|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Bar » Reviews » Tompkins Square » User review

Tompkins Square

A Bar and Grill in Westchester, California

< read all 9 reviews

Fireside Is Dead To Me

  • May 1, 2013
Rating:
-1
Looks like the whole gang is here...don't mind if i chime in. Indeed that was a gutsy review by bateman, dishonoring our beloved lmu gem of a bar;gutsy but justified and i wouldnt expect it from anyone but baitman, who tends to put all his cards on the table regardless of how they may play out, an admirable quality in my opinion. I can only hope this review is half as gutsy yours bateman. Back to thompkins square, not fireside, but thompkins square, lets not confuse the two, that is my only qualm with bateman's review. Those of us who are old enough to truly remember stepping foot in the old dingy fireside will never confuse such a genuinely unique dive bar aura for thompkins square. Fireside may not have had the best furniture or the nicest bartenders or the most delicious artisan bar food or even the finest selection of liquor, wine and draft beer. But do you know what the fireside had that thompkins square never will? Character. Bateman said it best when he refered to it as unspectacular. Thompkins square is just another cookie cutter wannabe gastro pub trying to cater to a small community of wealthy westchester citizens all the while ignoring the massively profitable elephant in the room that is the university student body all because they are to proud to alter their beloved upscale concept which is painstakingly sandwiched between a sketchy liquor store and a kfc/taco bell combo. To all of you faithful thompkins square lovers i would say this: I feel pity that you are forced to hang your hat on such a dreadfully average establishment and i hope that someday someone will return the corner of lincoln and manchester to its former glory. Godspeed bateman. The fireside is dead to me.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
May 03, 2013
Stewart!
May 03, 2013
Silent Steve!
May 03, 2013
Wait, your middle name has been marie this whole time and i had no idea, who woulda thunk it. What a shame, i totally couldve been giving you shit for that all these years. So much quality angry steve time missed and youre hilarious when your angry, i think youre gonna pass out from a lack of oxygen and then you make those fantastically odd facial expressions while you jerk your neck around like a giraffe with rabies, what's not to love, its great fun.
 
1
More Tompkins Square reviews
review by . March 26, 2010
posted in The Bluff
The light of my life, Tompkins Square
Experience      Though Tompkins makes up only ¼ of my college experience, it holds a very significant place in my LMU history. Every single week my senior year, at least once a week, a drink or three would be shared with my dear LMU friends. Best/Worst Part      Tompkins is totally Cheers. You will never walk into that place without running into a professor, classmate, or friend enjoying their fine selection of beers and burgers. Birthdays are celebrated …
review by . April 14, 2010
posted in The Bluff
Experience          I must admit, this is a bit sacrilegious of me to write this review, since this is both a bar I frequent and am friends with0 (albeit casual) of the staff.  However, while Fireside (okay Tompkins Squared) is a great bar to go to on a casual night, or to watch a game, the bar continually fails to wow.        Unlike other bar rows (areas? strips?), the bars within rock throwing distance of LMU all tend to …
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in The Bluff
I've always absolutely hated macaroni and cheese, except for here. It's baked to perfection in a huge bowl with crab and bacon mixed in. Get it for happy hour.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
posted in The Bluff
Very cool place, just a stones throw away from the LMU Campus. Easily within walking(or stumbling distance) Outstanding selection of beers. Great atmosphere with a bunch of LMU memorabilia around. If you are there for food, try the Tri Tip Sandwich. Delicious! Interesting Fact: Look for the hidden item from the show "The Simpson". This bar is the bar that was the inspiration for Moe's from The Simpsons!
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in The Bluff
Love grabbing a beer right before a game at T Squared! Burgers are to die for and always get the sweet potato fries!
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in The Bluff
all my friends keep talking good stuff about this place. i'll have to go soon. :)
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2009
One of my favorite bar and grills around! Always great for a burger and beer before an LMU basketball game!
About the reviewer
Nick Stewart ()
Ranked #2201
Member Since: May 1, 2013
Last Login: May 3, 2013 10:04 PM UTC
About this bar

Wiki

The Fireside Bar and Grill was an old Westchester landmark for decades, and now Tompkins Square looks to become the new landmark for generations to come. 

When the establishment was bought in 2004, the Tompkins had a dream to create a neighborhood bar that was as comfortable for their guests as it is for their regulars.  A place where you could catch the game on a big HD screen, enjoy great food and perhaps have a delicious draft beer. Three years later that dream became a reality.

Aside from the full bar, they have twenty beers on tap at The Square ranging from old favorites like Heineken and Bud light, to Pilsner Urquell and Chimay. The kitchen is sure to keep the meat lovers happy with all natural Niman Ranch burgers and steaks...but you'll also find an amazing selection of appetizers, salads, sandwiches and entrees to fit any appetite.

They welcome large parties and love to cook up something special for your event or dinner.  We're conveniently located on the corner of Manchester and Lincoln next to Italy's Little Kitchen.

Hours are 11am to 2am every day...but open at 9am on Sundays during football season for the NFL breakfast.  Happy hour every weekday from 4pm-7pm.
view wiki

Details

Address: 8522 Lincoln Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90045
Phone: (310) 670-1212
Hours: 11am to 2am
Polls with this bar
Ayara Thai

Best Spots Off Campus

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists