Vietnam War years and the Bush / Iraq War years. If you don't have it, go get it. It's a great album.
May 10, 2009
I don't buy albums any more. Very limited money means I have to keep it for movies whivh are my first love, but perhaps I can check it out somewhere.
May 12, 2009
You can listen to samples on Amazon.com!
May 12, 2009
Got it.
 
1
More Homemade Compilation CDs: Play... reviews
review by . May 12, 2009
I must admit upfront that music is my language. I'm constantly craving some sort of noise throughout each day & there's rarely ever a moment that I'm not blasting some electronic device. More often than not, I'm sorting through some old mixed CD's just looking for something to either motivate me or help me chill the f*ck out. Here is one of my pumped-up, rocked out buddies that keeps me on my toes. Maybe this one will work for you too! Fingers crossed & knuckles cracked.     1. …
About the reviewer

Ranked #1
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
Ken
Ken
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

This data point was made in conjunction with Homemade Compilation CDs: Playlist 1 and was created for people to share and review their homemade compilation CDs. Have a favorite playlist, then share it here.
view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Rebellious Rabble Radio is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists