|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Paula Abdul » User review

Paula Abdul

A celebrity from San Fernando California USA

< read all 4 reviews

Straight Up Now Tell Me What You Don't Like About Paula Abdul.

  • Dec 18, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
She danced with an animated cat, and had to deal with cold-hearted snakes, for crying out loud!  And we can't show a Laker cheerleader some love?  Simon is the real "judge" of American Idol, but Paula is the real "entertainment" on the show.  Randy can be replaced, and so can Ryan Seacrest, unless he decides to come out of the closet.  I wanna bank on Abdul to entertain me with her foibles for many years to come.

She also co-starred with Keanue Reeves in her video for "Rush Rush."  Doesn't that count for something?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
7
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
April 14, 2009
Touchdown!!!!!
 
April 02, 2009
I agree, Paula is quite entertaining, while Simon is the one true judge. He really knows his stuff and is always looking for the commercial appeal. Kara has added some thoughtful narrative as of late. Paula's certainly had her shares of ups and downs, both personally and professionally, and acts a little whacked out at times, but true, she makes the show worth watching. What don't like about her is that I think she's insincere at times. About Ryan.....I thought he was a pretty decent facilitator, but recently has been a little obnoxious......the producers probably tell him to act that way, as all of these programs drag on at times.
 
1
More Paula Abdul reviews
Quick Tip by . August 17, 2011
The +4 rating is for her music. I used to love that stuff back in the late 80's/early 90's.
review by . April 01, 2008
She's aged badly and she seems to be less sobre than she is a woman.  But it is interesting to listen to a drunk comment on someone's singing performance.
review by . April 02, 2008
I was going to rate Paula Abdul a 0.5 because of her status as an obnoxious judge on American Idol, but then I noticed that she's 46.  Wow, she must be keeping to a really good regimen because she looks at least a decade younger.  So... I've decided to give her a 5 instead of an 0.5.
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #296
Member Since: Dec 14, 2008
Last Login: Apr 30, 2009 02:01 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
The_New_Aesthetic
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Born: June 19, 1962 in San Fernando, CA
Years Active: 80 's, 90 's, 00's
Genre: ROCK

In the wake of Madonna's success, many dance-pop divas filled the charts, but out of them all, Paula Abdul was the only one who sustained a career. The former L.A. Lakers cheerleader and choreographer began to make inroads in pop music when she was hired as an assistant dance director on the Jacksons' Victory tour, which led to a job choreographing Janet Jackson's videos for Control. Abdul's work on Jackson's videos helped make the album a hit, making her a sought-after choreographer. After working on The Tracy Ullman Show and videos for ZZ Top, Duran Duran, and the Pointer Sisters, Abdul began a recording career, releasing her debut album, Forever Your Girl, in 1988. The first two singles drawn from the record were moderate hits, but the release of "Straight Up" at the end of the year made her a superstar. Staying at the top of the charts for three weeks, "Straight Up" began a string of six number one singles (with "The Way That You Love Me" recharting at number three in 1989) that ran through the summer of 1991.

Abdul's singles were hits not because her singing was exceptional -- her voice is thin and transparent -- but because she worked with savvy producers who had a knack for picking songs with solid pop and dance hooks. Abdul's spectacular big-budget videos helped push the sales of Forever Your Girl past seven ...
view wiki

Details

Filmography: Bratz
Nationality: American
Birth Date: Jun 19, 1962 12:00 A, June 19, 1962
Height: 62 inches

Polls with this actor
American Idol Season 8 Host Kara Dioguardi

American Idol Judges

by

Antonella Barba

American Idol

by

First to Review

"wasted and past her prime"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists