|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Cocktail » Reviews » Rum and Coke » User review

Rum and Coke

Alcoholic drink made of rum and cola

< read all 7 reviews

Cool and refreshing for any Coke addict!

  • Dec 25, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+3
Are you addicted to Coke? (Please don't answer if you don't immediately think of the drink!) If you're like me, then you won't find it alarming that I wrote a review of a Rum and Coke at 10 AM. But who could resist? The Rum and Coke highball is one of my favorite drinks. It's easy to make at home, and is a quick and cheap drink at a bar. Plus, it involves my favorite beverage: Coke!

My favorite version is to buy rum and Coca-Cola lime from a grocery store and make it at home. (I'm also okay with using generic colas.) Sometimes if our lemon tree is in season, I'll add some fresh lemon slices to give it a nice, citrus flavor to mask the taste of rum. But don't worry, the higher quality rum you buy, the less you'll taste it in your drink. Rum and Coke is my favorite drink at hotel bars where nothing beats relaxing by a pool on a warm summer evening with this one.

If you're in the mood for something refreshing without a lot of alcohol, a Rum and Coke is for you. Plus, it qualifies as a "well drink" during happy hour, so it can be a very affordable way to pass the afternoon with friends. At home or outside, Rum and Coke is definitely one of my favorites!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
February 01, 2009
Hmm, I've heard of that here and there, QueenB but I've never been able to get a definite answer.
 
February 01, 2009
I thought you added lime to make it a Cuba Libre.
 
January 16, 2009
Thanks dude. You're talking to a guy who knows his spirits!!
 
1
More Rum and Coke reviews
review by . June 04, 2011
posted in Gourmand
A couple of years ago, I made a New Year's resolution to phase pop out of my diet, and I've held to it for the most part, with the exceptions of some social gatherings.      I do make a little bit of clout for myself, though. I've mentioned in the past that I do drink Red Bull without considering it a form of pop, which is admittedly a real stretch. I also save clout for alcoholic drinks like rum and coke, because let me be honest: Without an occasional shot or two …
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2010
I love rum and Coke for its simplicity. I also love it for the fact that I'll eat or drink just about anything that involves rum!
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
A classic. I've heard it ordered as a "ron, sin fidel". I thought that was clever.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
Good enough in a pinch and occasionally great.
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
The standard drink for Rum Lovers! Add a slice of Lime and call it a Cuba Libre and then even the liquor snobs love it.
review by . January 21, 2009
Rum & Coke I do not do.  So much sugar gives me the worst hangovers.  Rum & Diet Coke is a great way to change it up when I'm sick of vodka sodas.  Admittedly, I'm never sick of vodka sodas but sometimes all you've got is a half-empty bottle of Captain Morgan that your favorite friend with benefits left behind the last time he visited, so you have to make do.    Fun fact: the first time I got drunk, I was offered rum & coke but I thought the guy said …
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Ranked #106
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this album

Wiki

Rum and Coke is a highball often made with Bacardi rum and a cola drink. In the US and Canada, the drink is often made without lime juice, whereas in other countries, the drink includes some sort of sour flavoring and is called a Cuba Libre.

The origins of the Cuba Libre and Rum and Coke drinks are disputed, but one theory explains that the drink is the product of the Spanish American war when Americans brought Coke to Cuba and had the idea to mix it with local rum.

Today, Rum and Coke and the Cuba Libre are among the most popular drinks served at bars worldwide.
view wiki

Details

Polls with this album
Bellini

Cocktails

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists