|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Thousand Splendid Suns » User review

A Thousand Splendid Suns

A book by Khaled Hosseini.

< read all 25 reviews

Profoundly moving

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
The story of modern Afghanistan differs little from that nation's long history: war and war and war again as invading armies marched in to suffer defeat at the hands of tribesmen and geography. It is that region's misfortune to lie between glittering prizes desired by the world's tyrants and then, in wars' wake, to fall prey to religious zealotry. This compelling novel comprises the lives of two modern Afghani women shaped by the personal violence of sharia and the impersonal desecration of war. Khaled Hosseini has also delivered a tale of heroic loyalty and love that extend across miles and mountains and generations.

Along the way one gleans a good bit of information about the region's recent history and gains a South Asian perspective on the outside world which has supplied the armaments with which Pashtuns and Tajiks and the Northern Alliance and the Taliban have butchered each other of late. Hosseini's most telling achievement, however, is to give the reader a horrific picture of the cruelty and mindlessness of modern warfare and then exceed that horror in his depiction of marital brutality. No matter how ghastly the effect of rockets and land mines and Kalashnikovs, it is the battering and dehumanization endured by women and sanctioned by a religion and culture and law that will cut to your heart.

A brilliant novel.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More A Thousand Splendid Suns reviews
review by . January 10, 2010
Long before Mariam was capable of even understanding the concept, she knew she was a "harami" - illegitimate and unwanted. Her impoverished, embittered mother, rejected by the wealthy Afghani business man who had fathered Mariam, spirals downward from disgust and hatred through mental illness to an eventual suicide. She spits the cruel, pejorative label into Mariam's face at every opportunity. Her sole remaining purpose in life is to have Mariam join her in the crushing belief that there …
review by . June 15, 2010
Even better than The Kite Runner!! There exists in this book, a powerful importance behind each and every detail that realistically describes a nation of oppressed women. The traditions of the country in reference to women are described intensely through the life on one powerful person, in particular. An important read for all people!!
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Good but so dismal and punchguts in mood it doesn't have a lot of re-read value to me. If I want to remind myself of Afghani women's difficult lives, I'll prefer real women's stories.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
I can't believe this book is so low rated. It was wonderful and sad. The true life story of a a woman's struggle in the middle east kept me riveted.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
The Kite Runner was definitely not a fluke! This guy can write! :) This book will make any American woman count her blessings while once again opening that curtain for us to peek into Afghan culture.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
His first book, Kite Runner, told such a horrific story that I was afraid to read his second book but I'm so glad I finally did. Also a story of hard lives, but with so much grace stemming from the relationship between the two lead women. Memorable, authentic, satisfying. Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
This is one of my favorite books! Very sad but very good. Loved it!!!!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Not as good as The Kite Runner, but still a good read. It portrays the hardships of females in Muslim countries.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
not as good as the original, but still a emotional, and vivid book about living in the middle east
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I found it dull
About the reviewer
Cecil Bothwell ()
Ranked #724
Writer, publisher, Asheville City Council member, builder, gardener.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cecilbothwell
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

A Thousand Splendid Suns is the second novel by Afgan author Khaled Hosseini. Before its May 22, 2007 release, the book reached #2 on Amazon.com's bestseller list.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1594489505
ISBN-13: 978-1594489501
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Publisher: Riverhead

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists