|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Thousand Splendid Suns » User review

A Thousand Splendid Suns

A book by Khaled Hosseini.

< read all 33 reviews

Women in Afghanistan

  • Apr 8, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I felt this book deserved a high rating as it was very well written and very informative. The only thing that could  have made it better is that if at the end, women's lives would have been changed for the better. Some might consider  it a book for women but I believe it is a book for everyone, be made aware of what happens around the world and how we need to try and help. We that live in the Western world don't really have a clue as to what goes on a lot of countries and this brings it to our attention.

I loved how the main women in the book learned to get along and to stand up for each other and eventually to really care for each other. It also showed how very hard life is for women in Afghanistan. While it is fiction, it is also reality.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
7
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
May 11, 2009
I haven't read The Kite Runner but my daughter did and she loved it. I may read it but now have so many books, it has to go on the to be read at a later date list! Mary
 
May 10, 2009
Sounds like a real eye-opening story regardless if it's fiction. Have you read Kite Runner? If you have, I'd love to hear what you thought. From the rave reviews other Lunchers have given that book I can't wait to read it. Perhaps I'll pick up this one two-- seems really interesting. Thanks for the review!
 
1
More A Thousand Splendid Suns reviews
review by . January 10, 2010
Long before Mariam was capable of even understanding the concept, she knew she was a "harami" - illegitimate and unwanted. Her impoverished, embittered mother, rejected by the wealthy Afghani business man who had fathered Mariam, spirals downward from disgust and hatred through mental illness to an eventual suicide. She spits the cruel, pejorative label into Mariam's face at every opportunity. Her sole remaining purpose in life is to have Mariam join her in the crushing belief that there …
review by . June 15, 2010
Even better than The Kite Runner!! There exists in this book, a powerful importance behind each and every detail that realistically describes a nation of oppressed women. The traditions of the country in reference to women are described intensely through the life on one powerful person, in particular. An important read for all people!!
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Good but so dismal and punchguts in mood it doesn't have a lot of re-read value to me. If I want to remind myself of Afghani women's difficult lives, I'll prefer real women's stories.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
I can't believe this book is so low rated. It was wonderful and sad. The true life story of a a woman's struggle in the middle east kept me riveted.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
The Kite Runner was definitely not a fluke! This guy can write! :) This book will make any American woman count her blessings while once again opening that curtain for us to peek into Afghan culture.
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
His first book, Kite Runner, told such a horrific story that I was afraid to read his second book but I'm so glad I finally did. Also a story of hard lives, but with so much grace stemming from the relationship between the two lead women. Memorable, authentic, satisfying. Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . July 08, 2010
This is one of my favorite books! Very sad but very good. Loved it!!!!
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Not as good as The Kite Runner, but still a good read. It portrays the hardships of females in Muslim countries.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
not as good as the original, but still a emotional, and vivid book about living in the middle east
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I found it dull
About the reviewer
Mary Romero ()
Ranked #1089
I love reading and watching old movies, especially film noirs. I am looking forward to sharing my love of books and old movies with others and perhaps find something new to dig into. I live in the San … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MaryR52
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by MaryR52
About this book

Wiki

A Thousand Splendid Suns is the second novel by Afgan author Khaled Hosseini. Before its May 22, 2007 release, the book reached #2 on Amazon.com's bestseller list.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1594489505
ISBN-13: 978-1594489501
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Publisher: Riverhead

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists