|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Confederacy of Dunces » User review

Confederacy of Dunces

A book by John Kennedy Toole

< read all 14 reviews

Must Read

  • Jun 28, 2010
Rating:
+5

This is by far one of my all time favorite books. I absolutely love the style and humor, and feel like I am present in an environment that seems so different to me in both time and location. I have read this book twice, and I am very sad that the author only wrote this one book, which was found by his mother after he committed suicide. I highly recommend this book!



 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
June 28, 2010
Aw, what a sad story behind this book, but nonetheless, this book sounds fascinating, and that fact that it was published posthumously makes it sound a bit more intriguing. Thanks for the recommendation, Meg!
June 28, 2010
Thanks! I hope you enjoy it!
 
1
More A Confederacy of Dunces reviews
review by . May 06, 2013
Set against the tumultuous backdrop of the 1960s, A Confederacy of Dunces is a book unlike any other that I have previously read. I have often heard it referred to as THAT book, a kind of complement coming from those in the know. Having read it, all I can say about it is that THAT book is stupendous on many different levels, from its forceful yet literary bluntness to its all-around observational astuteness, from character development all the way down to the colorful scenes in which New Orleans …
Quick Tip by . February 25, 2011
Worth another look after years of sitting on the shelf.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
didn't do it for me
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Pretentious and made far too much of, this posthumously published work is based upon a main character that is utterly unsympathetic and a tale of such unlikely proportion that it became more chore than pleasure to read.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Good book. The story of the author and how the book finally came to become published is very interesting as well.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
A cast of notable characters for sure! A must read if you love New Orleans.
review by . June 23, 2010
This is my all-time favorite book. It's absolutely hilarious, and Ignatius is such a ridiculous character, as are all the people he knows and meets.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I absolutely loved this book. The character of Ignatius was so vivid. Like The Catcher in the Rye, I was sad when this book ended because I felt as though I'd lost a friend. Toole was a brilliant writer.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
This book is new and wonderful every time I read it.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
not that good. get real, everyone.
About the reviewer
Megan ()
Ranked #727
Member Since: Jun 28, 2010
Last Login: Sep 14, 2010 04:36 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
megmeg
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1439513244 (lib. bdg.)
ISBN-13: 9781439513248 (lib. bdg.)
Publisher: Paw Prints
Date Published: 2008

First to Review

"Read it!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists