|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Authors » Reviews » Ann Coulter » User review

Ann Coulter

An American social and political commentator, author, and syndicated columnist.

< read all 4 reviews

A divisive and self-promoting figure.

  • Jan 16, 2010
Rating:
-4

It is certainly a banner day when Lunch.com reviewer @QUEENBFLIX and I can agree about anything regarding politics.  That is why it is particularly ironic that we wholeheartedly agree about one of the most divisive figures on the political scene today.....conservative political commentator Ann Coulter.  I had to chuckle when I saw Ann Coulter's name listed right near the top of QUEENBFLIX's recent list of "People Who Really Annoy Me".  The fact of the matter is that if I were to prepare such a list Ann Coulter would rank right near the top of mine as well.

I am often quite critical of a number Democrats and liberals who I find to be smug and arrogant.  Those who would rank at the top of my list would be MSNBC political commentator Keith Olberman and Senator Chuck Shumer (D-NY).  Is there is anyone out there is who more smug and arrogant than Chuck Shumer?   But I always try to call them as I see them and I must tell tell you that Ann Coulter is one person who makes me cringe each and every time that I see her.  I believe that she does our side much more harm than good.  I find her approach to be vicious and very condescending.  Here are just a few examples of what I am talking about:

"If we took away women's right to vote, we'd never have to worry about another Democrat president. It's kind of a pipe dream, it's a personal fantasy of mine, but I don't think it's going to happen. And it is a good way of making the point that women are voting so stupidly, at least single women. It also makes the point, it is kind of embarrassing, the Democratic Party ought to be hanging its head in shame, that it has so much difficulty getting men to vote for it. I mean, you do see it's the party of women and 'We'll pay for health care and tuition and day care -- and here, what else can we give you, soccer moms?'"

"Whether they are defending the Soviet Union or bleating for Saddam Hussein, liberals are always against America. They are either traitors or idiots."

"The swing voters -- I like to refer to them as the idiot voters because they don't have set philosophical principles. You're either a liberal or you're a conservative if you have an IQ above a toaster."

I rest my case.  People like Ann Coulter and Chuck Shumer are the reason why civil discourse has all but evaporated in this country.  And I am just not sure how we can fix it.  The cable news networks have decided that such inane political banter gets ratings.  My best advice would be that when you see these types of people on TV just ignore them or change the channel.  This sort of in-your-face debating should be rejected by people of good will on both sides of the political spectrum.  Ann Coulter is one conservative I simply cannot defend.  Perhaps she just likes to hear herself talk.  It is my sincerest desire that as Lunch.com evolves over the coming year several of us from different sides of the political spectrum can create a community where important national issues can be discussed intelligently and respectfully.    Let's leave all of that useless animosity on cable television.

A divisive and self-promoting blowhard! A divisive and self-promoting blowhard! A divisive and self-promoting blowhard! A divisive and self-promoting blowhard!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
January 29, 2010
Agree with you totally. Ann does for furthering the Conservative cause as much as Nancy Pelosi (how does she continue to get elected?) or Chris Matthews do for the liberal cause. All of them are annoying (as well as several others) and I wish they would all go away.
January 29, 2010
Well stated!
 
January 22, 2010
It HAS been abnormally cold recently but I wasn't aware that hell had indeed frozen over until I read this. Yes, we do in fact agree on something of a quasi-political nature. (I would never qualify anything she says as truly political...it's just the ranting of an arrogant, self-absorbed, upper class bitch with delusions of importance who's talking to feed her own ego.)
 
January 21, 2010
So true. TV has given people like Coulter a platform, enabling complex issues to be boiled down to simplistic taglines to yell at each other. I'm not sure if I hate her or Bill O'Reilly more... let's hope they never get a show together.
January 22, 2010
Glenn Beck.
 
January 21, 2010
great review! agreed = ) thx paul.
 
January 21, 2010
I'm glad to see that you and @QUEENBFLIX were able to find some common ground in regards to politics, even if it's over Ann Coulter.  People who can let things like that slip out of their mouths are always a mystery to me.  I've never heard these particular quotes before, but I'm appalled by them.  Thanks for sharing your perspective on her in such a thoughtful and respective way.  I've read several other political blogs that share the same view of Ann Coulter as you do, and your review has got to be the most respectful and tasteful out of all the articles that I've read.

It looks like this intelligent and respectful discussion of politics and national issues has already begun on Lunch :)
 
1
More Ann Coulter reviews
Quick Tip by . May 25, 2012
Caption
I cannot stand this woman. She's offensive, abrasive, rude, disrespectful, and so full of garbage (and herself). Watching her and the way see acts really puts me off. Who in their right mind would hire this woman.       I do not mind someone who is outspoken, I believe in democracy, everyone has that right. But the way you do it is important. Just because you can say anything dosen't mean you can say anything.      "I'm a Christian …
Quick Tip by . March 27, 2010
Living proof of the sayings, "Beauty is only skin deep" but "Ugly goes right to the bone"! What a sad clown!
Quick Tip by . February 15, 2010
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Caption
She's everything that's wrong with, well, everything.
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Ann Hart Coulter (born December 8, 1961) is an American social and political commentator, author, and syndicated columnist. She frequently appears on television, radio, and as a speaker at public and private events. Well-known for her conservative political opinions and the controversial ways in which she defends them, Coulter has described herself as a polemicist who likes to "stir up the pot" and, unlike "broadcasters," does not "pretend to be impartial or balanced."

Coulter was born December 8, 1961 in New York City. She and her two older brothers were raised in New Canaan, Connecticut. Coulter has described her family as "upper middle class" and her attorney father a "union buster."

Coulter graduated with honors from Cornell University in 1984 and received her law degree at University of Michigan Law School, where she was an editor of The Michigan Law Review.

Coulter served as a law clerk in Kansas City for Pasco Bowman II of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. After briefly working in private practice in New York City, Coulter went to work for the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee in 1995, handling crime and immigration issues for Sen. Spencer Abraham of Michigan.

Coulter first stepped into the public eye when she was hired in 1996 by MSNBC as a legal correspondent. The channel dismissed her twice, first in February 1997 after she insulted the late Pamela Harriman, the U.S. Ambassador to France, as it was ...

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists