|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Angela's Ashes: A Memoir » User review

Heartbreaking

  • Jul 3, 2010
Rating:
+4

This memoir truly stuck with my after I read it. Mccourt is such an honest storyteller, and did not try to paint it any other way than exactly how it happened. Reading through his childhood experience and knowing that from those beginnings he was able to write that memoir and publish it for others to read showed me the strength of the human spirit and how no matter the circumstances, every person has the potential to make something positive out of a difficult experience.

I still find it hard to believe what I read was a true account. Mccourt writes with such direct and undramatic style, but the reaction is still so intense. While reading this book I couldn't help but find myself in his shoes, living with him in those conditions, and the tragedies that happened in his childhood. It is a coming of age story that struck me more than others, not only because of the reality of it, but because of how little he had and how much he made from it. 

Although I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel, it was not easy for me to read through all of it. Even with the humorous anecdotes and parts of the story I couldn't help but laugh with, I still felt an immense amount of sadness knowing that this was and still is the life that children around the world grow up in. It broke my heart to get such an in-depth view of the author's life, but rewarding nonetheless. It definitely made me appreciate my life that much more, and admire the author for having the will to become an adult and lead a successful life after such a difficult beginning.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
More Angela's Ashes: A Memoir reviews
review by . June 22, 2010
  Wow. What else can be said? This is a must read for everyone, especially those who are interested in reading/writing memoir. McCourt fills the page with vivid descriptions and interesting, sympathetic characters who remain in our hearts well after the last page is turned. We had talked about this all throughout my high school career, but I never thought to pick it up until this year, after graduating college. McCourt has seething, beautiful insights and a knack for creating scene and environment. …
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
Could not really get into this one
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
Excellent book. That anyone can go through such harsh experiences and retell them with humor is a tribute to man's ability to adapt.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Reading McCourt's "Angela's Ashes not on gave an heart wrenching view into his particular childhood, but also an intimate look into Limerick City's poverty in the '30s and '40s. Wonderful book and a haunting read.
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
A great memoir of growing up in Ireland; the sequels are also good
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Gritty and realistic tale about life in poverty.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
gOOD!
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Another good read about our history and ancestors.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
Could read this over and over again.
Quick Tip by . April 17, 2010
I thought that McCourt's objectivity about his very sad childhood made this easier to read than other books of the kind.
About the reviewer
Nancy Dang ()
Ranked #919
I love books, sports, and animals.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
litolady
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by litolady
About this book

Wiki

Frank McCourt's haunting memoir takes on new life when the author reads from his Pulitzer Prize-winning book. Recounting scenes from his childhood in New York City and Limerick, Ireland, McCourt paints a brutal yet poignant picture of his early days when there was rarely enough food on the table, and boots and coats were a luxury. In a melodic Irish voice that often lends a gentle humor to the unimaginable, the author remembers his wayward yet adoring father who was forever drinking what little money the family had. He recounts the painful loss of his siblings to avoidable sickness and hunger, a proud mother reduced to begging for charity, and the stench of the sewage-strewn streets that ran outside the front door. As McCourt approaches adolescence, he discovers the shame of poverty and the beauty of Shakespeare, the mystery of sex and the unforgiving power of the Irish Catholic Church. This powerful and heart-rending testament to the resiliency and determination of youth is populated with memorable characters and moments, and McCourt's interpretation of the narrative and the voices it contains will leave listeners laughing through their tears.--This text refers to theAudio Cassetteedition.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-13: 978-1568959634
Author: Frank McCourt
Genre: Biography & Autobiography
Publisher: Wheeler Pub Inc
Date Published: November 01, 1999
Polls with this book
A Clockwork Orange

Coming of Age Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists