|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Actors & Actresses » Reviews » Soupy Sales » User review

Soupy Sales

A Jewish American comedian, actor, and radio-TV personality and host (January 8, 1926 – October 22, 2009) .

< read all 4 reviews

Soupy Sales has died at the age of 83

  • Oct 23, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Those of you younger folks will probably not remember Soupy Sales, but us old farts will.  He was a very funny man with an elastic face and a weird voice.  He had a kids' show that was sometimes raunchy enough for adults.  His main schtick was the pie in the fact, and he got many other celebrities, including Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr and Shirley McClaine among many others.  He also introduced us to a puppet named White Fang, who, I am convinced, later went on to become Scooby Doo. 

Soupy, those of us who remember your silliness fondly will miss you greatly.  RIP funny man!!!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
10
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
October 25, 2009
I don't consider myself a young buck, nor an old fart, maybe a funny farting guy, nonetheless I liked Soupy Sales, just the other day I was talking about him and his joke: What starts with F and finishes with U C K? Firetruck!, and how he was way ahead of his time. Know that there are some who still remember and pay respects to Sir Soupy Sales. :)
 
October 23, 2009
Soupy sure was a staple on TV in the '60's. He'll be missed.
October 23, 2009
Amen to that. I loved his stuff, even when it was black and white. A good comedian
 
October 23, 2009
Damn. I always hoped Soupy would be immortal. I remember White Fang and Black Tooth, but I can't remember the name of the Hippo. I've got this movie called AND GOD SPOKE. it's a mocumentary about some guys who are making a Biblicl epic but it's low budget. Soupy is playing Moses. They have to cut down to 1 Tablet when he comes down from Mt Sanai for budgetary reasons, and then they have him carrying a 6 pack of Pepsi because they have to resort to product placement! I have a really nice Soupy doll that I bought a few years ago at an antique and collectibles show back home. I also bought an even nicer small one for a hundre bucks but it fell out of the bottom of my bag and no one turned it in.
October 23, 2009
Like you, I loved watching Soupy. He was always entertaining, even when his skits were too obvious to be really funny. You could also tell that he was having fun. It was Hippy the Hippo, BTW. I still think White Fang went on to be Scooby Doo.
October 23, 2009
Well that was pretty obvious! How could I have forgotten that? You may well be right about White Fang. But wasn't White Fang the bad one and Black Tooth the good one?
October 23, 2009
Yes, but White Fang was the one who sounded just like Scooby.
October 23, 2009
Yeah, that's true.
 
1
More Soupy Sales reviews
review by . October 23, 2009
   There was never anyone exactly like Soupy Sales before and there certainly never will be again. I was in the 9th grade when I started watching his Saturday morning "kid's show" which featured puppets White Fang, Black Tooth, and Hippy the Hippo along with innumerable bad puns (such as "Never bite your nails, especially if you're a carpenter") and always, always the pies in the face. We'll miss you, Soupy.  Born: Milton Supman  on January 8, 1926,  Died: …
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
Soupy Sales......what a fine comedian......I always looked forward to the pie throwing events as a kid! Rest in peace, Soupy!
About the reviewer
John O'Connor ()
Ranked #88
I am retired military. I served 6 years of Navy, nearly 6 years of Air Force, and just over 22 years of Air National Guard. I also was a full time technician for the Air Guard for just over 21 years. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ukedude
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Soupy Sales (January 8, 1926 – October 22, 2009) was a Jewish American comedian, actor, and radio-TV personality and host. He was best known for his local and network children's television show, Lunch with Soupy Sales; a series of comedy sketches frequently ending with Sales receiving a pie in the face, which became his trademark.

Sales is best known for his daily children's television show, Lunch with Soupy Sales. The show was originally called 12 O'Clock Comics, and was later known as The Soupy Sales Show. Improvised and slapstick in nature, Lunch with Soupy Sales was a rapid-fire stream of comedy sketches, gags, and puns, almost all of which resulted in Sales receiving a pie in the face, which became his trademark. Sales developed pie-throwing into an art form: straight to the face, on top of the head, a pie to both ears from behind, moving into a stationary pie, and countless other variations. He claimed to have been hit by more than 25,000 pies during his career.

From 1968 to 1975, he was a regular panelist on the syndicated revival of What's My Line? and appeared on several other TV game shows. During the 1980s Sales hosted his own show on WNBC-AM in New York City.

Sales was born as Milton Supman in Franklinton in Franklin County in north central North Carolina to Irving and Sadie Supman. His father, Irving Supman, a dry goods merchant, had emigrated to America from Hungary in 1894. Soupy Sales had two siblings, Leonard Supman (deceased) and Jack Supman (b. ...
view wiki

Details

Birth Date: January 8, 1926

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists