|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Johnny Depp » User review

He might just be one of the best actors of this era

  • May 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
When I think "Johnny Depp" the first thing I think of is "21 Jump Street," which isn't really a compliment.  It's what I first saw him in when I was a teenager and I enjoyed the show, but I definitely won't say that it demonstrated how good of an actor he is.

I just saw the  "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory" remake last week, and was amazed at what a great job Johnny Depp did as Willy Wonka (again, not thinking that the movie was the greatest thing in the world either, but I can still justify using it to evaluate Johnny Depp's acting abilities).  Thinking about his roles over the last 15 years ("Sweeny Todd", "Pirates...", "Ed Wood", "Sleepy Hollow", etc) I have to say I think that he is possibly this era's Tom Hanks or Harrison Ford, where you just forget about the actor in the role and know what a fine job the guy did in the performance.  I have to stop and say to myself, "oh yeah, that's Johnny Depp, the same guy who played Captain Jack in the 'Pirates of the Carribean' movies."

Yeah, he's the same guy who claimed years ago that an armadillo trashed his hotel room, but he's been hiding out and laying low in Paris.  So forget the personal celebrity stuff, and think about his acting.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
June 21, 2009
Did you catch him in one of his earlier performances in the first NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET?
June 21, 2009
No!!!! That would just be awesome to see!
June 23, 2009
Go forth and enjoy!
 
May 30, 2009
Johnny Depp is one fine actor and I always look forward to seeing anything that's he's in. By the way, he by far, surpasses Tom Hanks.....Depp has much more of a range.
 
May 30, 2009
Haha, that's the first that I've heard of the armadillo story!  But yes, with his fine acting, Johnny Depp could most possibly be this era's Tom Hanks or Harrison Ford, and it doesn't hurt that he's got some hunky good looks to go with it either.  I absolutely loved him in Edward Scissorhands.
 
1
More Johnny Depp reviews
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2011
Depp is simply brilliant. He is one of the best actors of our time. He can take a quirky role and make it even quirkier and you'll still love the character for it!
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
The quirkiest, most interesting, and most talented actor working today. Plays a ton of unusual roles and disappears into them so completely, you forget what Johnny Depp the person looks like. He probably works his best with director Tim Burton, but you'll rarely find a loser or a half-assed performance among them. He played Don Juan, Edward Scissorhands, Captain Jack Sparrow, Hunter S. Thompson, and many others.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
review by . December 19, 2008
j1
I love Johnny Depp. I know I am not the only one. I was a fan of his long before Pirates of the Carribean came out, and I will continue to be a loyal follower years from now. Not only is he one of the most attractive actors on the scene today, he is himself in all of his movies. He only plays roles that he feels comfortable in, and it shows in his work. That is the way all actors should take their jobs, if it were a perfect world.    For me, it all started with the 1990 movie …
About the reviewer
Carol L ()
Ranked #976
Member Since: May 1, 2009
Last Login: Jul 11, 2009 08:41 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
carlee
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

John Christopher "Johnny" Depp II (born June 9, 1963) is an American actor and musician known for his portrayals of offbeat, eccentric characters such as Raoul Duke in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Ichabod Crane in Sleepy Hollow, and Jack Sparrow in the Pirates of the Caribbean film series.

Depp rose to prominence in a lead role on the television series 21 Jump Street and quickly became regarded as a teen idol. Uncomfortable with this career direction, he turned his focus to film roles. He initially came to film prominence as the titular character of Edward Scissorhands, and later found box office success in roles such as Ichabod Crane in Sleepy Hollow, Jack Sparrow in the Pirates of the Caribbean film series and Willy Wonka in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

He has collaborated with director and close friend Tim Burton in seven films, the most recent of which are Alice in Wonderland and Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007). Depp has garnered acclaim for his portrayals of real life figures such as Edward D. Wood, Jr., in Ed Wood, Joseph D. Pistone in Donnie Brasco and George Jung in Blow (2001). More recently, he portrayed legendary bank robber John Dillinger in Michael Mann's 2009 film Public Enemies.

Films featuring Depp have grossed over $2.6 billion at the United States box office and over $6 billion worldwide. Nominated for the Academy Award for Best Actor three times, Screen Actors Guild Awards four times and Golden Globe Awards ...

view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists