|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » Monkeys with Internet Access: Sharing, Human Nature, and Digital Data » User review

Fantastic lecture by #clayshirky "Consider how much value we can get out of civic sharing"

  • Mar 14, 2010
Rating:
+5

Biggest Takeaway

SO enjoyed this!  Super compelling -- Clay asks that we consider how much value we can get out of civic sharing, taking into account the feelings and responses that our behavioral

You hear a lot of people reference how the Internet is "changing our world," but this was one of the most expert illustrations of that I've heard.  Compelling to tech industry insiders, but I'd love for mainstream Internet users to also be exposed to this big picture understanding of how our human nature and behavior is playing out online - particularly for the BETTER.

Really great anologies brought to life the theories Clay proposed - great, engaging speaker!

Best / Worst Quotes
"Sharing information is something we're not only biased to do, it's something we're biased to LIKE"

"Abundance breaks more things than scarcity"

"The greatest points of leverage are almost always where no one's paying attention, alas."

"The minute everybody understands something's important, all progress stops.  You want to be working where no one is paying attention."

We're moving from a world where you can do little things for love and big things for money, to a "world where you can do big things for love."

"The really potent stuff -  people tyring to create civic value, not communal value...  Actually changes the culture that the participants are embedded in."

"my beloved vanilla ice"

Final Thoughts
This was my first time hearing Clay live, and I'm now a huge fan!  Right up my alley.

Fantastic lecture by #clayshirky

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
August 22, 2010
I read this book, he's really good!
August 25, 2010
He is - and it was cool to hear him at this event, which just has a ton of energy and engagement on these types of topics.
 
1
More Monkeys with Internet Access: ... reviews
review by . March 14, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Biggest Takeaway:  We now have the tools to get beyond intrinsic motivation for sharing as a private actor to make sharing public.  Public sharing goes beyond mere social sharing to the point of sharing for civic reasons.  Civic sharing is done to help move forward a greater good.  Whether or not everyone can succeed with their public sharing and their civic goals is undetermined, but at least now we can all try.   Best Quotes         "Abundance …
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Inspiring, informational, all the good stuff.
review by . March 14, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
First of all, Clay Shirky was wearing the three wolf moon T-shirt which in and of itself deserves a +5 rating, but his talk deserves much more. His talk was primarily about how our culture is now deviating from the social norms we were once accustomed to because we now have the tools (technology/social media) to change how we share information publicly. The panel 'Monkeys and Internet Access: Sharing, Human Nature, and Digital Data' was super timely, expoloring the values of civic sharing online …
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Shirky wrapping up - what a brilliant man. Amazing talk re: the shift in motivations for social sharing. #clayshirky
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Out late & lost an hour last night, but still worth hustling to the convention ctr. for a must see presentation.
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
i really enjoy Clay's books, and i've heard him speak before at Google's Zeitgeist. Looking forward to seeing him again!!
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
i really enjoy Clay's books, and i've heard him speak before at Google's Zeitgeist. Looking forward to seeing him again!!
About the reviewer
Melissa ()
Ranked #70
Really loyal, a little more lippy than I'd wish, love love love the beach and all things tropical, sneeze freakishly loud, love the F word, came of age in the Midwest during the 80's, get a lot … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
lyssachttr
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Event Description TBA

Panelist:
Clay Shirky (twitter.com/cshirky)

Ballroom D
Sunday, March 14 at 11:00 AM
view wiki

Details

Type: Panel
Location: Ballroom D
Date(s): Sunday March 14

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists