|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

John Kruk

Former Major League Baseball Player

< read all 2 reviews

A Quick Tip by YungBolo

  • Sep 17, 2010
  • by
One of my favorite quotes of all time came from Mr. Kruk: "I'm not an athlete. I'm a professional baseball player."
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
September 17, 2010
And nary a truer word was spoken. Many of these guys have developed skills to world class levels without a doubt but they are most definitely NOT athletes. Golfers, as an example, come to mind almost immediately. And Mr Kruk was right ... there's nothing athletic about being a baseball player. It's an exercise in skill and hand-eye coordination that defies belief but, I repeat, it is NOT atheleticism. Great observation, Yung.
September 17, 2010
Thanks! I also think it's interesting that this was coming from a professional baseball player and I wonder what today's players would say to that comment. I also think it's funny considering that Kruk wouldn't have been able to fool anyone into thinking he was a real athlete even when he was still playing ball =P
September 18, 2010
hey Paul. I thought you might like this too... Peter put a good list of funny quotes together here... not sure you caught it. That's the kind of list that could go on for days!!
September 18, 2010
Thanks for the heads up, jr. Great list!
September 20, 2010
If I'm not mistaken Kruk was actually smoking during an interview with a female reporter and she said something to the effect of "I am surprised as an athlete you smoke" ...... hence the answer. I also think the quote actually starts with "Maaam, I'm not.......
September 20, 2010
I looked into a little and found on the synopsis of his autobiography, "A woman comes by the table. She recognizes me and she's shocked because it seems like I should be in training or something. She's getting all over me, saying that a professional athlete should take better care of himself. I lean back and I say to her, "I ain't an athlete, lady. I'm a baseball player." That pretty much sums it up. " Funny stuff!
 
1
More John Kruk reviews
Quick Tip by . April 11, 2011
Kruk always gave us fat guys hope that we could make it to the majors. I love this dude!
About the reviewer
Peter Kim ()
Ranked #91
I love basketball, exercise, reading, business, movies and occasionally some brainless reality TV shows =P I am more than happy to help anyone out with anything here on Lunch and definitely looking forward … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
YungBolo
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this athlete

Wiki


John Martin Kruk (born February 9, 1961 in Charleston, West Virginia) is a former Major League Baseball player and current baseball analyst for ESPN.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists