|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Beer » Reviews » Beer » User review

Beer

The world's oldest and most widely consumed alcoholic beverage

< read all 8 reviews

High atop my list of "most overated" things.

  • Jun 3, 2011
  • by
Rating:
-2
You may think me strange but I must confess that I have never quite understood why so many people go "ga-ga' over beer. I know guys who practically live just to drink this stuff. To me most beer is bitter. I for one would much rather have a soft drink. But it would appear that I am in a distinct minority. After water and tea beer is the third most popular drink in the world. The fact that beer is more popular than coffee completely surprises me.

Now I am not a complete teetotaller. I might have maybe a dozen beers a year at family outings, parties and at the local Irish pub. Usually I will go for the light stuff like Rolling Rock which serious beer drinkers would probably consider to be the equivalent of drinking "weak" tea. Once in a while I might try something a bit different like Samuel Adans Summer Ale. Nothing too strong mind you. When I am at the pub I usually go for a frosty cold mug of Old Milwaukee. Pretty pedestrian right?? But even at the pub I will never have more than two beers. I might enjoy the first one but the second begins to taste bitter to me. My other rule is to never, ever drink warm beer. To me there is positively nothing more hideous than warm beer! Every so often I come across someone downing some of that Guiness Stout stuff. It reminds me of used motor oil and I wonder aloud what the stuff does to a person's innards.

As I approach the age of 60 I am quite proud to say that I have never been drunk in my life. The first time I saw one of my high school classmates throwing up was enough to convince me that spending my Friday and Saturday nights chugging down six packs would be a complete waste of my time and money. You might be surprised to learn that right now there are more than 1700 breweries in the United States turning out this stuff. There are so many brands and varieties to choose from. Some of them are fun to try every once in a while but for the most part I think I'll stick with my iced tea.
High atop my list of High atop my list of High atop my list of High atop my list of

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
More Beer reviews
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2010
One of the very best ways to quench my thirst in the summe, especially if I have been doing allot of strenous work outdoors.
review by . June 17, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
  So one day, I walked into one of the four billion locations of a particular  convenience store franchise (the one with two numbers in its name) to buy a bottle of water when lo and behold, a selection in the beer case catches my eye. Two familiar words stood out on this very patriotic looking can of brew… Game Day. Being a fan of my old college roomies website, I had to purchase a can of Game Day Light and give it a shot. I plunked down my hard earned buck and a half, headed …
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Waaaay too many calories. That's the main turnoff for me. Plus I prefer the fruity drinks ^_^
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Too many calories, but enjoyable every so often
Quick Tip by . February 26, 2010
ahhh beer....nectar of the gods, proof that God loves us...beers pair better with meals than wines have ever dreamed of :D
Quick Tip by . March 05, 2010
posted in The Beer Snob
ahhh beer....nectar of the gods, proof that God loves us...beers pair better with meals than wines have ever dreamed of :D
Quick Tip by . February 28, 2010
Great beer is great! Pedestrian mass produce beer not so much.
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #2
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this beer

Wiki

Beer is the world's oldest and most widely consumed alcoholic beverage and the third most popular drink overall after water and tea.[3]  It is produced by the brewing and fermentation of starches, mainly derived from cereal grains—most commonly malted barley, although wheat, maize (corn), and rice are widely used. Most beer is flavoured with hops, which add bitterness and act as a natural preservative, though other flavourings such as herbs or fruit may occasionally be included.

Some of humanity's earliest known writings refer to the production and distribution of beer: the Code of Hammurabi included laws regulating beer and beer parlours, and "The Hymn to Ninkasi," a prayer to the Mesopotamian goddess of beer, served as both a prayer and as a method of remembering the recipe for beer in a culture with few literate people. Today, the brewing industry is a global business, consisting of several dominant multinational companies and many thousands of smaller producers ranging from brewpubs to regional breweries.

The basics of brewing beer are shared across national and cultural boundaries. Beers are commonly categorized into two main types—the globally popular pale lagers, and the regionally distinct ales, which are further categorised into other varieties such as pale ale, stout and brown ale. The strength of beer is usually around 4% to 6% alcohol by volume (abv.) though may range from less than 1% abv., to over 20% abv. in rare cases.

Beer forms ...
view wiki

Details

Polls with this beer
Beer

Refreshing Summer Cocktails

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists