|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Actors & Actresses » Reviews » Kathy Griffin » User review

Oh No!! Not Her!! Not That Kathy Griffin!!!!

  • Jul 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5


Admittedly, everybody knows the drill by now or should be marginally aware of the mass controversy Kathy Griffin sparks. Perhaps you are vaguely familiar with her Emmy Award acceptance speech which which aired 09/15/2007. For those who weren't able to attend or somehow missed out on all the fun, I will give you THE recap. Hang on to your hats folks!

"Now, a lot of people come up here and thank Jesus for this award. I want you to know that no one had less to do with this award than Jesus. He didn't help me a bit. If it was up to him, Cesar Millan would be up here with that damn dog. So all I can say is suck it, Jesus, this award is my god now!"

Before you jump to ridiculous conclusions, let me also add that Griffin later explained that she meant this remark not as a slight on Jesus per se but rather a mere satire of celebrities who thank Jesus profusely for their awards, even though their body of work could very well be construed as controversial. Even so, her remarks were quickly condemned by the Catholic League which urged the academy to "denounce Griffin's obscene and blasphemous comment." Irregardless of what some may say, she didn't become famous simply because of her controversial speech back in 2007. Griffin was well-established in the comedy world long before this took place & probability suggests you have seen her in one or more of the shows on television for which she's known.

Personally, I'd like to thank Jesus & his people for Kathy Griffin. She is, perhaps, one of the funniest ladies in comedy still alive today that has always managed to keep me in stitches. How one can watch her stand-up comedy routines without slapping their knees, kicking their feet, & nearly crying out loud is simply beyond me. Without doubt, this woman is just that funny.

Kathy Griffin actually began performing live in the early 1980s with the Los Angeles troupe The Groundlings while struggling to become a fixture in the acting scene. She went on to perform stand-up comedy (alternative comedy) appearing at Un-Cabaret & her own show "Hot Cup Of Talk", which later became the title of her HBO special.

Gradually, Kathy would pursue small roles or cameo appearances in both movies & televison throughout the 1980s & 1990s. After starring in a HBO Half Hour Comedy Special, Griffin was offered a role in the NBC sitcom Suddenly Susan as a colleague of Brooke Shields. Since then,  
 we would find her in a variety of different roles ranging from the more dramatic ABC divorce-attorney series Civil Wars to a more recent performance in the lighter series Ugly Betty as a fashion channel reporter.

Not only has Kathy made numerous appearances in well-known TV series or threatrical releases, Kathy also has done voiceover work for major projects such as the animated Dilbert &  Spider-Man: The New Animated Series (also known as MTV Spider-Man).

Of all the female comedians in the dog-eat-dog world, Kathy Griffin has managed to carve out a perfect niche for herself which is impressive. I, personally, would find it most flattering if the woman were to make fun of me or any of my characters flaws in the same vein as she's done with other people in the limelight such as Sarah Palin, Lindsay Lohan & of course her BFF Paris Hilton. The stand-up comedy routine to literally shred another well-known celebrity to bits is by no means a new concept but Griffin has perfected the process & perhaps she only gets better with each round. One must feel completely validated if she does incorporate your name in her act as she admits during an interview to being a fan of those she trashes. Though her humor may be wicked, Kathy hopes people understand that no malice is intended by it.

Again, I cannot give the woman enough praise for quick wit & ability to jerk laughter out of her loyal audience/fans. She's a hoot & I've enjoyed her overall work immensely through the years. It's been an interesting road for sure watching Kathy Griffin grow & evolve in her career & I'm dying to see what her future endeavors she has in store for us. We love you Kathy!!  


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b93UXGPh6xE

 
 

Oh No!! Not Her!! Not That Kathy Griffin!!!! Oh No!! Not Her!! Not That Kathy Griffin!!!! Oh No!! Not Her!! Not That Kathy Griffin!!!! Oh No!! Not Her!! Not That Kathy Griffin!!!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
July 26, 2009
And to think of all the shit poor John Lennon got just for observing that The Beatles were more popular than Jesus.
July 28, 2009
I've noticed there are two sacred areas that you never touch irregardless of how badly you want to be in the limelight. Do not ever trash Jesus or The Beatles unless you never wish to eat lunch in Hollywood again. LOL
July 29, 2009
Have you ever heard of The Rutles? They pretty well trashed The Beatles, but I think they were English so I suppose that doesn't count.
July 29, 2009
I've hard the name but can't place their work per se. I guess if you're British you might be able to get away with it perhaps. I will check them out sometime.
July 29, 2009
Eric Idle formed the group for a film for the BBc. I think they made 2 albums and another film. "All you Need is Cash" was one of them.
July 30, 2009
Haha! That sounds cool. I like Eric Idle. It's funny I've never heard their work before though the name is quite familiar. That's classic!!
July 30, 2009
You can still find their stuff on Ammie I think.
July 30, 2009
I thank God for ammie. I hope one day I will be able to get an affordable copy of the "Hearts Of Fire" soundtrack on ammie. This was a fairly unknown film back in the early nineties with Bob Dylan, Rupert Everett, & Fiona Flanagan. Sadly, the CD has been outta print for a long, long time. In fact, I don't even think I can find a videotape of this film anymore. Maybe one day someone will see fit to give us a DVD.
July 30, 2009
You never know. I found a copy of CANNIBAL GIRLS and I never thought that went to dvd. Dylan certainly would.
July 30, 2009
I would've thought with the cast & the director being as famous as they are, this would almost be guaranteed to have atleast a bare bones DVD release one day. Fingers crossed. CANNIBAL GIRLS?? lol
July 30, 2009
Canadian horror/comedy from the very early 70s maybe late 60s. Starred Eugene Levy and one of the girls from SCTV, can't recall right now. The dvd got away from me before I could buy it.
 
July 10, 2009
Hello, fellow Kathy Griffin fan!  I loved her show on Bravo.  Her parents were so cute on it!  And I remember all the controversy surrounding her Emmy Award acceptance speech.  She's a comedian though, and she was just poking fun!  I love how you proclaimed your love for Kathy Griffin so unabashedly :)

By the way, if you want to embed that YouTube video into your review, all you have to do is copy the Embed Code from the YouTube page, click on the fourth button from the right on the review editor bar, and paste the code into there.  It's further explained in this FAQs page! ;)
July 10, 2009
Thnx a mil Devora! I loved the Bravo show myself & watch the episodes often on youtube. I can understand the controversy behind some of her material but I agree with you wholeheartedly. As a comedian, this surely will come with the territory & perhaps everyone should just lighten up a bit & laugh a little. Heh. Laughing creates endorphins & makes us all happier people for the most part. Thank you for that suggestion too. I had seen where other people had used youtube videos in their reviews which I think is extremely helpful to their intended audiences or readers but wasn't sure how that worked. Much appreciated!!!
July 10, 2009
No prob!  By the way, I LOVED that video and how she addressed the whole Emmy Award acceptance speech incident!
July 10, 2009
It's definitely a good one. I'm delighted you liked it. It certainly made me laugh out loud. Thank you again for your kind words & vote of confidence.
 
1
More Kathy Griffin reviews
Quick Tip by . January 11, 2011
She's made a career out of insulting others and claiming to be on the "D" list when, in actuality, she's just an average comic at best.
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #28
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Kathleen Mary "Kathy" Griffin (born November 4, 1960) is an American actress, stand-up comedian and media personality. A self-proclaimed "D-list celebrity", Griffin first gained recognition for her supporting role on the NBC sitcom Suddenly Susan, and is now the star of the Bravo reality show Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List. She has also worked as a voice artist and red carpet commentator, in addition to several other career pursuits.
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists