|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Actors & Actresses » Reviews » Megan Fox » User review

I Don't Know If She Can Act or Not So Umm... What Can I Say? She's Hot, I Guess...

  • Jul 28, 2009
Rating:
+1
Ah, Megan Fox.  Most of us know Megan Fox because of those Transformer movies.  And while Megan Fox is certainly pretty, I have a confession to make... I'm not swayed by beauty and looks.  Especially when it comes to Hollywood.  Unfortunately there are a lot of women in Hollywood who don't exactly get recognized for their brilliant acting.  We can all name dozens of beautiful actresses in Hollywood, but the ones who can act?  We can't name nearly as many.  Partially because after a while Hollywood isn't interested in women when they get old.  Helen Mirren is a rare commodity in Hollywood.  

Megan Fox falls into that category, unfortunately.  Is she talented?  Well, right now it's hard to say.  She made her debut in a Mary Kate and Ashley Olson movie.  Which... isn't exactly going to get you a lot of props.  And being famous for being in a Michael Bay film doesn't say anything about your talents as an actress.  Michael Bay directs a lot of action movies, but it's not as though Michael Bay really brought out her talents... or anyone's in those movies.  And the best shots that Michael Bay seemed interested in getting on Megan Fox was her cleavage. According to the IMDB she's been in quite a bit.  But one thing is for sure, a lot of what she's been in isn't really about her talent as an actress but rather her looks.

This is great for young men and teenage boys, I guess.  But as I said... I'm not really one of those kinds of people.  Let me tell you a story.  A couple of friends and I went to go see Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen.  As we walked out, my friends couldn't stop obsessing over how hot Megan Fox was.  Then they turn to me.  "What do you think, Seany?" (I hate it when people call me Seany--but they're not half as bad as the people who seem to think my name is "Seen").  I told them I thought she was okay looking.  Then, in my grand standing nerdish way I added on, "Actresses like Megan Fox are sexier when they've got talent."  It wasn't supposed to be a crude or rude joke, but they took it as that.  "Who cares if she's talented!  She's one hot chick!"  

To answer the question of my friends... I care if she's talented.  I'm not really persuaded by a woman's ASSets on film, if you know what I mean.  Sorry to say, but I was probably one of the only college aged boys watching Transformers and didn't get a boner whenever Megan Fox was on screen.  That doesn't make me better or worse, mind you.  It just simply means I'm looking for something different when watching a movie.  There's really nothing wrong with enjoying an actor or actress because of looks.  And let's stop pretending this sort of thing only happens to women... it happens to men to.  Johnny Depp, George Clooney, Matt Damon and (of course) Brad Pitt are actors who people also enjoy because they're good looking.  I'm only saying that I happen to be someone who thinks talent is sexy (Disclaimer: I AM a nerd, folks).  If you're an actress I think having a sexy body is only a small fraction of your sexiness.  If I have what is referred to as a "celebrity crush" it is often because I think the celebrity in question is talented.

But what about Megan Fox?  Is she doomed to be one of those actresses that is casted in action movies as something for all the men to oogle act?  Or will someone come to recognize her skills as an actress?  I'm not sure yet.  Transformers isn't exactly a good reference when talking about Megan Fox's talents as an actress or her potential.  Most of the cast in Transformers doesn't have their talent realized.  Megan Fox in particular, however, seems to owe just about all her fame to her body.  Is she an actress or a model?

Jennifer's Body was a pretty funny movie and that also had Megan Fox.  On the other hand, like Transformers, you probably won't walk out of Jennifer's Body saying, "Good golly gee, those performances were awesome!"  Heaven's no.  Jennifer's Body almost seems like the kind of movie that was made for the sake of poking fun at how all the boys seem to like Megan Fox.  She doesn't do a bad job in Jennifer's Body, though.  Far from it, but it'll be a while before we all start looking beyond how beautiful Megan Fox is and paying attention to how good of an actress she is.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
October 05, 2009
Have you read the recent Rolling Stone interview with her? She comes off as being really mentally unstable... and still sexy. However, I kind of like the idea of her playing Sara Pezzini in the upcoming "Witchblade" movie.
October 05, 2009
Oh wow that whole "Featured Review" thing really worked out. 

I look at Megan Fox and I think... wow she's pretty but then she opens her mouth and says something stupid...
October 05, 2009
What featured review thing? I just happened to stumble across the data point while scouring the site.
October 05, 2009
Whoa that's odd.  There's this feature to select five reviews to be featured on your profile page.  So I went through my profile and decided I rather liked my Megan Fox review so I put it there.  If you look under the actions tab on your reviews one of them says "Feature Review."
October 05, 2009
I didn't know about that. I thought that only the most recent reviews were shown on the profile page. How does it work because I might want to try it?
October 05, 2009
Just go into your profile and sift through your reviews.  If you see one you like, there's an Actions Tab (similar to what you see under profile names under comments) then hover the mouse over it and scroll down to "Feature Review"  You pick up to five.  If you pick less than five like say you pick three, then the remaining slots show your most recent review.  I was just messing around trying to edit something and stumbled upon it.
October 05, 2009
Oh, and if you ever want to unfeature any review you basically go through the same steps on one of your already featured reviews.  The only difference is that it changes from "Feature Review" to "Unfeature Review".
October 05, 2009
That's so cool. I can display what I feel are some of my best reviews while maintaining the order that they were posted in. Hooray for Lunch.com's innovations!
October 05, 2009
Yeah, I love it!  Now I can put my better reviews up front... or at least the ones I'd like more people to see.
 
July 31, 2009
Hi Sean.....thanks for your intelligent comments on Megan Fox. She is hot right now....she really out there, but I'm with you, what are her other abilities?? I lived in Hollywood, so I know how "they" can and do treat young beauties like Megan. Unfortunately, she may never be given the chance to show what she can do. A lot of people (inlcluding women) like looking at great beauties on screen. After all, it is a visual medium. I'm one who admires beauty as well, but if they can't act, it's all over for me. And yes, most DEFINITELY acting ability only adds to the star's overall sex appeal. Sometimes a woman like Megan has to find just the right agent who believes she can be more than arm candy. They're out there but hard to find. I wish Megan a lot of luck in tinseltown!
August 01, 2009
You know, when I posted this review I expected people to give me a lot of flack.  I never would've dreamed people would've agreed in this manner.  I guess this goes to show that people are the worst judges of their own work.
 
July 31, 2009
There are some rumors that Megan Fox will be starring in a new grittier Witchblade film. I think she has the look, but I feel she may not have the acting skills to pull it off. Great write up.
July 31, 2009
If truth be told... even if Megan Fox was a great actress, I might still be nervous.  When an anime is adapted into a live-action film the results usually aren't all that good...  I'm sure she'll look good, but as you said... her acting skills.  They're still something to be desired, I think.
 
July 28, 2009
Bleh. Megan Fox is the newest in a long line of hot girls with little acting. After I read that she would let Megatron destroy the Midwest and all it's racist homophobic beer swilling morons. I said I am done with Megan Fox. Making a statement like that doesn't elevate you above everyone else, it just lumps her in the same catagory of people she is trying to decry. It's like sticking someone in the back with a knife so you can stand where that person was. Get any girl in cut offs and belly shirts with a tan, spray her with water to give her that sweaty persperation look and shoot her at the right angles and any young actress could be the next Megan Fox. Hopefully one that doesn't say stupid things.
July 28, 2009
Whoa!  Where did she say that?
July 28, 2009
http://www.laineygossip.com/Megan_Fox_wants_...ca.aspx?CatID=0&CelID=0 here is one place I could find it.. Maybe not exactly what I had her saying but words to that effect. A little stardom goes to some peoples heads and they think soapboxes grow out from under them, and worse yet they don't care if they alienate their fanbase. I'm from the midwest and paid to see those Transformers movies and she would still want to see me destroyed? BTW, good stand on stating that looking good isn't good enough.
July 28, 2009
Your quote was close enough!  What I find very ironic is that the answer she gave was hardly an answer to the question she was asked.  I wasn't much for Megan Fox to begin with (what exactly did she do in Transformers besides look pretty again?).  I often separate the personal life and statements from career, but seeing as how I don't have much career to go off of with Megan Fox....
 
1
More Megan Fox reviews
review by . July 11, 2011
posted in That's Beat
Back to the assembly line Botoxic Avenger, we need a model that keeps her stupid mouth shut.
Shes been compared to Angelina Jolie and thats a mistake.  Angelina has some talent in acting.      Shes as vapid as the next Hollywood bombshell like Jessica Alba, except Jessica has some genuine beauty to her.      She had sporadic acting work before being given a breakout role in Hollywood in Transformers and after starting to get steady work, including the sequel to Transformers she compared Michael Bay to Hitler and got drummed out of the series.  …
Quick Tip by . January 11, 2011
She has a very "plastic" quality to her performances. She comes across as tough to work with as well.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Who?
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
She is bat s. crazy if you've ever seen her open her mouth and talk in interviews, but definitely easy on the eyes. She's the only thing that made those horrible Transformers movies worth watching.
Quick Tip by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I have yet to be impressed by Megan Fox as an actress. She may be beautiful but there is so much more to acting then looks alone.
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I am sure we will see her around in more movies to come!
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Seriously? She's an actor? Pretty, for sure...but actor? Come on!
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
She is overrated a lot. She is pretty yes but not that great an actress.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Beautiful woman who needs to work on what is inside a little more.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Another in the long line of empty headed bim actresses in Hollywood who sticks they're foot in their mouth and have little acting ability and even worse, bite the hand that feeds them. When she made her comment about the Midwest and killing the dumb, racist wifebeaters, I lost any and all respect for her and will never look back.
About the reviewer
Sean A. Rhodes ()
Ranked #6
I'm a more analytical person. I believe that the purpose of the review is not for me to give you my opinion but for me to give you an analysis and help you decide if you want to get it. If you reading … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sean_Rhodes
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Megan Fox is an American actress born on May 16th 1986 in Oak Ridge, Tennessee.  Fox is best known for her role as Mikaela in Transformers and its sequel Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen.
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists