|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » A Wrinkle in Time » User review

A Wrinkle in Time

Madeleine L'Engle's 1962 sci-fi fantasy novel for children.

< read all 10 reviews

Enjoyable by young and old alike!

  • Oct 23, 2010
Rating:
+3
The earth is surrounded by a sinister presence - a dark, foul fog that is the tool of an ultimate evil - whose ambition is to enslave the planet with the complete removal of free will. Three magical beings, Mrs Whatsit, Mrs Who and Mrs Which - witches, angels, demigods perhaps - appear to Margaret and Charles Wallace Murry and their friend, Calvin O'Keefe, to persuade them that it is their destiny to battle this evil on its own turf and to rescue Margaret and Charles Wallace's father. Dr Murry has been missing for some months and the kids learn that he has been captured by the evil while he was "tessering", traveling time and space in the course of his scientific research.

While the writing is straightforward, well crafted and obviously aimed at a younger audience, "A Wrinkle in Time" is nonetheless a fast paced enjoyable tale of good vs evil that combines elements of science fiction, fantasy and magic even adult readers will flip through relentlessly. But there are lots of life lessons, issues and moral themes sprinkled throughout - low hanging fruit just waiting for the eager child, the observant questioning teen, the confused parent or thinking adult to pick and chew on, as it were - the coming of age realization that parents are not infallible; the cruelty of malicious gossip; God and evil; the awkwardness of romantic adolescent relationships; the potential destructiveness of pride or vanity; the marginalizing of people who are different; the enormous difficulties of selflessness; the understanding that all life's questions will not be answered; and more.

While some readers criticize "A Wrinkle in Time" as being overtly moralist, I felt somewhat differently. It was clear to me that religion and, in particular, Christian symbolism was present but I felt that L'Engle let it sit quietly just beneath the surface and the story never became even remotely preachy.

It is little wonder that "A Wrinkle in Time" has been elevated to the status of children's classic and continues to be enjoyed by adults and children alike more than 40 years after it was first published for a grateful reading world.

Paul Weiss

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
October 25, 2010
Wow this sounds great! I'm going to have to see if they have it at the library- thanks so much!
October 25, 2010
I'd be EXTREMELY surprised if any library was without this one but be sure to check the catalogue. It may be in the children's section. Thanks for the comments.
October 25, 2010
I will! Thanks for the tip :)
 
October 24, 2010
I'll add this to my list of TBR. Thanks!
 
1
More A Wrinkle in Time reviews
Quick Tip by . December 16, 2010
This is a true young adult classic. It was the first true novel that I read as a child and haven't read many books since that can match it.
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
I find this book flat and over simplified. I still want to read the rest of the books in the series because so many people cherish them.
Quick Tip by . November 05, 2010
Something about her "angels." Something about making you think.
Quick Tip by . October 08, 2010
Madeline L'Engle's classic beginning to a series of entertaining and thought-provoking novels. Honestly, though, her book "Many Waters" has every bit as much time-travel -- if not more -- than "Wrinkle".
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
One of the best books EVER. I learned so much about humanity and compassion.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Classic, fabulous for young adult readers
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I enjoyed this book very much.
review by . September 22, 2005
Although written in 1973, this book is still a favorite of many adults who read it as a child, and it has enchanted subsequent generations of children, as well! A magical book!    I remember reading it to my granddaughter, Michelle, who was born the same year WRINKLE was born. We loved it then, and we love it now. it has a bit of everything ... magic, fantasy, good versus evil, etc.--but most important it has lovable kids and a world full of wonder.    Impressive!
review by . January 18, 2000
Pros: Great story, warm characters, good ethics     Cons: Not one I can think of.     30 years ago, the teacher read this to my class. I was enthralled and wore my mother out until she bought me a copy. I believed that Madelene L'Engle was surely the best writer that ever lived. The next year I got to meet her in person when my mother pushed me up in front of her and announced that I wrote a paper on her as my favorite author. I was mortified but she was kind …
About the reviewer
Paul Weiss ()
Ranked #16
   A modern day dilettante with widely varied eclectic interests. A dabbler in muchbut grandmaster of none - wilderness camping in all four seasons, hiking, canoeing, world travel,philately, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cpw1952
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki


Everyone in town thinks Meg Murry is volatile and dull-witted, and that her younger brother, Charles Wallace, is dumb. People are also saying that their physicist father has run off and left their brilliant scientist mother. Spurred on by these rumors and an unearthly stranger, the tesseract-touting Mrs Whatsit, Meg and Charles Wallace and their new friend Calvin O'Keefe embark on a perilous quest through space to find their father. In doing so, they must travel behind the shadow of an evil power that is darkening the cosmos, one planet at a time. This is no superhero tale, nor is it science fiction, although it shares elements of both. The travelers must rely on their individual and collective strengths, delving deep within themselves to find answers.

A well-loved classic and 1963 Newbery Medal winner, Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time is sophisticated in concept yet warm in tone, with mystery and love coursing through its pages. Meg's shattering, yet ultimately freeing, discovery that her father is not omnipotent provides a satisfying coming-of-age element. Readers will feel a sense of power as they travel with these three children, challenging concepts of time, space, and the triumph of good over evil. The companion books in the Time quartet, continuing the adventures of the Murry family, are A Wind in the Door; A Swiftly Tilting Planet, which won the American Book Award; and Many Waters. Every young reader should experience L'Engle's ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0440498058
ISBN-13: 978-0440498056
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Date Published: 1962
Polls with this book
A Swiftly Tilting Planet

The Best Fantasy Novels

by

A Wrinkle in Time

Favorite YA Paranormal / Fantasy?

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists