|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive » User review

Not informative enough.

  • Jun 23, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-3
I couldn't understand why the mother treated the author so badly, but not her other children. There was never any reason given for this. This made me question the validity of the experiences the author wrote of. It made me feel sad at first, but then I was frustrated, because I wanted more information.

I probably wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. I don't believe it is authentic, unfortunately.

I believe the author intended to to illustrate horrible child abuse and wanted to reach the public with his story. Perhaps he thought he could save other children from his supposed fate. Its too bad that the book is unbelievable and therefore, it does not do any good to help any other children.

I think it would have been better if there were any way to document any of the story. How can anyone believe this kid lived in the garage for all those months and no one ever found out. How come the authorities never found anything wrong when they checked on the family? How could the other kids never say anything about it? How could teachers never notice anything was wrong?

I think the person who wrote this book just wanted to sell books and make money.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More A Child Called "It": One Child... reviews
review by . June 26, 2010
Spoilers within!   I think A Child Called It is a cautionary tale. A young boy living in suburbia with a mother who is social and appears loving to her children is not necessarily the first picture that comes to mind when we think of an abused child. Learning about the tell tale signs by reading this book is helpful to teachers, neighbors, and social workers who wonder about the care the children in their area are receiving. I think if a child is coming to school in tatters all the time …
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
You will most likely need a tissue box, and I don't recomend reading it all in one setting, its a very hard read if you have trouble coping with raw emotion
review by . August 03, 2010
This is such a great book, very heartbreaking and moving. If you are sensitive I wouldnt suggest it though!
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
I couldn't put this book down. It will make you angry, sad, cry and at the end feel drained. But still must read book.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
This is painful to read, but it is also a thing that many are very ignorant to. I am glad I read it and definitely recommend reading it.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
this is a great book about the courage it took one young boy to survive. its a story not commonly told in conversation.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Very sad book, makes you grateful for the family you grew up in. The love and opportunities you were given. Wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 13.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
This is a pretty quick read, and good but I think it could have been combined with the second book for a better flow.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Very sad story... but I loved his courage and I think it is a good thing for people to learn that child abuse is a real issue and it can be prevented/stopped.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
So sad to know that a mother could do this to her child! I hate hearing stories like this but it is real! No child should have to endure this!
About the reviewer
Karen ()
Ranked #1356
Member Since: Jun 23, 2010
Last Login: Sep 1, 2010 05:03 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
kmuldown
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Dave Pelzer shares his unforgettable story of the many abuses he suffered at the hands of his alcoholic mother and the averted eyes of his neglectful father. Someone with no one to turn to, his dreams barely kept him alive. Through each of his struggles, readers will find themselves enduring his pain, comforting his loneliness and fighting for his will to survive. This compelling story will awaken you to the horrifying truth about child abuse -- and the ability we have to make a difference.
view wiki

Details

Author: Dave Pelzer

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists