|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Thousand Splendid Suns » User review

A Thousand Splendid Suns

A book by Khaled Hosseini.

< read all 33 reviews

Before, Afghanistan was a headline. Now it's a place I *care* about.

  • Mar 25, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I have a hardback copy of this book because after admiring "Kite Runner" I couldn't wait for it to come out in paperback. Now I'm so glad to have the sturdier version because I want to go through it again with a pencil in hand and study how he did it. I couldn't put the thing down. Only twice before did I stay up all night because I couldn't put a book down. One was "The Shining" by Steven King when I was in high school. The other was one of the Harry Potter books -- I forget which one.

Khaled Hosseini has done humanity a great service. He takes us by the hand and shows us how to care deeply about a foreign culture in a foreign land. He strikes a universal chord.

Apart from this book I have no reason to care, but I can truly say now that I yearn for the day when Kabul will return to its former beauty.

The subject matter is heavy, though. Be warned.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
More A Thousand Splendid Suns reviews
review by . January 10, 2010
Long before Mariam was capable of even understanding the concept, she knew she was a "harami" - illegitimate and unwanted. Her impoverished, embittered mother, rejected by the wealthy Afghani business man who had fathered Mariam, spirals downward from disgust and hatred through mental illness to an eventual suicide. She spits the cruel, pejorative label into Mariam's face at every opportunity. Her sole remaining purpose in life is to have Mariam join her in the crushing belief that there …
review by . June 15, 2010
Even better than The Kite Runner!! There exists in this book, a powerful importance behind each and every detail that realistically describes a nation of oppressed women. The traditions of the country in reference to women are described intensely through the life on one powerful person, in particular. An important read for all people!!
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Good but so dismal and punchguts in mood it doesn't have a lot of re-read value to me. If I want to remind myself of Afghani women's difficult lives, I'll prefer real women's stories.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
I can't believe this book is so low rated. It was wonderful and sad. The true life story of a a woman's struggle in the middle east kept me riveted.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
The Kite Runner was definitely not a fluke! This guy can write! :) This book will make any American woman count her blessings while once again opening that curtain for us to peek into Afghan culture.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
His first book, Kite Runner, told such a horrific story that I was afraid to read his second book but I'm so glad I finally did. Also a story of hard lives, but with so much grace stemming from the relationship between the two lead women. Memorable, authentic, satisfying. Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
This is one of my favorite books! Very sad but very good. Loved it!!!!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Not as good as The Kite Runner, but still a good read. It portrays the hardships of females in Muslim countries.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
not as good as the original, but still a emotional, and vivid book about living in the middle east
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I found it dull
About the reviewer
Lauren Edwards ()
Ranked #978
I am employed bythe firm that handledpublic relationsfor Lunch at the time of its launch, although I myself don'tdesign and executePR campaigns. Until now, I didn't plan on using this forum for business. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sunlightseasalt
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

A Thousand Splendid Suns is the second novel by Afgan author Khaled Hosseini. Before its May 22, 2007 release, the book reached #2 on Amazon.com's bestseller list.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1594489505
ISBN-13: 978-1594489501
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Publisher: Riverhead

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists