|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » 1984 (novel) » User review

1984 (British first edition)

English author George Orwell's novel set in a dystopian future.

< read all 77 reviews

Eerily Entertaining

  • Jul 7, 2010
Rating:
+5

In 1949, George Orwell published the book, 1984, following the life of Winston Smith, an employee at the Ministry of Truth, part of the totalitarian government Oceania. However, as the story progresses, Winston begins to run afoul of the mandates of the government and the book describes his struggles and conflicts with the government. 

According to Winston, many things that we think are frightening are actually real. The existence of the idea of "Big Brother", with someone always watching you, and the "Thought Police" that punishes treacherous thoughts against the Party. The reader feels the inevitability of doom that pervades the book many times, in phrases like "Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever. You might dodge successfully for a while, even for years, but sooner or later they were bound to get you".

Day by day, Winston begins to realize that the state in which he lived in is not right, and that change is needed. We accompany him in his attempt at subversion, and are unwilling witnesses of what that attempt brings about. This book is marked by hopelessness, but at the same time it is the type of book that can not be put down. I see this as not only one of George Orwell's best novels, but also one of the best books ever written, by anyone. It is a classic, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading in the least bit. Although it is a book that is often assigned to students to read in high school, it is definitely not just a boring book with many talking points.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
2
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More 1984 (novel) reviews
review by . February 23, 2011
posted in SF Signal
There are very few writers whose work has been so profound that their names have become adjectives. Shakespearean. Kafkaesque. Orwellian.      1984 remains George Orwell's greatest legacy, a fact shared by Roberto Bolano's novel 2666; both books with a four-digit number as the title, both written frantically by authors who knew they were dying, both profound in their exploration of human cruelty, both lifting the veil of propaganda and rhetoric to get to the Truth underneath.   …
Quick Tip by . February 19, 2011
posted in SF Signal
1984 is an essential book, not just for SF readers, not just for readers, but for everyone, everywhere.
Quick Tip by . February 23, 2011
posted in SF Signal
Pretty dry (dare I say boring) read in places, but the discussion about total context manipulation and its implications still remain pretty scary and relevant
Quick Tip by . February 19, 2011
posted in SF Signal
It's been years since I've read 1984, but it made a huge impression on me.
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2010
One of those novels where you find yourself just fascinated.
review by . July 06, 2010
   This was a well written book and one that receives not even a modicum of the attention it deserves.  While the book begins by describing the social caste system and the dangers of becoming to personable within such, it is more of a descriptor of how technology and the application of social labels tends to be an implicit divisionary tactic between those within a social group.  Winston's difficulty in negotiating his own personal feelings and the enforced loyalty to his …
review by . July 01, 2010
1984 is one of those eponymous books that is probably known more for its setting than the actual story. It's the originator of the 'Big Brother' that we have all become familiar with. It's now used to refer to overbearing government schemes which shows just how pervasive this book is in modern society. Orwell was a proponent of writing in plain English without obfuscation and his literary style is obvious throughout. It's a very easy book to read but don't let that fool …
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2010
The sort of book you never forget. The sort of book your kid has to read in school and you say "At last, here's one you'll enjoy."
Quick Tip by . August 26, 2010
Even after 1984, this book is powerful, scary, and relevant.
Quick Tip by . August 14, 2010
I read this book in High school. I loved it. Asa pol. sci. major it has made a big impact on my way of thinking and observing totalitarian regimes. This should be required reading for eveyone.
About the reviewer
Mark Wang ()
Ranked #1825
Currently a student majoring in hospitality finance, but I have always had a knack for reading. Although I generally read thriller/fiction books, I do enjoy an occasional historical research book
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
wanger727
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Concerns life in an authoritarian regime as lived by Winston Smith, an intellectual worker at the Ministry of Truth, and his degradation when he runs afoul of the totalitarian government of Oceania, the state in which he lives in the year that he presumes is 1984
view wiki

Details

Author: George Orwell
Genre: Intelligent Science Fiction, Dystopian, Political and Social Satire
Publisher: Secker and Warburg, Signet Classics
Date Published: June 8, 1949
ISBN: 0-452-28423-6
Format: Novel
Polls with this book
1984 (British first edition)

Books

by

1984 (British first edition)

Collection of Classics

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists