|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Actors & Actresses » Reviews » Soupy Sales » User review

Soupy Sales

A Jewish American comedian, actor, and radio-TV personality and host (January 8, 1926 – October 22, 2009) .

< read all 4 reviews

The Pie Man

  • Oct 23, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

There was never anyone exactly like Soupy Sales before and there certainly never will be again. I was in the 9th grade when I started watching his Saturday morning "kid's show" which featured puppets White Fang, Black Tooth, and Hippy the Hippo along with innumerable bad puns (such as "Never bite your nails, especially if you're a carpenter") and always, always the pies in the face. We'll miss you, Soupy.  Born: Milton Supman  on January 8, 1926,  Died: October 22, 2009. Rest in peace.
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
22
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
24
Post a Comment
August 12, 2010
I doubt if I'll see this movie, QUEEN B, but thanks for bringing back happy memories of this special man who made the world laugh. ;-)
August 12, 2010
Maybe you'' catch Soup in the mockumentary ...AND GOD SPOKE. In it he's cast as Moses. But there are budgetary problems. So the Ten Commandments are cut down to 5 so that he'll have one arm free to carry a six pack of beer--they have to resort to product placement!
August 12, 2010
That sounds like clever writing and a hilarious movie. I can still picture his face and I haven't seen him in years. I am wearing a loopy grin...remembering. Thx, Queen B.
August 12, 2010
Yeah. We all loved the guy. =)
 
July 19, 2010
Never knew much about Soupy other then he worked with Howard Stern at WNBC in the early 80s. Howard was a fan till he met him. I've heard plenty of people talk about how great he was but other then a commercial or two that I've seen of him where he got a pie in the face, that's all for me as far as what I've seen.
July 21, 2010
Now that I've heard about him working with Stern I'm going to have to reconsider being a fan of Soupy's! Imagine a local kids show in Detroit or something becoming so popular with all audiences that it eventually winds up in Los Angeles with guests like Frank Sinatra coming on just to have a pie thrown in his face. They just don't make 'em like that any more. His only co-stars prior to that were White Fang and Black Tooth (puppets) and a hippo.
July 22, 2010
WNBC if I'm not mistaken called Soupy in to be the new superstar at their station and Stern was a fan of Soupy's till he found out that he (Stern) still wasn't getting any kind of star treatment even though he proved popular while Soupy got any and everything he asked for-and it made Stern jealous and started to not like Soupy. They didn't to my knowledge actually work together on anything. There is a photo of Soupy, Howard, Don Imus and Wolfman Jack togehter thats out there and it's from the Stern book Private Parts, along with this story. So, don't feel like you can't be a Soupy fan cause of a tie to Stern.
July 22, 2010
What a relief!
 
December 30, 2009
Growing up in Detroit, Soupy was one of my favorites. He was silly, but perfect for a youngster. His strong ties to Detroit made him a cult icon in that part of the country. Thanks for sharing.
December 31, 2009
I LOVED THE MAN AND i LIVED IN FLORIDA!
 
November 07, 2009
Great photo, good review. I was too young for the 1950s shows (being two or so) but I did like his game show stuff on Whats My Line and Hollywood Squares.
November 07, 2009
I'd forgotten that he even did gameshows! I guess everybody did back then after their own shows went off the air though.
November 07, 2009
Oh yeah, he was great in those game shows. I never did understand why Kitty Carlisle was on these gameshows. Even Vincent Price was on Hollywood Squares.
 
October 25, 2009
pictures up on my side now! nice.
October 25, 2009
Finally. I had outside help.
 
October 23, 2009
Hey Queen B!  Noticed that you had trouble with adding an image to your review, so I thought I'd help you out.  What you do is edit your review and in the rich text editor at the top, click on the "add image" button, which is the 5th one from the right, and copy and paste this link into it: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2724/4037538127_5f1ed5af69_o.jpg

That should do the trick!  By the way, I moved your review over to the Soupy Sales data point so that Lunchers can find your review more easily ;)

I've actually never heard of Soupy Sales till he passed away yesterday, but I imagine he was like the Mr. Rogers of another time.  Very tragic, but at least he was able to make people laugh during his life time.  Thanks for sharing.
October 23, 2009
I wish I knew what all that meant. Did you do that for me or do I still need to do it? I can't tell since I always see the photo.
October 23, 2009
Actually, I did it for you just right now ;) Since you copy and pasted the photo from a site that doesn't allow hotlinking, only you could see the picture, so I helped you upload it elsewhere and embed the image. Let me know if you have any questions!
October 23, 2009
How can you tell which sites DO allow it? It would save me a lot of time and frustration in the future if I could tell the difference.
October 25, 2009
With some sites, such as photobucket, or flickr, it's a known fact that you can share and hotlink, but with other sites, you might not find out till after you posted it. The best thing to do if you ever come across a photo on a site that's not uploaded onto a photo sharing site is to save it and upload it somewhere yourself.  You might want to check out @Scotman's list of places to upload your photos for suggestions.  I actually uploaded your Soupy Sales pic, as well as all the pictures that I use in my reviews, onto my flickr account.  Let me know if you ever need any help with this in the future or if you have any questions!
October 26, 2009
I checked out Scotty's list and I have no idea what any of that meant but I think it assumes that I have a scanner and a digital camera aaand all that sort of stuff which I do not.
October 30, 2009
Nope, you do not need a scanner nor a digital camera :) Well, in the future, if you need any help adding media to your reviews, just send the media to me and I can get that done for you! :)
October 30, 2009
I just meant that I'm not into picture sharing and all this other stuff so I know absolutely nothing about any of it. Including how to send the media to you sometimes. I'd love to add trailers for instance when I can find them but...
November 07, 2009
Just provide me a link to the trailer or where the photo is and I can take care of it for you. For instance, you had the Soupy Sales link in your review already, so I was able to pull the image off of that page and put it in your review for you :)
November 07, 2009
I know it sounds stupid, but I'm not sure how to do that either. It happens by accident when it happens with me.
November 07, 2009
If you're on a webpage and you see a photo or video you'd like to use, in the box where you would type in a link to go to a webpage, right click and copy what's in that box, and then when you send me a message, you can right click and paste it. You'll get the hang of it! :)
November 08, 2009
I'll give it a try soon. Thanks!
November 08, 2009
Great! And no problem :)
 
October 23, 2009
Great review, but the image is missing.
October 23, 2009
"I see dead people." How come I'm the only one who can see the picture?
October 23, 2009
Don't know. I'd ask djevoke or one of the staff.
October 23, 2009
Guess I'd better.
 
October 23, 2009
uh-oh. what happened to the pic? Guess I'll have to wait to get home to see it. nice one.
October 23, 2009
Nothing that I can tell. It's still there.
 
1
More Soupy Sales reviews
review by . October 23, 2009
Those of you younger folks will probably not remember Soupy Sales, but us old farts will.  He was a very funny man with an elastic face and a weird voice.  He had a kids' show that was sometimes raunchy enough for adults.  His main schtick was the pie in the fact, and he got many other celebrities, including Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr and Shirley McClaine among many others.  He also introduced us to a puppet named White Fang, who, I am convinced, later went on to become Scooby …
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
Quick Tip by . October 23, 2009
Soupy Sales......what a fine comedian......I always looked forward to the pie throwing events as a kid! Rest in peace, Soupy!
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #21
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by QUEENBFLIX
About this actor

Wiki

Soupy Sales (January 8, 1926 – October 22, 2009) was a Jewish American comedian, actor, and radio-TV personality and host. He was best known for his local and network children's television show, Lunch with Soupy Sales; a series of comedy sketches frequently ending with Sales receiving a pie in the face, which became his trademark.

Sales is best known for his daily children's television show, Lunch with Soupy Sales. The show was originally called 12 O'Clock Comics, and was later known as The Soupy Sales Show. Improvised and slapstick in nature, Lunch with Soupy Sales was a rapid-fire stream of comedy sketches, gags, and puns, almost all of which resulted in Sales receiving a pie in the face, which became his trademark. Sales developed pie-throwing into an art form: straight to the face, on top of the head, a pie to both ears from behind, moving into a stationary pie, and countless other variations. He claimed to have been hit by more than 25,000 pies during his career.

From 1968 to 1975, he was a regular panelist on the syndicated revival of What's My Line? and appeared on several other TV game shows. During the 1980s Sales hosted his own show on WNBC-AM in New York City.

Sales was born as Milton Supman in Franklinton in Franklin County in north central North Carolina to Irving and Sadie Supman. His father, Irving Supman, a dry goods merchant, had emigrated to America from Hungary in 1894. Soupy Sales had two siblings, Leonard Supman (deceased) and Jack Supman (b. ...
view wiki

Details

Birth Date: January 8, 1926

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists