|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Books » Reviews » Anne of Green Gables (book) » User review

Sweet trials of a romantic heroine.

  • Jun 21, 2010
Rating:
+5
This book is one of the cutest, sweetest, and may I say quaintest, novels I've ever read. It's positively heart warming and even the not-so-nice characters strike a loveable chord in my heart.

Every child should read this book, but girls in particular. It's something to escape from all the sex and drugs of the modern world and drags you back to a time when things like dying one's hair was a very naughty thing to do and the name Diana was considered "dreadful heathenish".

It takes place in Canada, though I'm unsure of the time period. None too modern, though. The whole story is a little hick anyway, which is rather in its favor.

The plot concerns the trials of an orphan girl with a very romantic, sensitive heart, who comes to live in a home called Green Gables. She's very different from the other children but soon becomes treasured in the community.

Probably my favorite aspect of this book is the character development. It's so apparent that it needs no attention drawn to it. Anne goes from a wild child to a calm yet just as romantic young woman. Marilla, her adopted "mother", goes from a strict woman with no concept of how to raise children to a more thoughtful one with a sense of humor and a deep love for Anne, "her girl". Matthew, Marilla's brother, doesn't change much, which makes him all the more endearing.

This book is full of wonderful prose and some small poetry excerpts where fitting. All fit together marvelously.

I don't know if this applies to all versions of this book, but there were a few illustrations in the version I read. They were very cute, but highly unnecessary to the story. They were nice to look at though.

The author is extraordinary. I have not only read Anne of Green Gables, but every book in this series, and all are just as splendid, sweet, and romantic.

Bottom line: One of the most charming, family-friendly tales in existence.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
June 21, 2010
That was a very good review of the book. Anne is such a precocious red-head.
June 21, 2010
Thank you :) Yes she was, though I've always found it funny that Anne despised her red hair so, while red hair is more or less coveted today.
 
1
More Anne of Green Gables (book) reviews
review by . June 28, 2010
The captivating tale of Anne of Green Gables, written by L. M. Montgomery and originally published in the early 1900s, has sold over 50 million copies and spawned film, theatre and television adaptations. It is one of the most popular works of Canadian Literature, and has endured in the domain of children’s fiction for over a century.      So what about this novel renders it such a timeless classic?      The novel follows the story of an unconventional …
review by . June 24, 2010
   L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables is A charmingly warm story.   When elderly siblings Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert contact an orphanage to adopt  A boy to help with the chores they can no longer handle on their own,  imagine their surprise when they are  sent  A little girl by mistake.  And not just any little girl, but one Anne Shirley;  A skinny little 11-year -old waif with a head full of bright red hair, fantastical ideas  …
review by . July 27, 2010
I have always loved this story, ever since I’ve read it I realized how lucky I am as a person. I am so amazed with the main character’s high spirit and enthusiasm despite of her impoverished life. I am definitely convinced that this story is a must-read for readers of all ages. It’s a moving story about an orphan who was adopted by a childless old couple Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert. The couple lives on their farm called Green Gables of Avonlea in Prince Edward Island, Canada. …
review by . July 07, 2010
This review might be totally biased because I absolutely adore Anne of Green Gables (I have even been to Prince Edward Island to see the Green Gable). I think you should not stop at this book, and definitely get The Complete Anne of Green Gables Boxed Set, because our lovable redhead's story continues on and many people don't even know about it! (Yes, Gilbert Blythe will still be around!) I won't go into explaining the plot because it is so famous. But I love that as a girl growing …
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
One of the seminal influences in my life growing up. Worth a good read, especially for nostalgia's sake.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
I just recommended this book to my sister for her daughter. Reading this book as a young girl helped make me the voracious reader I am.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Not a lot of action and kind of long, but there's good humor and Anne is a great heroine.
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
I read these books just before my teens. Totally loved them.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
I treasured this book. Even when I got way past the age of needing to be read to my mother would still read with me. And the rich, intricately woven imaginative fabric of this book sucks you in immediately. I love Anne's imaginative wanderings.
Quick Tip by . July 07, 2010
Amazing especially if read in L M Montgomery's green setting Prince Edward Island Canada, the most beautiful place I've ever been which makes the read even more inspiring!
About the reviewer
Danni ()
Ranked #931
Member Since: Jun 16, 2010
Last Login: Oct 26, 2010 07:28 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
PaperHeart
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Anne of Green Gables is a bestselling novel by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery published in 1908. It was written as fiction for readers of all ages, but in recent decades has been considered a children's book. Montgomery found her inspiration for the book on an old piece of paper that she had written at a young age, describing a couple that were mistakenly sent an orphan girl instead of a boy, yet decided to keep her. Montgomery also drew upon her own childhood experiences in rural Prince Edward Island. Montgomery used a photograph of Evelyn Nesbit, clipped from an American magazine and pasted on the wall above her writing desk, as the model for Anne Shirley, the book's main character.

Since publication, Anne of Green Gables has sold more than 50 million books. In addition, this book is taught to students around the world.

view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0399154787 (hbk : anniversary ed.)
ISBN-13: 9780399154782 (hbk. : anniversary ed.)
Photographer: George Gibbs (illustrator), May A Claus (illustrator) , William A J Claus (illustrator)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Genre: Juvenile Fiction
Publisher: Putnam Adult
Date Published: February 21, 2008 (100th Anniversary ed.)
Format: original cover art by George Gibbs ; interior art by M. A. Claus and W. A. J. Claus
Polls with this book
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Top Young Heroine Novels

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists