|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A People's History of the United States: 1492 to Present (P.S.) » User review

A People's History of the United States: 1492 to Present (P.S.)

A book released August 2, 2005 by Howard Zinn

< read all 8 reviews

A People's History of United States:1492 to Present

  • Jun 13, 2010
Rating:
+4

This book on American history made me cry and made me surprised at the way we Americans treated our people. It was the first time that I heard about how we mistreated the Indians, the workers, the Chinese, and how deeply we had exploited the African-Americans. i was chagrined, because I am a history major, but a European specialist. I looked up other books by Zinn and realized that he was a socialist and a liberal so he oriented his book towards the exploited classes and resistence movements against the wars.  His books are focused on the Americans that were taken advantaged of and used by America to obtain imperialist and racial goals.  There were also stories about draft dodgers, African-American revolts, and most of all about the Native Ameircans.  He spoke of the Native-American holocaust and Columbus' role in it.  Having worked with the Navajo, I had greater understanding about what he did to those people and now many of them have a victim mentality where everything and everyone are out to exploit them-at least the teenagers.  It made me wonder if as a Chinese-American that I feel prejudice when I have not succeeded and it is not fair to those who I accused.  I would recommend it to anyone, who wants to understand the true history of Ameirca, the things that we like to sweep under the rug, and who is not afraid to feel shame for this country's history.  At the same time, we can still have hope that this American experiment in democracy is still that-an experiment with errors and corrections. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
More A People's History of the Unit... reviews
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
After you read it once, you will be back for more. Just to refresh your memory
Quick Tip by . June 18, 2010
Make sure you look past the author's prejudices so you can get the most out of this good book about some of the events that have shaped American history.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Anybody that is interested in learning real American history should check this book out it's outstanding. Very sorry to hear of Mr. Zinns passing earlier this year.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
must read for all those living in the united states of america.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
good social history.
review by . August 20, 2009
 This book doesnt claim to be The History... it only states events and happenings from a different perspective.. its written very well and its a must read even though you might disagree with the perspective... it encourages you to think. Not just about history, but about now.. and where we are going.  
Quick Tip by . August 20, 2009
Gives a diff perspective on all the major events in US History that teachers, professors and the media dont really shine enough light on..
About the reviewer
John Lee ()
Ranked #1259
I am interested in religions, martial arts, history, reading, education, and philosophy. I love to draw,paint, and play chess. I love to meditate and do yoga and do tai-chi. I am Chinese American and … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
JohnLee
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

A People's History of the United States is a 1980 non-fiction book by American historian and political scientist Howard Zinn. In the book, Zinn seeks to present American history through the eyes of those rarely heard in mainstream histories. A People's History, though originally a dissident work, has become a major success and was a runner-up in 1980 for the National Book Award. It has been adopted for reading in some high schools and colleges across the United States and has been frequently revised, with the most recent edition covering events through 2003. In 2003, Zinn was awarded the Prix des Amis du Monde Diplomatique for the French version of this book, Une histoire populaire des Etats-Unis. Over one million copies have been sold.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0060838655
ISBN-13: 978-0060838652
Author: Howard Zinn
Publisher: Harper Perennial Modern Classics
Date Published: August 2, 2005
First to Review

"MUST READ!!!!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists