|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Child Called "It": One Child's Courage to Survive » User review

Really sad, touches on important issues

  • Jun 13, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
I have read all three books in this trilogy and they are all interesting and easy to follow. However, the content is extremely disturbing, as it well should be considering the books discuss pervasive social issues such as child abuse, the foster care system, and the educational system. The fact that no one notices Peltzer's abuse for years, including teachers and other figures who should be on the outlook for such issues, serves as an important reminder to those who have jobs where they are in frequent contact with children.

On a more important note, however, this story is extremely inspiring on multiple fronts. First and foremost, it proves that while a system like the foster care system is broken, there are still good people within it that do make a profound difference in people's lives. Additionally, the book shows that despite unimaginable adversity, the human spirit can persevere. Peltzer has been the recipient of multiple awards and has really made a name for himself.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More A Child Called "It": One Child... reviews
review by . June 26, 2010
Spoilers within!   I think A Child Called It is a cautionary tale. A young boy living in suburbia with a mother who is social and appears loving to her children is not necessarily the first picture that comes to mind when we think of an abused child. Learning about the tell tale signs by reading this book is helpful to teachers, neighbors, and social workers who wonder about the care the children in their area are receiving. I think if a child is coming to school in tatters all the time …
Quick Tip by . August 06, 2010
You will most likely need a tissue box, and I don't recomend reading it all in one setting, its a very hard read if you have trouble coping with raw emotion
review by . August 03, 2010
This is such a great book, very heartbreaking and moving. If you are sensitive I wouldnt suggest it though!
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
I couldn't put this book down. It will make you angry, sad, cry and at the end feel drained. But still must read book.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
This is painful to read, but it is also a thing that many are very ignorant to. I am glad I read it and definitely recommend reading it.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
this is a great book about the courage it took one young boy to survive. its a story not commonly told in conversation.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Very sad book, makes you grateful for the family you grew up in. The love and opportunities you were given. Wouldn't recommend it for anyone under 13.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
This is a pretty quick read, and good but I think it could have been combined with the second book for a better flow.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
Very sad story... but I loved his courage and I think it is a good thing for people to learn that child abuse is a real issue and it can be prevented/stopped.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
So sad to know that a mother could do this to her child! I hate hearing stories like this but it is real! No child should have to endure this!
About the reviewer
Jaimie Ucuzoglu ()
Ranked #312
I am a recent USC grad. My degree is in business with an emphasis in management, however I have many interests beyond that. I especially love traveling (been to 20 countries so far and have a long list … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Jaimie_U
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Dave Pelzer shares his unforgettable story of the many abuses he suffered at the hands of his alcoholic mother and the averted eyes of his neglectful father. Someone with no one to turn to, his dreams barely kept him alive. Through each of his struggles, readers will find themselves enduring his pain, comforting his loneliness and fighting for his will to survive. This compelling story will awaken you to the horrifying truth about child abuse -- and the ability we have to make a difference.
view wiki

Details

Author: Dave Pelzer

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists