|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Actors » Reviews » Cary Grant » User review

The Ultimate Leading Man

  • May 18, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Cary Grant is one of my favorite actors.  There is no other leading man that exudes as much class & sophistication while making you laugh your butt off.  He had spot on comedic timing & can deliver a dead-pan line like no one else I've seen.  On top of all that, he was incredibly good looking.  

I could never understand why he didn't get more recognition for his acting ability.  I suppose Hollywood would have taken him more seriously if he had done a few more dramas...but I've always believed that comedy is more difficult than drama.  
 
Some of my favorite Cary Grant movies are:
Brining Up Baby (with Katharine Hepburn)
The Philadelphia Story (with Katharine Hepburn & James Stewart)
Father Goose (with Leslie Caron)
My Favorite Wife (with Irene Dunne)
The Bachelor & The Bobby Soxer (with Myrna Loy & Shirley Temple)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
October 18, 2009
My wife and I just love Cary Grant. An amazing talent. They just don't make 'em like him anymore. Thanks for the review!
 
June 01, 2009
Wow...thanks to all you ladies for such an interesting look into who I always thought was one of Hollywood's underappreciated! I didn't know half of this stuff....
 
May 26, 2009
Thanks for the info. about the Muny. I didn't know that......although, my husband said he did. He's such a movie buff! A friend of mine just game me the VHS of An Affair To Remember. Although I've seen it many times, guess I'll watch it again......
 
May 25, 2009
Yes, right before a star is ready to pass on is when an award seems to come through. The award is often referred to as "The Lifetime Achievement Award." I believe Hitchcock received one of those. Just think of all the outstanding films "Hitch" conconcted and not once did he ever receive an Academy. He and his wife, Alma, practically invented film, so to speak! Just a bit of trivia on Cary Grant..... at the time of his death he was doing a one man show across the country called, "A Conversation with Cary Grant." He suffered a cerebral hemorage and I believe passed away in Iowa. He was, however, booked in St. Louis (where I live), as well. I remember when all of that happened.
May 25, 2009
Yes, they did pretty much the same thing when they awarded John Wayne the Oscar for True Grit.   And did you know that Cary Grant  actually played at the Muny in St. Louis?  It was early in his career, before he started in movies.
May 25, 2009
Yes, they did pretty much the same thing when they awarded John Wayne the Oscar for True Grit.   And did you know that Cary Grant  actually played at the Muny in St. Louis?  It was early in his career, before he started in movies.
 
May 25, 2009
Hi.....thanks for your comment on that. Yes, that does sound like more of an "apology" award that something legtimate. Hollywood is known for giving such awards as an after-thought. He continues to reign in my eyes as one fine actor, and as one of the most handsome men I've ever seen.
 
May 25, 2009
Cary Grant, as you say, could be outrageously funny with his dead on comedic timing. My Favorite Wife is an all-time favorite as is Bringing Up Baby. Why he never won an Academy Award I'll never know....was he ever nominated?? I know the Voting Academy doesn't take comedy all that seriously, but in his case, they missed out. It's ironic that Tom Hanks has won 3 or 4 Academy awards, and he doesn't have near the looks or the acting abilitiy of Cary Grant. Hollywood is SO political!
May 25, 2009
He was nominated for his work in Penny Serenade & None but the Lonely Heart. He received an Oscar in 1970 (4 years after his last movie) for "his unique mastery of the art of screen acting," which was more or less an apology from the Academy for overlooking him in the past.
May 25, 2009
One of those "Lifetime Achievement " things which is the Academy's way of saying, Boy did we screw up, we'd better give him something before he dies.
 
May 25, 2009
I remember HOUSEBOAT as being sort of a transitional Grant film for me. I was still young enough that I wished he were my father and old enough that I was starting to drool, so it was a bit odd. My favorites would include CHARADE which was probably the best Hitchcock film that Hitchcock never made, and of course the Mae West film SHE DONE HIM WRONG and I'M NO ANGEL and ARSENIC AND OLD LACE.
May 25, 2009
I think I went through a brief period, as a little girl, where I imagined that Cary Grant & John Wayne were my grandfathers or guardian angels or something (I guess that's what happens when you're an only child & have to entertain yourself)...anyway, I don't think I've seen a Cary Grant film that I didn't like.
May 25, 2009
I can't think of one either. Nor can I think of any modern actor who can completely fill his shoes although you can argue a case for George Clooney and possibly Pierce Brosnan.
May 25, 2009
Yes, George Clooney does come close. He even almost looks like Cary Grant. If you could combine George Clooney & Pierce Brosnan into one actor, we might just have it.
May 25, 2009
Yes, George Clooney does come close. He even almost looks like Cary Grant. If you could combine George Clooney & Pierce Brosnan into one actor, we might just have it.
May 25, 2009
That's an interesting prospect, and I think that's what it would take to achievew Grathood. lol Did you happen to see Clooney in INTOLERABLE CRUELTY? I kept thinking that if Grant were alive and available this would have been the type of filn he would have been doing.
May 25, 2009
No, I didn't see that one. That's with Catherine Zeta Jones, right?
May 25, 2009
Yeah it is, It was a Coen brothers movie too so things get s littleweird too but I think that Cary would have appreicated that since he was very into those screwball comedies he started out in.
 
1
More Cary Grant reviews
Quick Tip by . August 14, 2010
Yeah he is!!! Besides being suave, I love his sense of comedic timing in movies like Arsenic and Old Lace and Bringing Up Baby.
About the reviewer
Jamie ()
Ranked #179
Hello Everyone,    I live in Missouri, which is almost exactly in the middle of the United States. Many people refer to it as "Misery" but I think it's a great place to live. I live … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
peekablue
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

The actor that we know as Cary Grant was born Archibald Alexander Leach on January 18, 1904 in Bristol, England.  He is known for being the epitome of class but he actually came from very humble beginings. 

At the age of 14, he ran away from his life in the England slums to join a comedy troup.  There, he developed his impecible comedic timing & learned the skill of acrobatics (probably why he appears so graceful on-screen).  The group came to the United States & Leach decided to stay on & try his hand at musical theater on Broadway.  He toured theaters throughout the U.S. & was eventually brought to Hollywood. 

He took a new name to become the screen legend, Cary Grant.  His first big break was the film, She Done Him Wrong (1933), starring Mae West.  It was Grant that she invited to "come up some time and see me."  After a few box office bombs, the comedies Topper & The Awful Truth (both from 1937) made him a star. 

He received Academy Award Nominations for his work in the dramas Penny Serenade (1941) & None but the Lonely Heart (1944).   He appeared in 4 Hitchcock movies & 5 Howard Hawks films.  His final film was Walk Don't Run (1966).  He received an honorary Oscar in 1970 for "his unique mastery of the art of screen acting." 

He was married 5 times: to actress Virginia Cherill (1934-1935), to the Woolworth's heress Barbara Hutton ...
view wiki

Tags

Actors, Comedic Actor, Romantic Lead, Leading Man
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists