|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Angels & Demons » User review

Angels & Demons

A book by Dan Brown

< read all 22 reviews

Good thriller and enlightening

  • Feb 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
If you liked The DaVinci Code, then you'll also enjoy Angels and Demons. The book is a good summer read with great plot twists. Dan Brown, the author, perfectly blends the real world with a new world order conspiracy.

Brown introduces the world to the secret society of the Illuminati - a group of scientists long suppressed by the Catholic church. Using real figures from history, he creates a revenge plot hatched over a millennium. The group seems so tied to history that a reader feels compelled to learn more about this fictitious brotherhood. 

I listened to the CD audio version of this book on my iPod. The reader does a great job of acting the different parts. Unfortunately, the iTunes version of the book is in four very large files. This format makes it difficult to find your place again if you switch songs.

Although well written, Brown makes several distracting errors in the book. They seem silly, but it instantly pulls you out of the story. They are the type of errors that any average editor would catch and fix. For example, a character is attempting to use a cell phone to make a lifesaving call, but is unable to get a dial tone - cell phones don't have dial tones. Of course these distractions are minor inconveniences to an otherwise fun and easy-to-read book.

My final tip is to find the book on Amazon in the used book section. You can normally get a copy for $2 or $3 plus shipping. Enjoy the enlightenment!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
February 10, 2009
I never gave this book a chance but I've always wondered how it compares to Brown's other books. Have you read the DaVinci Code? @Schtinky has a pretty good review on that one...
 
February 10, 2009
Travis, you should be able to solve your song switching issue by changing the "Get Info" settings on the file in iTunes.

If you go to the "Options" tab and select the "Media Kind" menu, you can change from "Music" to "Audiobook". This will automatically check and disable the following settings:
  • Remember playback position
  • Skip when shuffling

With these settings selected, you should be able to change songs and then pick right back up where you left off. Let me know if it works for you!

iTunes Audiobook Settings
 
February 10, 2009
I saw the commercial for the movie that suppose to come out soon. I actually didn't read this because I've read a few of Brown's books and they seemed to be formulaic. They are pretty quick reads though so maybe I'll pick up a copy @ a used bookstore or something!
 
1
More Angels & Demons reviews
review by . September 29, 2010
Harvard symbologist and religious historian, Robert Langdon, is intrigued and somewhat puzzled to find himself peremptorily summoned to CERN, the Conseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire, world's foremost research establishment in ultra high energy particle physics, to assist with a secret internal investigation of the murder of one of their staff. Leonardo Vetra - a brilliant senior physicist, a still-practicing Roman Catholic priest, and the discoverer of a method of creating …
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
an excellent book written by a creative author that was turned into a horriable movie that hardly follows the origional story.
Quick Tip by . September 29, 2010
Similar to THE DA VINCI CODE to be sure, but for my money, this is a far superior thriller.
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2010
Well done mystery that kept the reader's attention. The characters were well described and Brown created tension that continued as the protagonist attempted to find keys to the puzzle and stop the Immorata from their goal and from killing the Cardinals who were the popular choices to be the next pope. The plot twist in the later part of the book had me totally surprised and added to the enjoyment.
review by . July 07, 2010
It seems that I can only review books that everyone should love.  Angels and Demons by Dan Brown is no exception.  From the opening passage about CERN to the sexual innuendo at the end, everything was wonderful.  It is a thought-provoking, entertaining, and thrilling ride.      A classic case of who done it, to how did they do it, to I hope that everything is ok, to I can't believe that just happened.  When you get to the end, you want it to keep going …
review by . June 12, 2010
I think most people credit Dan Brown with The DaVinci Code, but I definitely liked Angels and Demons more. This was the first Dan Brown book that I read, and it was a lot better than I had expected. Brown sets up each scene spectacularly with a surprising amount of detail and suspense. If you know Dan Brown, the plot may be relatively predictable, but I think it's great nonetheless.      This is a great summer read- definitely captivating and thrilling. I wasn't able …
Quick Tip by . August 15, 2010
As a student ofthe humanites, I loved the book. I have to say that I love learning about symbology in works of art and its importance to people and groups throughout history. Dan Brown has really revived the study of iconography in all his books. Anyone wanting to explore the subject more should read: Irwin Panofsky's "Studies in Iconagraphy."
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
Warning: The book is not like the movie... read the book first, at least. :) Fast-paced novel, with many symbolic references, but easy to understand. Absolutely loved it, but don't take all the "facts" as facts.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Don`t waste your time watching the movie, enjoy the incredible path of imagination. This book is very cool. Just for your help, there is no angel or demon in this fiction, no supernatural creatures. But I bet you will stay in awe with this intelligent story.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
Dan Brown is actually a good writer. He spins a tale so well he make fiction seem like the truth..
About the reviewer
Travis Murdock ()
Ranked #149
I love to review favorite restaurants and movies. I'm also a gadget geek and enjoy learning about new music. I work for the public relations firm Edelman.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
travismurdock
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

It takes guts to write a novel that combines an ancient secret brotherhood, the SwissConseil Européen pour la Recherche Nucléaire, a papal conclave, mysterious ambigrams, a plot against the Vatican, a mad scientist in a wheelchair, particles of antimatter, jets that can travel 15,000 miles per hour, crafty assassins, a beautiful Italian physicist, and a Harvard professor of religious iconology. It takes talent to make that novel anything but ridiculous. Kudos to Dan Brown (Digital Fortress) for achieving the nearly impossible.Angels & Demonsis a no-holds-barred, pull-out-all-the-stops, breathless tangle of a thriller--think Katherine Neville'sThe Eight(but cleverer) or Umberto Eco'sFoucault's Pendulum(but more accessible).

Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is shocked to find proof that the legendary secret society, the Illuminati--dedicated since the time of Galileo to promoting the interests of science and condemning the blind faith of Catholicism--is alive, well, and murderously active. Brilliant physicist Leonardo Vetra has been murdered, his eyes plucked out, and the society's ancient symbol branded upon his chest. His final discovery, antimatter, the most powerful and dangerous energy source known to man, has disappeared--only to be hidden somewhere beneath Vatican City on the eve of the election of a new pope. Langdon and Vittoria, Vetra's daughter and colleague, embark on a frantic hunt through the streets, churches, and ...

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1416524797
ISBN-13: 978-1416524793
Author: Dan Brown
Genre: Mystery & Thrillers
Publisher: Pocket
Lists with this book
Polls with this book
Angels & Demons

Best Dan Brown Novels

by

Angels & Demons

Dan Brown Mysteries

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists