|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cocktail » Reviews » Rum and Coke » User review

Rum and Coke

Alcoholic drink made of rum and cola

< read all 7 reviews

Make Sure the Rum Isn't Gone!

  • Jun 4, 2011
Rating:
+4
A couple of years ago, I made a New Year's resolution to phase pop out of my diet, and I've held to it for the most part, with the exceptions of some social gatherings.

I do make a little bit of clout for myself, though. I've mentioned in the past that I do drink Red Bull without considering it a form of pop, which is admittedly a real stretch. I also save clout for alcoholic drinks like rum and coke, because let me be honest: Without an occasional shot or two of rum, I would die. It's my favorite kind of alcohol, and I love the stuff more than is perhaps healthy.

Then again, that's about how much I love my soda too.

You make a rum and coke by taking some Coke - and it HAS to be a Coke, not a Pepsi, not a Dr. Pepper, not a Faygo - and combining it with a small amount of rum. Usually I use just a little more than an average shot of rum, but your preference may vary. Rum is very strong stuff, though, and you do have to take it easy on the stuff or you will not only drown out the taste of the Coke, but also make the drink dangerously alcoholic. Remember, every time you drink alcohol, you're basically poisoning yourself, so I can't emphasize this enough: BE CAREFUL.

You do need the original Coca-Cola, because something this good doesn't work with any of the diets or the low-carb alternatives.

As for the rum, I usually use either Captain Morgan or Bacardi. I prefer the darker forms of rum because they create a tangy zing and can contain shots of flavor like lime or coconut which the coke can really bring out.

Rum and coke is a good drink for a good summer party or gathering.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 07, 2011
Great review, man! I love rum, too, but I'm not sure if I can down a rum and coke after one particularly embarrassing incident... You're gonna need to get me a drink to get that story out of me :P
June 07, 2011
Heh, swing by the greater Buffalo area and I'll be glad to by you one. Or two. Or five!
June 07, 2011
Well, that's exactly how the story came to be. So let's keep it at two or three ;)
June 07, 2011
Lol!
 
1
More Rum and Coke reviews
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2010
I love rum and Coke for its simplicity. I also love it for the fact that I'll eat or drink just about anything that involves rum!
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
A classic. I've heard it ordered as a "ron, sin fidel". I thought that was clever.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
Good enough in a pinch and occasionally great.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
The standard drink for Rum Lovers! Add a slice of Lime and call it a Cuba Libre and then even the liquor snobs love it.
review by . December 25, 2008
Are you addicted to Coke? (Please don't answer if you don't immediately think of the drink!) If you're like me, then you won't find it alarming that I wrote a review of a Rum and Coke at 10 AM. But who could resist? The Rum and Coke highball is one of my favorite drinks. It's easy to make at home, and is a quick and cheap drink at a bar. Plus, it involves my favorite beverage: Coke!    My favorite version is to buy rum and Coca-Cola lime from a grocery store and make it at home. …
review by . January 21, 2009
Rum & Coke I do not do.  So much sugar gives me the worst hangovers.  Rum & Diet Coke is a great way to change it up when I'm sick of vodka sodas.  Admittedly, I'm never sick of vodka sodas but sometimes all you've got is a half-empty bottle of Captain Morgan that your favorite friend with benefits left behind the last time he visited, so you have to make do.    Fun fact: the first time I got drunk, I was offered rum & coke but I thought the guy said …
About the reviewer
Nicholas Croston ()
Ranked #17
Hi! I'm here in part to plug my writing and let everyone know that I'm trying to take my work commercial.      Now, what about me? Well, obviously I like to write. I'm … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
BaronSamedi3
Your ratings:
Tea
rate more to improve this
About this album

Wiki

Rum and Coke is a highball often made with Bacardi rum and a cola drink. In the US and Canada, the drink is often made without lime juice, whereas in other countries, the drink includes some sort of sour flavoring and is called a Cuba Libre.

The origins of the Cuba Libre and Rum and Coke drinks are disputed, but one theory explains that the drink is the product of the Spanish American war when Americans brought Coke to Cuba and had the idea to mix it with local rum.

Today, Rum and Coke and the Cuba Libre are among the most popular drinks served at bars worldwide.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this album
Bellini

Cocktails

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists