|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » TechSet Party » User review

i wanted a feather boa too..

  • Mar 13, 2010
Rating:
+1

i echo a lot of what annie said. it was an ok party. it definitely seemed to be the place to be, since i ran into many friends that i hadn't seen since last year. and i totally wanted a feather boa like dave fleet and brian solis. :)

i actually got there late, so i missed most of the actual party, but the speakeasy bar itself is pretty cool. as they were transitioning the bar from the techset party, to normal business hours, a really great funk band started playing on stage. so i stayed there for a bit and enjoyed some good live music. (i took some photos and video, and will post that soon as well :) )
 
oh, also there was supposedly a taco truck giving free tacos for those who checked in using gowalla (i got a notification of "you won a free taco!" when i got to the party) but i must have missed it. (but that was a pretty cool idea, IMHO)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
March 13, 2010
Boas, live music, and free tacos (even if I had to use Gowalla)? I'm in! :)
 
March 13, 2010
Ooo..I wanna see the pics! bummer I missed it.
 
1
More TechSet Party reviews
review by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
The TechSet event is always a big event, but this time it was a little complicated.       At the door there were 2 lines, a regular line and a VIP line. The VIP's got yellow wristbands.       The party had 3 levels: on the main floor there was a live band on the second floor was a VIP area that overlooked the main floor the top floor was a rooftop terrace In the beginning of the night, the heat lamps were on outside so the rooftop terrace was really hot. …
review by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Sure it was loud, sure it got crowded, but what do you expect from one of the best parties of the week. Since we knew that it was going to be packed we got there early and waited in line for the doors to open.  Once inside with our boas & kanye glasses, we headed up to the rooftop to grab a spot and a drink.      After we secured a choice spot, I didn't get a chance to explore too much, but I did get to enjoy a few drinks and some time spent with SXSW friends both old …
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
As always, TechSet was the place to be. Madness!
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Out of the 5 parties I went to last night, this was definitely the best one. Everyone was there! New friends & old!
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
@stephagresta and @briansolis do know how to give a party. Free wine, and they brought all my friends:-)
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Way too loud, no food, lame shutter glasses as a giveaway. Was the place to be I guess tho!
About the reviewer
Tracy Apps ()
Ranked #359
graphic designer. web developer. photographer. artist. drummer. nerd.   tracyappsdesign.com
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
tapps_
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

This Friday SXSW kickoff party unites the digerati as they channel their inner Fame Monster by reviving a decade of style and glamour that made the social elite go ga ga.
view wiki

Details

Date(s): Friday March 12

First to Review
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists