|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Actors & Actresses » Reviews » George Carlin » User review

The Most Brilliant Comedian Ever!

  • Nov 25, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

I remember during my middle school years having a friend play a cut from George Carlin's AM & FM where he does the news (long before SNL added it to their show).  I just burst out laughing especially when the weatherman, Al Sleet, announce that tonight's forecast would be "dark" and would "continue mostly dark tonight with a few patches of scattered light by morning."  I was thinking this guy is brilliant.  I rushed out to get that album and my life as well as my way a thinking was molded.  Here was someone who looked at the world and talked about things that everybody already knows but never thought about.

Then he would put an ironic and often hilarious spin on things, which would make you question why you did things.  I have seen several comedians live from Lewis Black to Jim Gaffigan and nobody had the level of insight and the ability to put a hilarious spin on things quite the way George did.  I once saw him live at St. John's University and he seemed like he was a "professor" there who would put an interesting spin on things that were taught at the school.  "Back in World War I they called that shell-shock," and he would all the way through the history of the 20th century and how that particular expression evolved from being obvious to being almost irrelevent.  "I won't worry about dying, I'll just pass away."

George is constantly quoted (like Abbott and Costello doing Who's on First?) for his Baseball/Football comparison.  "In Baseball the idea is to go home and be safe." I was lucky to see him live in New Jersey as he kicked off his last tour.  It is amazing that that concert focused on him making it to 70 and the concept of death.  "I'm sure he is up there looking down at us right now and smiling."

George was amazing at making things sound interesting whether it be his time in Catholic School "You whip a face on Roger and then look back at the board like you're studying the math problem and Roger's in trouble!"

Nobody had the insight to bring up poor English usage that invades our everyday speech, especially with the airline industry.  "What's pre-boarding?  Is that boarding before we board?"

When there was turmoil in politics nobody was more brilliant at putting a proper spin on things as George.  These days with CNN, Foxnews and MSNBC making news a full time event and many time creating the news themselves, George will be missed even more to use his humor to bring sanity to the newsworld. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
24
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
October 06, 2011
As comedians, I liked George Carlin, as well as Henny Youngman and George Burns.
 
March 14, 2011
Strongly disagree. I just never "got" Carlin, myself, or maybe it's more appropriate to say I never "got" all the admiration for him. I certainly thought he was a shrewd thinker, but I just never found him all that funny. I find Jackie Mason funny. Carlin? Not so much.
March 14, 2011
Mason is funny too but more along the lines of a Milton Berle or Henny Youngman. Carlin went places that nobody before had gone with his comedy.
 
December 04, 2009
nice review. Sadly I haven't exactly gotten the chance to listen to him but I have heard of him.
 
November 26, 2009
I was watching the first episode of SNL the other day ... with George Carlin. The format was so different from how it is now ... he did stand-up rather than perform in the sketches. But yes, yes ... the way he takes apart the English language is great.
November 26, 2009
I actually preferred that original SNL format to what it has evolved to
 
November 25, 2009
I haven't listened to any of his recordings for a while -- I forgot what I was missing :)
 
1
More George Carlin reviews
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2011
posted in Awesomeness
The greatest stand-up comic ever, George Carlin was instrumental in shaping a number of my beliefs and putting me onto the little quirks and nuances of the english language. Yeah, he swore a lot, but he had whole routines about how weird language can be sometimes. He was so sharp and observant, he could pass for a great social critic.
review by . December 18, 2008
George Carlin is perhaps the most influential person to have shaped my beliefs on religion, American culture, and psychology.    I first heard a comedy sketch of his back in junior high. I was probably too young to understand most of it then, but throughout high school, I kept listening. I even made several CDs just of his routines and my friends and I would listen to them on our countless road trips. Once, I played several of his routines for an English teacher of mine while …
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
I first got on this blog to discuss my first passion which is books. Since I have gotten on I find that books are only a piece of this blog and I can discuss just about anything that comes to mind. It … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MichaelN
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

George Denis Patrick Carlin was an American actor, comedian, and author. He was best known for his routines on American culture, psychology, religion, taboo subjects, and the English Language. His "Seven Dirty Words" comedy routine played a central role in the Supreme Court's landmark 1978 ruling in FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, which affirmed that the US Federal Government has the authority to regulate and limit indecent material on public airwaves.

Carlin was born May 12, 1937 in New York City where he was raised. After high school, he joined the US Air Force and was stationed in Louisiana. There, he worked at a radio station but was fired for being unproductive. He later moved to California and put together an audition tape and began co-hosting on numerous radio stations.

At Milwaukee's Summerfest in 1972, Carlin performed his "Seven Dirty Words" routine and was arrested thereafter for violating obscenity laws. He was released in December and continued to perform stand up routines. Throughout the 1980s, 90s, and 2000s, he stared in several films, including  Dogma and Scary Movie 3.

On June 22, 2008, Carlin was admitted to a hospital complaining of chest pains. He died later that evening. In accordance with his wishes, his remains were cremated and no public or religious service of any kind was held, although numerous television stations paid tribute to his legacy. His daughter Kelly plans to publish an oral history of her father in ...
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists