|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » 2010 Haiti Earthquake » User review

2010 Haiti Earthquake

An earthquake that occurred on January 12, 2010.

< read all 3 reviews

Haiti seeks your help......

  • Jan 13, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-5
I cannot stress enough what a human disaster this is, and idle hands will only make this tragedy worse. The over 2 million people in Port-au-Prince tonight face catastrophe alone. This is an unbelievable tragedy. Being Haitian American myself, with family in Haiti, I feel more than compelled to help. Haiti has been suffering for far too long and for a catastrophe of this magnitude to happen is beyond words. My prayers go out to all of Haiti and all that were affected by this earthquake. My hopes are that we rebuild this country to be greater than it ever has been. As the news/media has pointed out more than enough times, Haiti is the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere. This is the time for us that have been blessed to bless others. I am grateful that my parents were able to come to America and achieve success, but I am also saddened that Haiti is so poverty stricken.


We must act now. Many people have already reached out to see what they can do right now. We are asking those interested to please do one of two things: Either you can use your cell phone to text “Yele” to 501501, which will automatically donate $5 to the Yele Haiti Earthquake Fund (it will be charged to your cell phone bill), or you can visit Yele.org and click on DONATE.

Everyone, please keep Haiti in your prayers and help as much as you can.

You can also donate to the World Food Program http://www.wfp.org. You can designate Haiti as the recipient of your gift.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtShkzK34aU
Haiti seeks your help...... Haiti seeks your help...... Haiti seeks your help...... Haiti seeks your help...... Haiti seeks your help......

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
February 03, 2010
I'm confused by your rating... The Earthquake was a horrible catastrophe and yet you rated it a positive five. How come?
February 04, 2010
Hey Count_Orlok_22, your right in the beginning I was a bit confuse on how to rate this but what you stated it that way it does make sense so I went ahead a change the rating due to the devastation.
February 04, 2010
Okay. I was a little baffled, I must admit, because I knew that you'd written this very heartfelt plea for awareness and understanding about the Earthquake and you encouraged people to help in anyway that they could, so I knew you weren't happy about it or something like that. It's going to be hard for Haitians, particularly the poor, to find the necessary support and survival products to make it through this. Even many of those who weren't injured directly in the quake are falling sick due to poor nutrition and a lack of medical supplies or sanitation. I hope that more people will stand up and take notice that now is the time to help. Take care and thanks for the review.
 
February 01, 2010
My wife and I give at every event and every Sunday in church.
February 04, 2010
That's great badbonz007 any contribution goes a long way, I do the same myself even cashing out at the register.
 
January 14, 2010
Thanks everyone ;-)
 
January 14, 2010
I've never been to Haiti but from what I understand, is is GORGEOUS. This is a tragedy both for the country's geography and history and OF COURSE all the people that were injured or killed. Such a terrible event! Nice summation of the events, though. Thanks for sharing.
 
January 13, 2010
Excellent assessment of a devastating situation. Each of us needs to reach down deep and help. This is a tragedy of biblical proportions! Thanks for writing this.
 
January 13, 2010
yes, Jen-jay! Things like this tragic event deserve everyone's contribution; It is just so sad, but it is also amazing as to how tragedy can bring people around the world together to deal with a common goal.
 
January 13, 2010
Thanks so much for sharing this, and for spreading the word, Jen!  The U.S. needed tons of donations when Hurricane Katrina hit, so I can't imagine how a country in Haiti's economic state would be able to rebuild itself without everyone's help.  Every dollar counts and Yele is a great place to start.

By the way, you can actually embed that video into your review, let me know if you need a hand!
 
1
More 2010 Haiti Earthquake reviews
review by . January 13, 2010
Time for all people of goodwill to step up and help to alleviate the misery of the Haitian people.
It was the most powerful earthquake to hit Haiti in more than 200 years.  First reports indicate that in the capital city of Port-au-Prince thousands of buildings have collapsed and that the city is in total ruins.  Amidst the fire and rubble tens of thousands lie dead and injured.  The major hospital in the city has also been destroyed.  Judging by some of the photographs and news reports the 2010 Haitian Earthquake is a catastrophe of biblical proportions.  …
Quick Tip by . January 14, 2010
Such a tragic event. My thoughts are with all the people in Haiti & their loved ones. Please help in any way that you can!
About the reviewer
Jen-Jay AKA:JJI ()
Ranked #82
Married into the military for over a decade and it does has itpros andcons. The lifestyle is great and Ido enjoy it. I'm able to do things and see things that I thought I wouldn't dream of. My kids loves … more
About this activity

Wiki

The 2010 Haiti earthquake was a magnitude 7.0 earthquake that occurred approximately 10 miles (16 km) from Port-au-Prince, Haiti at 4:53:09 PM local time (21:53:09 UTC) on Tuesday 12 January 2010. The earthquake occurred at a depth of 6.2 miles (10.0 km). The United States Geological Survey recorded a series of aftershocks, ten of them above magnitude 5.0, including ones measuring 5.9 and 5.5.

Most of Port-au-Prince's major landmarks have been damaged in the earthquake, including the National Presidential Palace of Haiti, the National Assembly building, the Port-au-Prince Cathedral and at least one hospital. The United Nations reported that headquarters of the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti, located in the capital, sustained serious damage and that a large number of UN personnel were unaccounted for.

Earthquake Details
Magnitude
7.0
Date-Time
Tuesday, January 12, 2010 at 21:53:09 UTC
Location
18.451°N, 72.445°W
Depth
10 km (6.2 miles) set by location program
Region
HAITI REGION
Distances
15 km (10 miles) SW of PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti
140 km (90 miles) E of Les Cayes, Haiti
145 km (90 miles) WNW of Barahona, Dominican Republic
1140 km (710 miles) SE of Miami, Florida
 
view wiki

Details

Type: Massive Earthquake
Location: Haiti
Date(s): January 12, 2010

Polls with this activity
1923 Great Kanto Earthquake

Most deadly natural disasters

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists