|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Host of Iron Chef America.

< read all 10 reviews

A Quick Tip by Adrianna

  • Dec 1, 2010
I didn't know Alton Brown before I got married. In fact, I didn't watch the Food Network until marriage. It was during one of these rare viewing occasions that I realized my husband enjoyed watching this "food nerd's" show called Good Eats. At first I found him boring and pretentious. He's a bit of a "know it all" and always wants the viewer to cook things the long and difficult way. I prefer short-cuts, especially when I'm pressed for time. Eventually, I started to appreciate Brown's knowledge about cooking. Plus, I've always been partial to nerds. Once I realized that he had other shows, like Feasting on Asphalt and the position of expert commentator on Iron Chef, I was hooked. He grew on me, and I'm happy to say that I'm a huge fan of this food connoisseur. Alton Brown is truly a jack of all trades. He's not only on television but has some amazing books for sale about cooking and his television shows, which are easily found at your nearest bookstore.
Caption Caption
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
24
Post a Comment
January 10, 2011
I remember this guy. He comes on late on the Food Network so I don't watch him often. He has given me some interesting bits on sugar and tomatoes and other such things I did not know before. Great for cocktail parties! A funny guy and a pretty good cook from what I've seen.
January 10, 2011
Yeah, some of the best shows on Food Network come on late. It's a shame. Yeah, he's very interesting and knows a ton of information about food!
 
December 09, 2010
I didn't really watch the Food Network either until my second year of marriage. Now I haven't watched it in two months though and I find that I would rather spend that time actually in the kitchen, creating delicious meals for my husband and daughter! :) I'm more inspired by getting right to it than watching someone else cook I guess.
December 20, 2010
LOL! Nice. Nothing wrong with that. My husband and I fight over the kitchen because he likes to cook too. He's planning to cook a flank steak Alton Brown style this evening. I bought him some premium meats for our 3 year anniversary.
December 20, 2010
That is very sweet :) My husband is not much of a cook, he would only do it out of necessity - like when I was pregnant and couldn't stand the smell of anything cooking and especially meat!
December 20, 2010
Aw, that was sweet of your husband. :)
 
December 03, 2010
I don't really watch the food network, so I don't really know who Alton Brown is. My mom would probably know who he is since she watches cooking shows all the time, lol. But yeah, he sounds like a different sort of cook. It's always good to see someone break out of the norm when it comes to something, even if it can be a little annoying at times to watch, lol.
December 07, 2010
Yeah, he's really funny, Pardolis. Breaking the norm is fun, but I agree it can be a little annoying at times. :)
 
December 02, 2010
Isn't that funny? I didn't start to watch HGTV or The Food Network until I got engaged lol! I found him to be a little snobby and uppity for my taste when I first saw him on Iron Chef. I can't say that I'm the biggest fan of how he speaks- it's hard to explain, it just rubs me wrong. But, I do think that he's incredibly knowledgeable. Maybe I have to check out Good Eats to see if he'll grow on me too ;p
December 02, 2010
(laughs) There's something about HGTV, Food Network, and the like that screams a married life. ;) I know what you mean about him being a snob or a bit uppity for your tastes. It's what initially turned me off as well. However, he's more "loveable" in a lot of the episodes of Good Eats. Some of them are just so silly...it's nice to see a less serious side. :)
December 02, 2010
I think it's because those channels are geared toward settling down. I will definitely have to give Good Eats a watch, I'd love to see him loosen up a bit ;p
December 07, 2010
Yeah, that makes sense, lol. What college student has the time to watch cooking shows? I remember eating a lot of Cup of Noodles during my undergrad years, lol! Let me know what you think of the show when you do get to check it out. :)
December 07, 2010
LOL...yep, I was REALLY creative with Ramen ;p I'll definitely let you know when I do check it out!
December 07, 2010
LOL! Nice. I was really boring with Ramen. I loved eating it dry. :-P
 
1
More Alton Brown reviews
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2012
Always interesting, his recipes never seem to have enough flavor for me. I can't watch his show without getting a little annoyed. However I love hearing about the science behind cooking.
Quick Tip by . October 02, 2011
While I don't consider myself a culinary genius by any means, Alton Brown has really gotten me to think about food and the science behind cooking it. His show, Good Eats, is easily one of the best food shows ever made, because not only did he make cooking look more simple, but his show was so much fun to watch, even if the episode was about dishes I don't like.
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2010
Alton Brown is on of the most effective food educators of our time. And his cookbooks are pretty darned good too.
Quick Tip by . December 13, 2010
I like the fact that I learn something almost every time Alton Brown is on television.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Loved his early Good Eats episodes. The new stuff has gotten pretty commercial and watered-down. This once funky, off-beat food nerd (I mean that in the good way) has become too mainstream and overexposed.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Our Nerd in the Kitchen.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
Ahahaha... I love Alton Brown. Funny guy.
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2009
Love how he breaks everything down to make it "sound" so scientific. He removes mystery and intimidation of cooking.
review by . December 09, 2008
I love this guy. My husband and I lay in bed and watch him and laugh at his funny wit but we also learn so much from his shows!  I think shows like Alton's that have alot of humor mixed with education are definitely the best television viewing. I like the way Alton breaks down cooking into understandable steps that even the most uneducated cook can understand.  I've watched his shows many times and vow to find his recipes on the internet so I can do some Alton magic too!  Now …
About the reviewer
Adrianna Simone ()
Ranked #18
MY GROUPS (AND COMMUNITY):      The following information was taken from the officialCafe Libri Website.   Cafe Libri (Yahoo Reading Discussion Group)is the original Cafe … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Adrianna
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Alton Brown's flair in the kitchen developed early with guidance from his mother and grandmother, a budding culinary talent he skillfully used later "as a way to get dates" in college. Switching gears as an adult, Alton spent a decade working as a cinematographer and video director, but realized he spent all his time between shoots watching cooking shows which he found to be dull and uninformative. Convinced that he could do better, Alton left the film business and moved to Vermont to train at the New England Culinary Institute in Montpelier, Vt. Soon after, Alton tapped all of his training to create Good Eats, a smart and entertaining food show that blends wit with wisdom, history with pop culture and science with common cooking sense. Alton not only writes and produces the shows but also stars in each offbeat episode.
Alton Brown's first book, I'm Just Here for the Food (Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2002) won the James Beard Foundation Award for Best Cookbook in the Reference category, was one of the bestselling cookbooks of 2002 and has sold over 300,000 copies to date. It was also chosen by Amazon.com as one of the top 50 books of 2002 by both editors and readers.
Alton Brown's Gear for Your Kitchen, his long-awaited homage to tools and gadgetry, was published by STC in September 2003 and was nominated for both a James Beard Award for Best Cookbook in the Tools & Techniques category and an IACP Cookbook Award in the Food Reference/Technical category. Gear is an ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this actor
Emeril Lagasse

Favorite Celebrity Chefs

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists