|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Celebrities » Reviews » Tom Cruise » User review

Tom Cruise

An American actor

< read all 7 reviews

Fantastic Actor

  • Mar 25, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
It's amazing how people overlook someone's career and the whole reason they're in the public eye in the first place when that person does something they don't agree with.  Tom Cruise is one of the best actors of this generation and that deserves acknowledgement.  Yeah, maybe people don't agree with his beliefs and maybe he has made some poor choices of how to behave in public (chuckle), but he still is very good at what he does and I think its a shame that his ability to have successful movies hinges so closely on his personal life.  After all, it could be so much worse, he could be flashing people his genitals (Paris Hilton), shaving his head, attacking paparazzi and disappearing in rehab (Britney Spears), beating up his girlfriend/wife (Chris Brown), or even being involved in hit and run accidents (Halle Berry), but he's not.  He simply believes something that is hard for the rest of us to swallow.  For chr*st sake people, give him a break and move on with your lives. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 24, 2009
I'm glad to hear someone say this about Tom Cruise. Just two days ago, I watched the taunt thriller Valkyrie, and I had to pause to think about how much I've liked almost everything he's in.  Over the last few years, he's become one of the most interesting actors in Hollywood, taking some very unusual or surprising choices.  Two come to mind right off, Vanilla Sky and Minority Report. 

Let's discuss Vanilla Sky.  Okay.   Maybe I can understand someone's not appreciating it the way I did, because I watch a lot of movies and I really like it when someone does something very daring, and just flat-out leaps out of the mainstream.  Why people aren't willing to go to these more unusual places will remain a mystery to me.  It's not like the tried and true path is going to disappear in your absense; you can always return to the mundane, no harm done.  Watching Vanilla Sky at home with my companion, I noticed that she had become antsy.  She wanted it to move along; she wanted to know what it was about.  So I had to hit the pause button, and I turned to her and said, "Look.  I'm going to go ahead and tell you, or you'll loose complete interest and stop paying attention, and it deserves more than you're giving it.  It's a science fiction movie." She then turned her head slowly back to the screen, frowning, wondering if she had missed something.  I had to inform her that, no, it doesn't look like it, but it is.  She ended up enjoying it, but not as much as I did.   Cruise was very credible in that movie, and sympathetic, too. 

Then right after he completes that foray into weirdness, he turns around and collaborates with Steven Speilberg for Minority Report, which is not only good sci-fi, but a rip-roaring ride through a fascinatingly futurized citiscape.  That is a very good movie, and why it's not talked about more is due almost entirely because Tom Cruise was the star instead of, say, Arnold Schwarznegger. 

I like Cruise.  I've liked since Born on the 4th of July.  I preferred the remake of War of the Worlds to the original, and I thought Cruise evoked a lot of emotions in his passion for his children.  When I see Cruise's name attached to a project, I immediately become interested.  I do so because he's so rich now -- and take that, you naysayers -- I know he can afford to choose whatever project he wants, according to his own very interesting lights.  I didn't like his last Mission: Impossible movie, but his body of work is sprinkled with things I have a high regard for.  I've even bought a few of his movies on DVD.  My reaction is generally favorable toward him.

And anyone who hasn't seen Valkyrie should put it in their queue. 
May 25, 2009
Spot on.  Regardless of his beliefs, all that matters is what he contributed to art, and that is what he should be judged for.  Wagner made amusing music and he was a Nazi, should we ignore him because of this?  Of course not!

I especially like him in Magnolia where he plays a deeply troubled, chauvinistic  motivational speaker.  Other great stuff:  JERRY MAGUIRE, Risky Business and Eyes Wideshut
June 23, 2009
RISKY BUSINESS is one reason I tended to dismiss him as an actor. I hated it.
 
May 07, 2009
I've never bashed him, but Scientology is kinda weird. I lived very near Clearwater, Florida, the city they bought, and it was very strange watching them walk around in their little coast guard uniforms. What takes me aback is this military attitude they have; the uniforms, the saluting. Just makes me antsy.
June 23, 2009
People should believe whatever makes them happy. Personally, I see no real difference between Scientology and the Catholic church, other than one is a bunch older than the other. Religions are only designed to control their followers and get money from them anyway
June 23, 2009
I can't help it. I get nervous whenever ANYTHING takes on a military aspect.
June 23, 2009
I certainly don't want to intrude on your beliefs Scotty. But there's that whole business of Cruise saluting the picture of L Ron when he got his award and all. Its hard as an outsider not to wonder how far the inner circle might be taking its military theme when they do stuff like that. Now you might ask me how would I have felt if Cruise had bowed to the picture instead--would that have made me feel less uneasy? I dunno. It might have because there is just something about teaming up anything military with religion that makes me really antsy. I guess what we'll have to do here is what we've done all along--just agree to disagree and respect each other's private beliefs and go back to talking about movies. Speaking of which I really hated RISKY BUSINESS. I loathed that whole idea of a nice, smart kid being so easily corrupted that he could be turned into a sleazy pimp in just a matter of days. On the other hand I did like him in both MINORITY REPORT and VANILLA SKY and I have added his latest to my NetFlix queue based on the opinions of people I respect many of whom are here on Lunch.
 
March 30, 2009
Thank you - well said, my sentiments exactly. Tom Cruise is a fine actor who deserves to win and Academy Award.
 
1
More Tom Cruise reviews
Quick Tip by . September 14, 2011
Cruise hasn't gotten better with age as far as his films go, but he hasn't gotten worse either.
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Outstanding, highly underrated actor. In my personal pantheon of movie stars - not necessarily actors, but STARS - Cruise ranks second only to Paul Newman.
review by . October 09, 2009
It's hard to deny that Tom Cruise is a pretty talented actor.  He is.  But unfortunately when you become a big star--especially as big as Tom Cruise is--you start to lose a private life.  And your actions become more important to people than the work itself.  Sure, we can berate Tom Cruise for his stunt on Oprah, his fascination with Scientology that goes a little beyond crazy at times... but deep down you still have to remember that this guy did do such classic films as Risky …
review by . April 01, 2008
Tom Cruise
I used to like Tom Cruise.  But now I don't.  As soon as he joined Scientology he became a crazy crazy guy!  He jumps on coaches, professes his love to everyone and in general is off his rocker.  But hey, can you blame a guy that has all the money in the world, marries my future wife and thinks that chemical imbalances really don't exist!   Now I could tell you my all the weird things about him, but there are sites dedicated to it. One such site is http://www.tomcruiseisnuts.com/ …
review by . April 03, 2008
Movie stars don't get any bigger than Tom Cruise - limitless money and international fame.  He is an Oscar worthy actor, and deserved one for Fourth of July (just bad luck/timing that he had to battle Daniel Day Lewis / My Left Foot).  There's no way that kind of money/fame and power won't have a dramatic effect on your general psyche.  That said, many superstars of his caliber have managed to grow and age very gracefully (see Paul Newman and Robert Redford).  It's a heart breaker …
review by . April 02, 2008
I don't care what the critics say, Tom Cruise is just plain cute and a devoted husband and father!  And for that, he deserves a 5.
About the reviewer
Tamika ()
Ranked #1470
Member Since: Mar 25, 2009
Last Login: Apr 4, 2009 12:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MikaNE
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by MikaNE
About this actor

Wiki

Tom Cruise is an actor and producer. He has won 3 Golden Globe Awards and has been nominated for 3 Academy Awards.

He started his acting career in 1981 with the movie Endless Love. His first lead role was Risky Business in 1983.  Rebecca Demorny was his co-star.
view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists