|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Oprah Winfrey » User review

Oprah Winfrey

An American media personality, actress, television producer, literary critic and magazine publisher best known for her self-titled talk show.

< read all 2 reviews

A true legend.

  • Dec 23, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Oprah Winfrey is perhaps the best know talk show host, philanthropist, and activist the United States has seen in modern times. I love how she does her research, and if she feels it truly affects her viewers, not just her, she'll do a whole episode on it to inform us about the benefits or dangers of a certain product or aspect of our lives.

Oprah is genuinely a good person. I know MAD TV loves to make fun of her all the time, and I always laugh, but even when the cameras are off everyone says she is a great person to be around.

I can't think of a person who's had more influence over modern society than Oprah. When she does a show on something, it matters. Remember the whole beef/cattle industry uproar when she exposed inhumane and unsanitary practices? Sales plummeted so much that the industry went after Oprah! That just shows how much influence she may have in any and every topic.

I wish Oprah would do an episode on disposable diapers, and how much room they take up in America's landfills. I'm sure we can develop a washable, reusable type, or a biodegradable type that won't clog our dumps. I know it's random, but that's what matters to me!

In any case, Oprah certainly knows which side to be on. From the beginning she backed Obama, who was viewed by many old-school Democrats as hopeless and too liberal. Well, look what happened. She clearly saw something in him and knew he'd have a pretty good shot at the presidency.

I can't wait to watch Oprah in the coming years and see what topics she'll cover next! She is definitely a positive influence on our society, and who knows, maybe one day she'll even run for office?   

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
April 10, 2009
And she got a lot of people to read books--she gets my vote for that! :)
 
March 15, 2009
Absolutely love Oprah! Her reach is ridiculous!
 
February 05, 2009
Glad to see that some countries haven't discovered the "joys" of disposability, yet...
 
February 01, 2009
I'm glad to see someone else has given thought to disposeable diapers. What a waste they are! And they certainly make a mess out of a lot of public restrooms too. Some people will just dump the whole thing (Diaper and all!)into the toilet, or the trashbasket without taking any care at all to seal it up. Disgusting.
 
1
More Oprah Winfrey reviews
Quick Tip by . January 07, 2012
posted in Inspirations
I can't say I'm a fan. I respect that she was able to rise up from a childhood no one should ever have to endure, and she's a longtime champion of literacy and a cunning businesswoman. But during the last decade, she's been caught getting swept up in too many bad trends, and she's taken a life as a ubiquitous pseudo-spiritual guru which she appears to be taking a bit too seriously.
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #108
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Oprah Gail Winfrey was born January 29, 1954, in Kosciusko, Mississippi. After a troubled adolescence in a small farming community, where she was sexually abused by a number of male relatives and friends of her mother, Vernita, she moved to Nashville< to live with her father, Vernon, a barber and businessman. She entered Tennessee State University in 1971 and began working in radio and television broadcasting in Nashville.

In 1976, Winfrey moved to Baltimore, where she hosted the TV chat show, People Are Talking. The show became a hit and Winfrey stayed with it for eight years, after which she was recruited by a Chicago TV station to host her own morning show, A.M. Chicago. Her major competitor in the time slot was Phil Donahue. Within several months, Winfrey's open, warm-hearted personal style had won her 100,000 more viewers than Donahue and had taken her show from last place to first in the ratings. Her success led to nationwide fame and a role in Steven Spielberg's 1985 film, The Color Purple, for which she was nominated for an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress.

Winfrey launched the Oprah Winfrey Show in 1986 as a nationally syndicated program. With its placement on 120 channels and an audience of 10 million people, the show grossed $125 million by the end of its first year, of which Winfrey received $30 million. She soon gained ownership of the program from ABC, drawing it under the control of her new production company, Harpo Productions ('Oprah' spelled ...

view wiki

Details

Nationality: American
Birth Date: January 29, 1954, Jan 29, 1954 12:00 A
Height: 66 inches

Polls with this actor
Beyoncé

Favorite Divas

by

Barbara Walters

Talk Show Hosts

by

First to Review

"A true legend."
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists