|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Book » Reviews » A Do Right Man » User review

A Do Right Man

A book by Omar Tyree

< read all 1 reviews

A realistic portryal of a young brother in the dating game

  • Jun 5, 1998
  • by
Rating:
+5
The book was great. I read the entire book in one rainy weekend. I resent the comparisons to Flyy Girl. While it was a great book also, these are two entirely different stories. Frankly, I appreciate a writer who diversifies his lead characters and themes. Also, the book gave a really good realistic view of the ups and downs one encounters in the communications field and the inner workings of that field. I appreciate a book I can learn something from as this. It takes a caring,sensitive man to tune into the feelings of the lead character. I can hardly wait for Mr. Tyree's next book.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
About the reviewer
Dera R Jones Williams ()
Ranked #984
Dera is a writer, editor, genealogist, writing mentor, researcher, and family historian, and she is active in local literary and national literary circles. She is the keeper of family stories, archivist … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
dwillwrite
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Unlike his previous book (Flyy Girl, LJ 9/15/96), which was basically a YA novel, this is for adults and, ironically, less vulgar. Narrator Bobby Dallas begins the story as he is graduating from Howard University in Washington, D.C., and seeking a career in radio. Like Flyy Girl, this book has its problems, starting with the repetitious plot line: Bobby meets girl. Bobby gets job. Bobby loses girl. Bobby loses job. Bobby is confused. By midbook, the emotional chaos of the main character becomes annoying. The author has done an impressive amount of research into the world of radio and gives an honest if tiring interpretation of a black man struggling to do right, while getting it all wrong. By the penultimate chapter, it appears that Bobby Dallas, now successful in radio at the age of 31, will never find a woman who loves him. But then Faye Butler, the love of his life who started out with him at Howard in the first chapter, returns to him in a happily-ever-after sort of ending. Fans of Terry McMillan or E. Lynn Harris may enjoy this. Because the author shows promise and offers a rare view of the true-to-life emotions of black males, this is recommended for larger public library collections.?Shirley Gibson Coleman, Ann Arbor Dist. Lib., Mich.
Copyright 1997 Reed Business Information, Inc.
view wiki

Tags

Details

ISBN-10: 0684829290
ISBN-13: 978-0684829296
Author: Omar Tyree
Publisher: Simon & Schuster

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists