|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Wolf Parade » User review

Wolf Parade

An indie rock band formed in 2003 from Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

< read all 4 reviews

Expo 86

  • Jul 21, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5

Expo '86 is the third full length album from Wolf Parade released on June 29, 2010. Like the previous two albums, Wolf Parade pumps out upbeat, melodic jams. Krug and Boeckner trade off lead vocals almost every other track. "Little Golden Age" and "Ghost Pressure" are quickly become my favorite tracks with thumping bass lines, rhythmic drums, and ambient synthesized tracks.

I love when a band hits a stride and finds their sound. More importantly sticks with it! It shows a confidence and maturity that is a rarity with most bands today. I hope the BC quartet is around for a long time.
Expo 86

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Wolf Parade reviews
review by . August 04, 2010
posted in Music Matters
   Amazing show. We had floor tickets which, I believe, are much better than the seats in the upper levels. They played 7 out of their 11 tracks (full set list here) from the new album. The acoustics in The Wiltern are better than a lot of venues I have seen concerts at. Not a whole lot of chatter between each song, which sometimes can really add (or take away) from a live show. Encore was awesome! Shine the Light is one of my favorite songs. This was the second time I have seen Wolf Parade …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
New album out soon. Hope to see them on my birthday at the end of the month!
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
They were discovered by Isaac Brock of Modest Mouse in 2004. If that doesn't do it for you go see them live. You'll quickly become a fan.
About the reviewer
Kieran Magee ()
Ranked #990
      I love surfing, music, & traveling. Transplant from San Diego to Manhattan Beach. Loving the South Bay.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
GreenSurf
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this band

Wiki

Wolf Parade is an indie rock band formed in 2003 from Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

Wolf Parade began in April 2003, when former Frog Eyes member Spencer Krug was offered a gig by Grenadine Records' Alex Megelas. With only a 3-week deadline to form a band, Krug contacted a fellow Canadian guitarist Dan Boeckner (formerly of British Columbia band Atlas Strategic) and began writing songs in Krug's apartment.  Initially using a drum machine for their rhythm section played through computer speakers, Krug later invited Arlen Thompson to the lineup as the drummer;  however, the newly formed trio rehearsed as a full band only the day before their first show.  During the tour, Wolf Parade recorded and released their self-titled debut EP (referred to as the 4 Song EP).

In September 2003, Hadji Bakara joined Wolf Parade, contributing his synthesizer and sound manipulation skills to the lineup. By the summer of 2004 the band released its second independent, self-titled EP, commonly referred to as the 6 Song EP.

In September 2004, the band travelled to Portland, Oregon to record with Modest Mouse's Isaac Brock. Brock had recently signed the band to Sub Pop; Brock was an A&R man for the record label at the time. He had been following Dan Boeckner as Boeckner's old band, Atlas Strategic, had toured with Modest Mouse and were offered a Sub Pop signing just before the band split up. Wolf Parade spent two and a half weeks working 14-hour days in Portland. ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Expo 86"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists