|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Bobby Flay » User review

Celebrity chef and TV personality

< read all 4 reviews

The "Tonedown" With Bobby Flay

  • Apr 14, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
Initially, I was far from being a fan of Bobby Flay. In the early days of Food Network, before he was their lingering trophy head, Flay was best known for his terrible stunt on the original Iron Chef. He offended the entire stadium by jumping up onto his cutting board with his shoes on at the end of the battle, a huge sign of disrespect in Japan. He dumped his hometown girlfriend and started dating a blond actress (who he eventually married). He seemed like a truly obnoxious narcissist who could probably make good BBQ. I didn't bother to watch his shows.

Since then, he has really turned around. He's completely reinvented himself in the public sphere, mostly with help from new roles in shows like "Throwdown." In "Throwdown," Flay battles small town folks who are supposedly the best at what they do. He'll head south to battle the BBQ king on his own turf, or head to downtown NYC to battle the family that makes the best blueberry pancakes. The thing that's great about this show is that Flay loses almost every time. The show is about showcasing the skills and talents of regular people, whos careers get a boost when they beat Flay at his own game.

He seems to be a gracious and generous loser, and this is exactly what I wanted to see from him! The show is a pleasure to watch, as is he, after a rocky start with an overblown ego. I'd like to see more TV personalities with big britches and bigger heads follow in Flay's footsteps and tone it down!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
February 22, 2010
Though I disagree with his actions in Japan I can still understand why it happened. Remember he is moderately educated outside of culinary school and fought his way to the top through good old fashion hard work. From what I can see he is a stand up guy for sure.
 
June 15, 2009
Ha! Great take on Bobby Flay, his appeal to me is pretty lukewarm, and never gets me anywhere with inspiration or entertainment. At least he doesn't have a huge mouth that could possibly eat me alive as @jbeswick claims Rachael Ray does. =)
 
1
More Bobby Flay reviews
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Ultimate chef and love to watch Throwdown with him.
Quick Tip by . June 27, 2010
Bobby Flay is fun to watch! His throw downs are always entertaining and I like that he keeps trying to re-invent recipes and dishes with a unique twist.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I have no words. Just wow.
About the reviewer
Erin ()
Ranked #206
I really dig this website!
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EeezOfSteeez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Robert William Flay (December 10, 1964[1] in New York City) is an American celebrity chef, restaurateur, and television personality. He is the owner and executive chef of six restaurants: Mesa Grill and Bar Americain in New York City; Mesa Grill in Las Vegas; Mesa Grill in The Bahamas (Atlantis Paradise Island, Nassau); Bobby Flay Steak in Atlantic City, New Jersey; and Bobby's Burger Palace in Lake Grove, New York & in Eatontown, New Jersery.

Flay has hosted seven Food Network television programs and appeared regularly on an eighth. He has also appeared as a guest on other Food Network shows and hosted a number of specials on the network.

Personal life

Bobby Flay was born December 10, 1964 to Bill and Dorothy Flay in New York City,[1] where he was raised and continues to live.[2] He is a fourth generation Irish American.[3] He married Debra Ponzek, another well known New York City chef, on May 11, 1991.[4] Flay and Ponzak divorced in 1993. He later married Kate Connelly on October 1, 1995, who subsequently divorced him. Mariska Hargitay set up Flay on a blind date with actress Stephanie March, her co-star on Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, in March 2001.[1] The two began dating, and Flay proposed on December 19, 2003 while ice skating at Rockefeller Center.[1] They were married February 20, 2005,[5] exactly four years after their first date at Nobu restaurant.

As The New York Times reported, "An early draft of Bar Americain's menu had a beet and ...

view wiki

Details

Polls with this actor
Emeril Lagasse

Favorite Celebrity Chefs

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists