|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Dane Cook » User review

Dane Cook

An actor and stand-up comedian

< read all 4 reviews

Flopping around like a fish on stage doesn't make good comedy CD's.

  • Jul 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-4
Everyone at my old job thought this guy was hysterical.  I'd seen his CD's and he's been on TV and I was really interested in listening to him.  I got ahold of his double live CD and it is one of the biggest, most collosus sized turn offs ever.

First of all, almost ALL of his humor is physical with him on stage running around like a maniac.  That doesn't translate onto a CD where you are only hearing and not seeing.  Secondly his jokes take too long to set up, he spends too much of the joke setting up nonsense remarks before getting to a punch line that isn't funny.  Third and his biggest failing, his jokes are the most base observations imaginable.  Take any topic and it's a joke.  "Don't you hate it when you get sand in your shoes?" is a prime example.  By hitting the most bottom line day to day occurances, this guy has made millions.  A concert show of his has him lying on his back and wiggling his fingers around to the shreiking delight of what should be an imagined audience.

My old boss loaned me the double live and told me I have to imagine his body language.  Yeah, makes for a good CD, imagining a comedian's movements.  Better yet, I could get a George Carlin CD where his body language is only secondary and has get this, REAL JOKES and not just talk about "the one guy you know down the street you know and he never says hi you know and he's a jerk!  Don'tcha know that guy?  I hate that guy!"  Yes Dane, we ALL know that guy.  Now say something funny.

I would love to have given this guy a lower score but he has made me laugh on occasion.  Maybe a few minutes out of a better crafted first CD which still captures everything that made the first disc wretched but actually made me laugh at moments.  A few good moments however don't equate to a good CD.

Bill Hicks said a long time ago that we need to rid the world of fevered egos.  Had Bill not died in early 1994, Danes name would be at the top of the list.
Flopping around like a fish on stage doesn't make good comedy CD's.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
April 14, 2012
You nailed it, dude. This guy almost never made me laugh, and my "Dane Cook antidote" is Nick DiPaolo and Louis CK. The former for his politically incorrect, razor-sharp wit and the latter for his brutally honest views on life (especially with his kids).
 
July 10, 2009
This is almost exactly how I feel about Dane Cook. He tells really long "stories" mostly. I can't remember entirely what the joke was, but I was watching him perform (that's an understatement, he was all over the place). He spends a lot of time making weird, annoying sound effects mostly. But what I saw him talking about was some joke where he said "God Bless You," to an Atheist or something. But it took him nearly ten minutes to get to the punchline of the joke, and he spent a lot more time taking asides...WITHIN THE JOKE! So we're listening to a story that's supposed to be a joke... and within the story he tells another story off the beaten path really quick. Did this guy have ADHD as a kid?
July 10, 2009
I'm guessing he drank Jolt Cola for breakfast, lunch and dinner and snorted pure cocaine afterword. He is as hyper as a 2 year old with that boundless energy that 2 year olds have. I forgot to mention calling a joke of his a mile away, when he talks about growing up BREEEEEEEP!! is the noise he makes and then theres a beat while the audience laughs. "Thats the sound of growing up" I said and after the beat it was said word for word.
July 10, 2009
I haven't seen his movies yet.  Waiting is the only one I would probably tolerate since he isn't in it much.
July 10, 2009
You get about the same thing you get from his standup... sort of.  You don't entirely get the flopping around and crazy sound effects.  But then again, I've only seen one of his movies... and that was Good Luck Chuck (actually, I didn't even notice him in "Waiting...") and that wasn't really a good movie in the slightest.  I wouldn't recommend it.  
 
1
More Dane Cook reviews
Quick Tip by . November 12, 2011
This guy is about as funny as getting crabs. His jokes are flat, and he seems to think that if you move around a lot, you're automatically hilarious. If you want modern comedians that are acutally funny, check out Louis CK, Jim Norton, Bill Burr, Jim Gaffigan, Patrice O'Neal, Joe Derosa, and Nick Dipaolo.
Quick Tip by . December 16, 2010
If you are a fan of the best comics to come along in the last fifteen years, you'll probably like Dane Cook. Why? Because he's ripped pretty much all of those comics off and somehow made a career out of it.
review by . July 29, 2009
Dane Cook.  He's one of those comedians that actually has quite a reputation.  He's also a guy you're either going to really love or really hate.  It's not so much his comedy with Dane so much as it is that a lot of the time it's just pretty hard to slug through a joke.  He is definitely unique.  This much we can definitely say.  But he's also a comedian that has brought criticism based on the idea that he's all over the place but there's really not much focus in what …
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #8
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists