|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » Lunch for Good » User review

lunchforgood

An event series sponsored by Lunch.com with promotional support from SF New Tech and Social Media Club

< read all 16 reviews

At first, I was a bit hesitant, being the only

  • Oct 26, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Organizational Psychologist (aka: Human Connector Conduit)  in the room. It was, after all, a media driven lunch. But much to my surprise, I was very pleased to find out that it wasn't that at all. (I love being surprised)  At first, I thought it would be a whole bunch of people I didn't know (which was true except Cathy Brooks, whom invited me there- thank you Cathy!) talking about things I didn't know, but then after sitting at the table and hearing six passionate people, not just talk about, but fiercely and voraciously speak about their own passions to make change and evolve, I felt right at home. i was so excited that I could participate in Lunch for Good -which i think was just the right platform to make this work. The more people can get engaged in intellectual discourse, the more we will grow and know about ourselves and our social connections.

What struck me most was the deliberate action and passion each person had for true connection. The main purpose was to arouse people into debating, connecting, and lending an inspiration to people to have more intellectual and mindful discourse which I think is most needed, and serves a function people are interested in. Of course, there is much more to discuss concerning the details around infusing more critical thinking into the virtual world, but what really struck me most was the human source of potential we all have in us. Some people in our group didn't agree, but what i found most fruitful, was the ability to *hear* someone out and really contemplate their reaction before responding with their quick witty answer. This is great platform for connecting people in real time, with real inspiration! Thank you JR for hosting such a successful event. I look forward to seeing you all next time. !

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
October 31, 2009
Thanks J.R. Had a lot of fun too. When is the next one?
 
October 29, 2009
Thanks for coming Allison! Great meeting you and thanks for the review. Great to have you on Lunch!
 
October 28, 2009
As someone whose life is deeply steeped in technology I'm always striving to break away from the bits and bytes and focus on the how and what of these platforms - what can we DO with them? Alison's life work being all about bringing mindfulness to everyday existence seemed a perfect fit for this great lunch series and I'm so glad that it proved to be just that!
 
1
More Lunch for Good reviews
review by . September 25, 2009
Encouraging respectful and engaging online conversations      Yesterday I attended Lunch for Good an event that explored the idea of responsible online engagement and participation. The group was inspired to discuss how we can dramatically improve the online conversation and drive more people to contribute their well-thought out opinions.            I personally believe that online conversations dramatically improve when people are encouraged …
review by . September 25, 2009
Lunch For Good #3 - "Finding Common Ground"      Remember the show The A-Team?  If you fast forward to the end of every episode when Mr. T and the rest of the crew either solved the crime or rescued the damsel in distress, lead character John "Hannibal" Smith always closed the show with his famous quote, "I love it when a plan comes together".   And to be honest, that's how I felt as we wrapped up another amazing Lunch For Good event …
review by . September 28, 2009
*I'd still strongly suggest a Lunch for Good alumni group on Linked In. We can delve more into each other's backgrounds there (without grilling people) and come up with other points of connection. There might be an easy link back to this community site, but I think an LI group would enhance this group's growth.      An excellent way to meet with people from non-profit and for profit sectors and brainstorm how one can increase the quantity of online participation and the …
Quick Tip by . October 28, 2009
Lunch For Good just keeps getting better and better!
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
Feeling inspired by some excellent Critical Thought and totally stoked for the November event. The best is yet to come with Lunch for Good!
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
FANTASTIC event! Very important discussion that has continued for me into my podcast and personal life. Worth every second of my time!
Quick Tip by . October 21, 2009
Inspiring conversation at the first event, and looking forward to being further challenged at the second.
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2009
I enjoyed Lunch for Good, met a number of interesting & tech-connected people, and look forward to the next one.
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2009
Key success factors there: people, topics and food! Live grokking underscores that there is no substitute for incarnate interaction.
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2009
really impressed with the awesome group that attended! can't wait for next month's event.
About the reviewer
Alison Leigh, MFT ()
Ranked #801
Kicking some booty is in store. I'm not shy about my opinions- even if you think I'm wrong- What I do care about is our relationship- the quality, texture, nature, etc. I honor you when you tell the truth … more
About this activity

Wiki


Lunch for Good is a three-part event series bringing together innovators and engaged citizens in the tech and Internet space to discuss the evolution of how people participate and interact online — and most importantly, how that progress can also coalesce to make the world a better place.

The goal is to connect our industry’s thought leaders for an ongoing, dynamic dialogue about how to improve online engagement so that it can have a positive social impact. Our themes will cover “Responsible Participation,” “Critical Thought,” and “Common Ground” respectively each month.

Over lunch, we’ll explore how we can foster better quality communities and contribution online, by focusing on a collaborated set of universal values. The outcome will cultivate a more positive, tolerant, and thoughtful culture in social media, working toward the greater good of our society as a whole.



Thursday, September 24 – Responsible Participation
Wednesday, October 22 – Critical Thought
Wednesday, November 18 – Common Ground

Lunch for Good is sponsored by Lunch.com with promotional support from SF New Tech and Social Media Club.

Check out the Lunch for Good blog!
 


Video Highlights from Lunch Fod Good #2 - October 22, 2009

"

Thoughts on Critical Thinking - Lunch for Good #2 from Lunch For Good on Vimeo.





 

Hiren Patel - Lunch For Good #2: Sparking Critical ...

view wiki

Details

Location: San Francisco, CA
Date(s): September 24, 2009
Organization: Lunch.com, Social Media Club, SF New Tech
Venue: Orson

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists