|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » 11/22/63: A Novel » User review

11/22/63 a book by Stephen King

A book by Stephen King.

< read all 3 reviews

'Anybody can direct but there are only eleven good writers." Mel Brooks

  • Jul 19, 2012
Rating:
+5
Did you ever wish you had the power to change history?

Stephen King's tour de force, "11/22/63,"  describes that happening and when history is changed it creates unforeseen ripple effects.

Jake Epping is a high school teacher in Lisbon Falls, Maine. He earns extra money by teaching GED courses in adult ed. He's particularly moved by one of his student's papers. Harry Dunning, the school janitor, walks with a limp and has difficulty with mental tasks. His paper is about a day that changed his life and tells of when his father killed his mother, two brothers, put his sister in a coma and hit him on the head-causing brain damage.

Jake gives the paper an "A" and goes on to other things. Shortly thereafter, Jake's friend, Al Templeton, asks him to come to his diner. In the back, the pantry door opens into history.

Al and Jake discuss what beneficial thing could happen if history was changed. They decide that JFK's assassination would be the most beneficial event to change.

In order to test the theory, Jake decides to go back in time to 1958 to Derry, Maine when Harry Dunning's father was about to go berserk.

The book is a joy. Stephen King is a master of setting the scene so that the reader feels they are part of the story. As we listen to the old songs Jake tells us about and the hair styles and everything, we only have to close our eyes to put ourselves in the picture.

Jake takes on a new name and identification and makes himself part of the community. He gives people the idea that he's looking for real estate opportunities.  An interesting side line for King fans. People in the town of Derry, Maine, tell Jake about a number of children who have recently gone missing. These are facts from King's novel, "It."

This part of the story ends and Jake goes to the Dallas area at a time closer to Kennedy's assassination. He becomes a school teacher and directs a play, wins friends and changes children's lives-all,while he's planning how to stop Oswald from killing Kennedy.

Along with King's classic novel, "The Stand," this may be his best and most memorable book. Jake is well developed as a character. He's a likable teacher, the kind we remember as being the best we had.

King has also earned that place, among the best we have.

Don't miss this book. It will become a classic.
'Anybody can direct but there are only eleven good writers.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
September 20, 2012
I really liked 11/22/63. Hi is just a master of his craft!
September 24, 2012
King is one of my favorites too. His book about writing is excellent for those desiring to take up writing.
 
1
More 11/22/63: A Novel reviews
review by . February 13, 2012
A great novel with a number of mental and moral quandaries...
   While I end up liking most of the books that I read by Stephen King, he isn't an author that I salivate over when something new comes out. I'm not sure why, as I like the genre and the style of writing. Perhaps I'll chalk it up to having too many other things to read. :)  Anyway, 11/22/63: A Novel caught my interest in terms of what it might be like to go back and prevent an event in history that changed the world. Once I started reading, I was pretty much hooked. King …
review by . December 16, 2011
Ever since King's early work (The Stand, Misery, The Shining) he seems to have been just a prolific writer of mediocracy.  This book is his big comeback!  In probably the best book of have read in 2011, King grabs the reader from the beginning with excellent characters, an interesting story proposition all in a setting that actually transports the reader back in time to experience the late 50's going up to the fateful day of Novemenber 22, 1963.      Jake Eppling …
About the reviewer
Mike Draper ()
Ranked #69
Michael A.Draper is a financial planner with Mass Mutual in North Haven, CT.   Married to Diana for 46 years, one son and daughter-in-law and two lovely granddaughters.      … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
mikedraper
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

A portal in time sends Jake Eppling to the Year 1958 where he plans to prevent the JFK assassination

On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? Stephen King’s heart-stoppingly dramatic new novel is about a man who travels back in time to prevent the JFK assassination—a thousand page tour de force.

Following his massively successful novel Under the Dome, King sweeps readers back in time to another moment—a real life moment—when everything went wrong: the JFK assassination. And he introduces readers to a character who has the power to change the course of history.


Jake Epping is a thirty-five-year-old high school English teacher in Lisbon Falls, Maine, who makes extra money teaching adults in the GED program. He receives an essay from one of the students—a gruesome, harrowing first person story about the night 50 years ago when Harry Dunning’s father came home and killed his mother, his sister, and his brother with a hammer. Harry escaped with a smashed leg, as evidenced by his crooked walk.

Not much later, Jake’s friend Al, who runs the local diner, divulges a secret: his storeroom is a portal to 1958. He enlists Jake on an insane—and insanely possible—mission to try to prevent the Kennedy assassination. So begins Jake’s new life as George Amberson and his new world of Elvis and JFK, of big American cars and sock hops, ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1451627289
ISBN-13: 978-1451627282
Genre: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Publisher: Scribner

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists