|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Natalie Portman

An Israeli-American actress born in Jerusalem.

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by kfontenot

  • Jan 11, 2011
  • by
Portman was brilliant in "The Professional." Unfortunately she's given wooden performances ever since. Perhaps "Black Swan" will change my mind.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
July 19, 2011
Me love Natalie... but nice opinionated QT :)
 
January 11, 2011
I think that's an unfair statement. I don't know which Portman films you've seen, but most of her performances have been quite realistic and emotionally grounded. Certainly the "Star Wars" prequels and "The Other Boleyn Girl" weren't high marks in her career, but if you look at those films none of the actors in them give strong performances and much of this has to do with the poor scripts and lazy direction.
January 11, 2011
I've seen her in Beautiful Girls, Cold Mountain, Garden State, Where The Heart Is, V For Vendetta, Mars Attacks!, The Professional and all of the Star Wars prequels.  She's just not a very convincing actress in my opinion.  Of course, it's my opinion, and much like backsides, everyone has one.
January 11, 2011
Really, you did see "Garden State". I thought she was great in that one. Did you see either "Goya's Ghosts" or "Closer"?
January 12, 2011
I haven't seen either of those. I'll have to check them out.
 
1
More Natalie Portman reviews
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Talented and easy on the eyes. Her movie choices leave something to be desired, but they cover a wide area: From Where the Heart is, The Other Boleyn Girl, V for Vendetta, Heat, and her Oscar winning performance in Black Swan, she's been in many different kinds of movies.
About the reviewer
Kendall Fontenot ()
Ranked #16
Despite looking extremely cool, I have to admit that I'm a dork. I grew up on the outskirts of the small town of Oberlin, LA. I have since relocated to the Lake Charles, LA area.I love my home state … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kfontenot
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Natalie Hershlag (Hebrew: נטלי הרשלג‎; born 9 June 1981), better known by her stage name Natalie Portman, is an Israeli-American actress. Her first role was as an orphan taken in by a hitman in the 1994 French action film Léon (known in the United States as The Professional). During the 1990s, Portman had major roles in films like Beautiful Girls and Anywhere but Here, before being cast for the role as Padmé Amidala in the Star Wars prequel trilogy. In 1999, she enrolled at Harvard University to study psychology while she was working on the Star Wars films. She completed her bachelor's degree in 2003.
In 2001, Portman opened in New York City's Public Theater production of Anton Chekhov's The Seagull, alongside Meryl Streep, Kevin Kline, and Philip Seymour Hoffman. In 2005, Portman received a nomination for the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress as well as winning the Golden Globe Award for Best Supporting Actress - Motion Picture for the drama Closer. She shaved her head and learned to speak with an English accent for her starring role in V for Vendetta (2006), for which she won a Constellation Award for Best Female Performance, and a Saturn Award for Best Actress. She played leading roles in the historical dramas Goya's Ghosts (2006) and The Other Boleyn Girl (2008). In May 2008, she served as the youngest member of the 61st Annual Cannes Film Festival jury. Portman's directorial debut, Eve, opened the 65th Venice International ...
view wiki
Polls with this actor
Ashlee Simpson

Favorite Role Models

by

Anthony Daniels

Who's Your Favorite Star Wars Actor

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists