|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » 52nd Grammy Awards » User review

52nd Grammy Awards

An award show for musical excellence that took place on January 31, 2010.

< read all 4 reviews

Performances were abundant, but where were the awards?

  • Feb 6, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

The biggest annual event in music took place last week and as usual it did not disappoint. Lady Gaga's wild performance with Elton John launched the 2010 Grammy awards with a bang and the show only got better.

Other notable performances were:

Beyoncé singing Alanis Morisette’s ”You Oughta Know"
Taylor Swift’s duo with Stevie Nicks
And a tribute to Les Paul by Jeff Beck and Imelda May

While the performances were the spotlight -- this was an award show after all...and the notable winners were:

Beyoncé winning six major awards with two awards presented live at the ceremony: Song of the Year for “Single Ladies" and Best Pop Vocal Performance for “Halo.”

Taylor Swift was another notable winner, receiving two awards at the show: Album of the Year and Best Country Album for her chart-topper Fearless.

With every major award show there were some impressively dressed celebrities -- as well as a few fashion faux pas. Among the best dressed were: Marissa Miller, who was wearing a short white mini that showed off her jaw-dropping figure:




The worst dressed were: Beyonce, Lady Gaga and Katy Perry -- among others.


 

But the most notable moment by far was the overly emotional tribute to the late Michael Jackson. Celine Dion, Usher, Carrie Underwood, Jennifer Hudson, Smokey Robinson performed a 3-d rendition of Michael's popular hit: Earth Song, and afterward Lionel Richie  presented a lifetime achievement award to his two children Prince and Paris Jackson.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
February 06, 2010
You're making me wish I watched this now. Thanks for the highlights and the video! :)
 
February 06, 2010
I was actually fairly impressed with the Grammy's this year as well. I agree, it was almost more of a performance show than an awards show (which is alright with me). The MJ tribute was beautiful and I also really enjoyed performances by Lady Antebellum and the Zac Brown Band (who I had never heard before but liked their bluegrass country vibe). Thanks for this review!
 
February 06, 2010
Did not watch them but nice review.
 
1
More 52nd Grammy Awards reviews
Quick Tip by . February 06, 2010
Lots of great performances! The MJ tribute stole the night, but I really enjoyed Lady Antebellum & the Zac Brown Band as well.
Quick Tip by . February 06, 2010
The Michael Jackson tribute stole the show.
Quick Tip by . February 01, 2010
I'm not a "grammy fan" but i had a BLAST watching the show last night. HDTV, sound cranked, it was awesome. Looking forward to next year!!
About the reviewer
Justyn Joe Richardson ()
Ranked #129
My name is Justyn Richardson but I go by the name Shoyu - after joining the on-line gaming site, Pogo, I have reverted back to my childhood nickname of Tasteless Joe. I first acquired the name when I … more
About this actor

Wiki

The 52nd Annual Grammy Awards took place on January 31, 2010. CBS broadcasted the event, which took place again at Staples Center in Los Angeles, California. Neil Young was honored as the 2010 MusiCares Person of the Year on January 29, two days prior to the Grammy telecast.

Beyoncé Knowles lead the nominees with ten nominations. Other nominees include Taylor Swift with eight and Black Eyed Peas, Maxwell, Kanye West with six nominations, and David Guetta, Jay-Z and Lady Gaga with five nominations. Colbie Caillat, Kings of Leon, Bruce Springsteen, T-Pain, and Keith Urban each received four nominations.

Beyoncé set a new record for most Grammy Awards won by a Female Artist in a single night with six. Taylor Swift won four, while Black Eyed Peas won three.

Taylor Swift's Fearless was awarded the Grammy Award for Album of the Year, Swift's first Album of the Year award in her career. "Use Somebody" by rock band Kings of Leon won the Grammy Award for Record of the Year, while "Single Ladies" by songwriters Thaddis Harrell, Beyoncé Knowles, Terius Nash and Christopher Stewart, was named Song of the Year.
view wiki

Details

Type: Music
Location: Los Angeles, California.
Date(s): January 31, 2010
Organization: Grammy Awards
Venue: Staples Center
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists