|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » Twittering Through Chemo - Survivors Unite » User review

Twittering Through Chemo - Survivors Unite

2010 SXSWi Core Conversation with Drew Olanoff and Brian Simpson

< read all 3 reviews

The most powerful panel I've ever attended

  • Mar 16, 2010
Rating:
+5
This panel was POWERFUL!

I don't know how to begin to describe it, but it was like a huge group therapy session in the best possible way.

Here are some highlights
There was head shaving
Gary Vaynerchuk showed up and then tweeted this



Micah tweeted this



And Jeffery tweeted this



There was a lot said, and I lot of tears, but to sum it up, twitter really helped both Brian and Drew get through chemo. And twitter can help anyone going through chemo indirectly with a significant other or a loved one.

There was a ton of love in the room, you could literally feel it. One of my top experiences at SXSW.


 

Mentioned

bethematch.org
planetcancer.com
Young Adult [cancer] festival

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
October 20, 2010
Wow. Thank you for sharing this.
 
March 17, 2010
Great article, Sarah! Ironically, I was late to it because my meds made me sick. :( It's funny, though, I used the same words to describe the room: full of love and power.
 
March 16, 2010
Hard to believe that someone can go to SXSWi and only go to one panel, but it really says something when those tweeps say that this was the one to be at!  Thanks for sharing your experience and those tweets.  Sounds like some powerful and inspirational stuff!
 
1
More Twittering Through Chemo - Sur... reviews
review by . March 18, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
   (Reposted from my blog, Casa DeFrias, at the request of @ariajuliet)      I spent the last six days in Austin, Texas, attending South by Southwest. There are three tracks (Interactive, Film and Music), and I attended the interactive one for work.      The most impactful panel was a little publicized, intimate panel on the final day called "Twittering Thru Chemo - Survivors Unite" and was moderated by Drew Olanoff and Brian Simpson …
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
I'm really looking forward to this panel. Both Brian and Drew's stories are amazing.
About the reviewer
Sarah Cooley ()
Ranked #202
Member Since: Mar 31, 2009
Last Login: May 24, 2010 05:21 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sarahcooley
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Event Description:Two to three days a week for months chemo was lonely - twitter was there for me 24/7. No matter how sick I looked my tweets were all smiles. Social networks united me with the outside world! We are the greatest club you dont ask to be in. Twitter united us.7Tuesday, March 16 at 12:30 PM
view wiki

Details

Date(s): Tuesday March 16

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists