|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A People's History of the United States: 1492 to Present (P.S.) » User review

A People's History of the United States: 1492 to Present (P.S.)

A book released August 2, 2005 by Howard Zinn

< read all 8 reviews

MUST READ!!!!

  • Aug 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
 This book doesnt claim to be The History... it only states events and happenings from a different perspective.. its written very well and its a must read even though you might disagree with the perspective... it encourages you to think. Not just about history, but about now.. and where we are going.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
August 21, 2009
I've read that book! I was one of the few in my class that actually read it, it was required reading. For some reason public schools completely snatch the desire to read out of most students ;) If you enjoyed Howard Zinn's book I think you would really like The Underground History of American Education by John Taylor Gatto!
 
August 20, 2009
it starts with the  Native American perspective, but then it keeps going with the perspective of the Colonists to now... as the title states.. its the people's history.. so you dont hear about what the generals did, but hear about what the people did..
August 20, 2009
Is this the book that Matt Damon tells Robin Williams to read in Good Will Hunting? I think that is where I heard of it.
August 20, 2009
Actually it turns out Howard Zinn used to be Matt Damon's baby sitter :D
August 20, 2009
I have read this book before and it is truly amazing. Like @Tanafendi said, it gives you an ultimately different perspective on all of the major events that happened in US History - the kind of perspectives that teachers, professors and the media don't really shine enough light on. Great book to read.
 
August 20, 2009
As a history lover, I'm intrigued. I'll have to check it out. What is the different perspective it states things from?
 
1
More A People's History of the Unit... reviews
review by . June 13, 2010
This book on American history made me cry and made me surprised at the way we Americans treated our people. It was the first time that I heard about how we mistreated the Indians, the workers, the Chinese, and how deeply we had exploited the African-Americans. i was chagrined, because I am a history major, but a European specialist. I looked up other books by Zinn and realized that he was a socialist and a liberal so he oriented his book towards the exploited classes and resistence movements against …
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
After you read it once, you will be back for more. Just to refresh your memory
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Make sure you look past the author's prejudices so you can get the most out of this good book about some of the events that have shaped American history.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Anybody that is interested in learning real American history should check this book out it's outstanding. Very sorry to hear of Mr. Zinns passing earlier this year.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
must read for all those living in the united states of america.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
good social history.
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Gives a diff perspective on all the major events in US History that teachers, professors and the media dont really shine enough light on..
About the reviewer
Tan Arcan ()
Ranked #1005
Iam a Turkish citizen who has been living in United States for 16 years. Ihave a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Film from University of Central Florida. Just moved to Los Angeles. I like philosophy, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Tanefendi
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Tanefendi
About this book

Wiki

A People's History of the United States is a 1980 non-fiction book by American historian and political scientist Howard Zinn. In the book, Zinn seeks to present American history through the eyes of those rarely heard in mainstream histories. A People's History, though originally a dissident work, has become a major success and was a runner-up in 1980 for the National Book Award. It has been adopted for reading in some high schools and colleges across the United States and has been frequently revised, with the most recent edition covering events through 2003. In 2003, Zinn was awarded the Prix des Amis du Monde Diplomatique for the French version of this book, Une histoire populaire des Etats-Unis. Over one million copies have been sold.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0060838655
ISBN-13: 978-0060838652
Author: Howard Zinn
Publisher: Harper Perennial Modern Classics
Date Published: August 2, 2005
First to Review

"MUST READ!!!!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists