|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » 2010 Haiti Earthquake » User review

2010 Haiti Earthquake

An earthquake that occurred on January 12, 2010.

< read all 3 reviews

Time for all people of good will to step up and help to alleviate the misery of the Haitian people.

  • Jan 13, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-5
It was the most powerful earthquake to hit Haiti in more than 200 years.  First reports indicate that in the capital city of Port-au-Prince thousands of buildings have collapsed and that the city is in total ruins.  Amidst the fire and rubble tens of thousands lie dead and injured.  The major hospital in the city has also been destroyed.  Judging by some of the photographs and news reports the 2010 Haitian Earthquake is a catastrophe of biblical proportionsNow the rest of the world must quickly mobilize and send every available resource to help alleviate the pain and suffering.  This will be no easy task as Haiti is generally considered to be among the poorest nations on earth.  Rescue workers will face additional obstacles there that would seem unimaginable in most of the rest of the world.

The 7.0 magnitude earthquake struck late Tuesday afternoon and was centered about ten miles west of Port-au-Prince.  As of Wednesday morning sizeable aftershocks registering 5.9 on the Richter scale continue to be felt in the area.  To give you some idea of the magnitude of this tragedy Jonathan Katz of the Associated Press  reports that  "Most of Haiti's 9 million people are desperately poor, and after years of political instability the country has no real construction standards.  In November 2008, following the collapse of a school in Petionville, the mayor of Port-au-Prince estimated about 60 percent of buildings were shoddily built and unsafe in normal circumstances."  It seems clear that at a very minimum thousands of people are dead and tens of thousands injured.  


Now it never ceases to amaze me at the generosity of the American people when a disaster like this takes place.  Keep in mind that this earthquake took place around 5:00 P.M. eastern time on Tuesday.  Just five hours later I heard a radio news report that an agency in southern California was preparing to send a team of 72 highly trained people to Haiti to assist with the grim task that lies ahead.   U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton called the earthquake a "catastrophic" event and said the U.S. "will be providing both civilian and military disaster relief and humanitarian assistance."   Meanwhile, it is up to the rest of us in the United States and in nations around the world to get involved.  While most of us cannot pick up and travel to Haiti to help out directly there are certainly things we can do.  Keep the people of Haiti in your prayers this week and pray for all those who are heading to Port-au-Prince to lend a hand.  The task they face is a daunting when you realize that there are very few roads in this country.  As a result rescue efforts are going to be much slower than usual.  Meanwhile, consider making a generous donation to assist with the massive relief effort that will be necessary to get Haiti back to some semblance of normalcy in the coming weeks and months Dig a little deeper this time because the funds are desperately needed here.   Donations may be made to any number of worthy charities including the American Red Cross, AmeriCares, Catholic Relief Services and UNICEF to name but a few.  And over the next few weeks you will will very likely see events in your city or town to benefit Haitian Earhtquake Relief Try to support these whenever you can.   I simply cannot imagine the challenges that the people of Haiti
are facing right now.    May God bless them and keep them!

Time for all people of goodwill to step up and help to alleviate the misery of the Haitian people. Time for all people of goodwill to step up and help to alleviate the misery of the Haitian people. Time for all people of goodwill to step up and help to alleviate the misery of the Haitian people. Time for all people of goodwill to step up and help to alleviate the misery of the Haitian people.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
January 16, 2010
The -5 is for the disaster of course.
 
January 15, 2010
It had happened in China (2008), Indonesia (2004 & 2009) & now in the Caribbean. It will happen again, we simply don't know where! That's the thing with earthquake, you can't even blame it on anyone! I was in L.A. many years ago and was sleeping in the hotel when there was a minor earthquake. That was scary enough but I can't imagine a major one in any big city. That'd be a big test of faith if that should happen & we all know it will happen. Just a matter of time. I've seen the documentaries on Supervolcano and there's one expected in very near future for America. Have you seen that documentary? If you had, may be you should write a review on that. I know Lake Toba which was my childhood getaway is a supervolcano & has the most violent & largest eruption on Earth in the last 25 million years! That's mind-boggling, isn't it?
 
January 13, 2010
I just saw @djevoke excellent list of suggested charities. We must all join together and help. Imagine, the latest reports indicate that there could be as many as 500,000 people dead. Cannot imagine it!   Just imagine what would happen if the big one ever struck L.A.  I have read estimates that the casualties would fill every hospital bed in the country.  Let's pray it never happens.
 
January 13, 2010
Thank you for your very thoughtful review on this highly tragic event.  I couldn't agree with your advice more.  I don't know if you've checked this out, but @djevoke actually just made a list of aid agencies that will help the recovery effort in Haiti.  You should take a look!
 
January 13, 2010
Sometimes I don't have the time to watch the news - I find out about them on Lunch. This is devastating, my heart goes out to all those people.  
 
1
More 2010 Haiti Earthquake reviews
review by . January 13, 2010
Haiti seeks your help......
I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this tragedy worse. The over 2 million people in Port-au-Prince tonight face catastrophe alone. This is an unbelievable tragedy. Being Haitian American myself, with family in Haiti, I feel more than compelled to help. Haiti has been suffering for far too long and for a catastrophe of this magnitude to happen is beyond words. My prayers go out to all of Haiti and all that were affected by this earthquake. My hopes …
Quick Tip by . January 14, 2010
Such a tragic event. My thoughts are with all the people in Haiti & their loved ones. Please help in any way that you can!
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

The 2010 Haiti earthquake was a magnitude 7.0 earthquake that occurred approximately 10 miles (16 km) from Port-au-Prince, Haiti at 4:53:09 PM local time (21:53:09 UTC) on Tuesday 12 January 2010. The earthquake occurred at a depth of 6.2 miles (10.0 km). The United States Geological Survey recorded a series of aftershocks, ten of them above magnitude 5.0, including ones measuring 5.9 and 5.5.

Most of Port-au-Prince's major landmarks have been damaged in the earthquake, including the National Presidential Palace of Haiti, the National Assembly building, the Port-au-Prince Cathedral and at least one hospital. The United Nations reported that headquarters of the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti, located in the capital, sustained serious damage and that a large number of UN personnel were unaccounted for.

Earthquake Details
Magnitude
7.0
Date-Time
Tuesday, January 12, 2010 at 21:53:09 UTC
Location
18.451°N, 72.445°W
Depth
10 km (6.2 miles) set by location program
Region
HAITI REGION
Distances
15 km (10 miles) SW of PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti
140 km (90 miles) E of Les Cayes, Haiti
145 km (90 miles) WNW of Barahona, Dominican Republic
1140 km (710 miles) SE of Miami, Florida
 
view wiki

Details

Type: Massive Earthquake
Location: Haiti
Date(s): January 12, 2010

Polls with this activity
1923 Great Kanto Earthquake

Most deadly natural disasters

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists