|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Confederacy of Dunces » User review

Confederacy of Dunces

A book by John Kennedy Toole

< read all 14 reviews

Read it!

  • Dec 14, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4
Ignatius Reilly. He is a modern hero of fiction! Crafted by Toole, Reilly is a human you will learn to simultaneously despise and love. The story follows Reilly, a hapless man living with his mother in New Orleans and failing to understand the modern world. He is horrible at his job, horrible with people, and causes disasters wherever he goes. He is caught up in his books and writing and little else catches his fancy. Despite all this Toole manages to give him a heart and made me cheer Ignatius on.

I'm a little spotty on the details but I do remember laughing out loud (a rarity in books I think) and not being able to put it down.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 22, 2010
I, too, think this book is fantastic. My favorite part? When Ignatius would say: "OH MY GOD." This character just came alive for me. When I finished the book I was so sad! I basically wanted to keep following I.R. around! I was laughing out loud, too!
 
1
More A Confederacy of Dunces reviews
review by . May 06, 2013
Set against the tumultuous backdrop of the 1960s, A Confederacy of Dunces is a book unlike any other that I have previously read. I have often heard it referred to as THAT book, a kind of complement coming from those in the know. Having read it, all I can say about it is that THAT book is stupendous on many different levels, from its forceful yet literary bluntness to its all-around observational astuteness, from character development all the way down to the colorful scenes in which New Orleans …
Quick Tip by . February 25, 2011
Worth another look after years of sitting on the shelf.
review by . June 28, 2010
This is by far one of my all time favorite books. I absolutely love the style and humor, and feel like I am present in an environment that seems so different to me in both time and location. I have read this book twice, and I am very sad that the author only wrote this one book, which was found by his mother after he committed suicide. I highly recommend this book!             
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
didn't do it for me
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Pretentious and made far too much of, this posthumously published work is based upon a main character that is utterly unsympathetic and a tale of such unlikely proportion that it became more chore than pleasure to read.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
Good book. The story of the author and how the book finally came to become published is very interesting as well.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
A cast of notable characters for sure! A must read if you love New Orleans.
review by . June 23, 2010
This is my all-time favorite book. It's absolutely hilarious, and Ignatius is such a ridiculous character, as are all the people he knows and meets.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
I absolutely loved this book. The character of Ignatius was so vivid. Like The Catcher in the Rye, I was sad when this book ended because I felt as though I'd lost a friend. Toole was a brilliant writer.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
This book is new and wonderful every time I read it.
About the reviewer
Stephanie Skidmore ()
Ranked #401
I am a recent graduate trying to navigate myself through the real world and at times finding it harder and easier than expected. Go figure. I graduated from UC Santa Barbara with degree in Art History … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Skidmore
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1439513244 (lib. bdg.)
ISBN-13: 9781439513248 (lib. bdg.)
Publisher: Paw Prints
Date Published: 2008

First to Review

"Read it!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists