|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Healthy » Reviews » Sleep » User review

Sleep

A natural periodic state of rest for the mind and body, in which the eyes usually close and consciousness is completely or partially losti.

< read all 12 reviews

Getting at least seven hours of sleep is good for you

  • May 6, 2010
Rating:
+5
Many of us have heard that we aren't getting enough sleep.  This is very true.  Getting at least seven hours of sleep a night is very important.  It is not just to feel more refreshed the next morning.  There are many more health factors involved here that should discussed.  Getting enough sleep is another healthy habit that all of us could pick up.

Seven hours of sleep a night can help you with the following:
  • Sharpen your memory
  • Reduce your stress
  • Help you live longer
  • Reduce bad food cravings
  • Help to maintain a healthy weight

Now, you're probably saying to yourself, "Well, I try to sleep more, but I have trouble sleeping sometimes no matter what I do". Well, the list below is for you.


The following are the ways to get a better night's sleep:
  • Maintain a regular bed and wake time schedule including weekends
  • Try reading a book or listening to soothing music at bedtime
  • Check your pillows and mattress - 10 years is about the life expectancy of a mattress
  • Use your bed only for sleep and sex to strengthen the association between bed and sleep
  • Try to create a sleep-conducive environment that is dark, quiet, comfortable and cool
  • Close down the kitchen 3 hours before bedtime - eating and drinking before sleeping can cause sleep disruptions
  • Get regular exercise, but do so hours before bedtime
  • Avoid caffeine, alcohol and nicotine close to bedtime

If you ask me, I say that sleep is underrated.  As I've gotten older sleep has become one of my best friends. I feel so much better after a good night's sleep.  Headaches, soreness, stress and just being tired magically vanish after some good sleep.  Luckily, I don't have trouble sleeping and I do regularly get at least seven hours of sleep a night. However, many people don't and they should start to put sleep as a higher priority.  And if you are having sleep problems, ask your doctor how you can improve your sleeping. 

Get more sleep.  You deserve it.
Getting seven hours of sleep is good for you Getting seven hours of sleep is good for you Getting seven hours of sleep is good for you Getting seven hours of sleep is good for you

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
22
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
June 24, 2011
Drinking alcohol near bedtime is downright dangerous. When we get older, the diverticular pockets become more perforated and highly sensitive to high content alcohol at bedtime. High alcohol content at bedtime can be a killing field as you get older past the 40s.
 
May 02, 2011
One thing I have found is that certain things can severely affect how much sleep I need.

For example, if I work a night shift I usually sleep just about four hours a day, and I feel fine for most of the day. Similarly if I go to bed normally I need about 7.

I suspect that sleep is a lot more complicated than we like to think, and that our bodies do it even when we'd rather not (there are periods of time during night shifts when just about anyone I know who has worked such shifts admits to being "half-asleep" and this might account for the reduction in necessary sleep under such conditions).  Just as some birds can sleep with half their brain and one eye open, it might be that we can also partially sleep.

But the down side of this is if you don't give yourself the right amount of sleep when YOU need it, you will get it when you'd rather not.  That means less alertness, only nominal consciousness (I can remember driving places after work when I worked a night shift and realizing when I got there that I had major gaps in my memory of driving).  Even falling asleep at the wheel.

The secret to me is that I try to sleep such that I get up when I wake up as often as possible, rather than forcing myself awake with alarm clocks.
 
November 22, 2010
I think I've gotten a lot more than that! It's my #1 hobby :-)
 
May 18, 2010
I so need to work on better sleep habits. I just ran across an article stating that lack of sleep may be as big a factor in type 2 diabetes and what you eat. That's a little scary.
 
May 07, 2010
I usually get only five hours of sleep or so if I have work the next day. If not, then I'll sleep for about eight or nine hours, so it does vary for me from time to time. I should try and get more sleep though so that I'm not yawning as much throughout the day, lol. Great review. :-)
May 10, 2010
Yep, when I don't get enough sleep I seem to yawn all day. Just another reason to get my shut-eye. Thanks.
 
May 07, 2010
That's interesting what you say about the association between bed and sleep. I often work in bed with my laptop. I guess it's time to move that business to ye ole desk. Thanks for sharing this, Clay!
May 07, 2010
I'd fall asleep on my laptop if I did that. My laptop hasn't gotten out of the office or the living room. Good luck to you and your laptop. Sweet dreams.
 
1
More Sleep reviews
review by . November 24, 2010
posted in Inspirations
My record? A whopping 19 hours!
The subject matter of sleep fascinates me. So much so that I indulge in it excessively. It is one of the many luxuries of my life. I welcome it with open arms and reckless abandon. In return, I'm often rewarded with amazement and sometimes with enlightenment! I know I'm one of the lucky few. I even found God in my sleep! It is through sleeping that I filled life with more possibilities than I can imagined. Technically, it is through that part of sleep where scientists termed it REM (Rapid …
Quick Tip by . December 09, 2011
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Caption
The third greatest thing in life (as with daily routine). It is re-vitalizing, healing and a significant part of life. Sleep is very important and gives the brain time to reboot itself from the stresses of life. I like dreaming too.... :)     
review by . May 17, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I'm an entrepreneur - which to me means that I can do a "grandpa nap" everyday if I feel like it. It fits perfect in my routine and i get around 8 or 9 hours a day. I do a lot of "brain work" which means it's essential for me to cope out both with sleep but also with meditation and exercise. It's essential to my wellbeing and my health
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2010
Best thing of my life! It's the place where all things are possible, oops, by that I mean dream! In any case, I've a long term affair with sleep. Can go without food, can go without a job & can certainly go without a man [;-)]! Sleep? No way I can go without it!!!
Quick Tip by . October 29, 2010
What's the worst part of sleeping??? Waking up! Those few precious moments where your body is telling you to get up but your brain is saying, "No, turn over and go back to sleep!" can either be the best or worst part of the day in my opinion.
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Not everyone is meant to sleep a straight eight hours a night. Some function best on having "two nights" and "two days" in a 24 hour period.
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2010
Caption
   I hadn't heard of the term "microsleep" before until I ran across it here but it says that an episode can last for a fraction of a second or up to 30 seconds. So the next time I feel like I'm dozing off in class, maybe I am!
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
Sleep is second to meditation. The longer and deeper the meditation, the less sleep that is needed.
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2010
Sleep - what a splendid thing! One of my favorite things to do...As a matter of fact, I wish I was sleeping right now. :)
Quick Tip by . May 08, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I love sleeping in! There is nothing better than a day off when you know you can hit the snooze button.
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #50
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Sleep is a naturally recurring state of relatively suspended sensory and motor activity, characterized by total or partial unconsciousness and the inactivity of nearly all voluntary muscles.  Sleep is a heightened anabolic state, accentuating the growth and rejuvenation of the immune, nervous, skeletal and muscular systems. It is observed in all mammals, all birds, and many reptiles, amphibians, and fish. In humans, other mammals, and a substantial majority of other animals that have been studied (such as some species of fish, birds, ants, and fruit flies, some form of sleep may be essential for survival.

The purposes and mechanisms of sleep are only partially clear and are the subject of intense research.

view wiki

Tags

Healthy, Healthy Living, Naps, Resting, Napping

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists